Author Topic: What Apps/Tools are used for MSFS Scenery?  (Read 1353 times)

kronovan

What Apps/Tools are used for MSFS Scenery?
« on: May 29, 2023, 04:24:53 PM »
I've browsed through some of the webpages in the Designer Corner's section and noted that for FSX and P3D, an app called SBuilderX seems to be the goto tool.
I'm wondering what apps/tools are now used for MSFS?

MSFS is now the only fixed-wing GA flightsim I fly, having recently retired/uninstalled FSX-SE and now only using X-Plane 11 for helos. I'm interested in trying to build 1 of the seaplane bases in Southern BC which MSFS still omitted after the Canada content update. I'm wondering though, whether whatever defacto tool is used for MSFS is beyond my skill set? For FSX-SE I've only ever dabbled with the freebie Airport Design Editor. On the other hand, I've had a lot of experience building 2D maps for tabletop and Virtual TableTop using someting called Campaign Cartographer 3+. CC3+ is really just a more user friendly GUI slapped on top of an app called FastCAD. So it's really a CAD tool and many of the building maps I make feature elevations with an individul map for each floor.  So I've become able to think in 3D even if I'm only building 2D maps. Being less than novice with FS scenery, I'm not sure if that experience is applicable or helpful towards MSFS secenery building?

So I guess I'm asking; what should I consider for an app/tool and any resources (docs, websites, youtubes, etc.) that might help me get started?

I'm willing to spend  some $ towards a good tool, as long as it isn't as expensive as something like 3D Studio Max.
« Last Edit: May 29, 2023, 05:13:04 PM by kronovan »

Airtrooper

Re: What's Apps/Tools are used for MSFS Scenery?
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2023, 04:30:50 PM »
Blender and the SDK will get you a very long way, if you just wish to create scenery. QGIS may also be handy, depending on what you're doing.