Author Topic: CTDs with V5.1HF1  (Read 1803 times)

kaha

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 747
    • View Profile
Re: CTDs with V5.1HF1
« Reply #30 on: November 23, 2020, 03:57:33 PM »
I now tested the ORBX free airport pack available for V5. KPNA is an airport where I had immediate crashes with the old pack from V4.

And you know what? No crash. You are surely right, Rod, that this pack is different. Did work up to 5.1 but not in HF1 any more, obviously.
Your hint concerning the audio driver is a good one. I will test that. Hmm.... I'm nearly out of crashes now. Haha!! I still can cause a crash when enabling the HD buildings. I will test it with that one.

Klaus, under no circumstances update the scenery!

.... I'm joking of course.  :)

Karl
i9-9900K@5.0 | RTX 2080TI | 32GB@3200 | M.2 | 40" 4K curved | P3D V5 | MSFS2020

kaha

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 747
    • View Profile
Re: CTDs with V5.1HF1
« Reply #31 on: November 23, 2020, 04:19:13 PM »
I made this video in the first place to show the crash. But there was none. So this is now a boring short video over KPNA in a nice aeroplane (DH.104 Dove from Just Flight).

https://vimeo.com/482772740

Karl
i9-9900K@5.0 | RTX 2080TI | 32GB@3200 | M.2 | 40" 4K curved | P3D V5 | MSFS2020

kaha

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 747
    • View Profile
Re: CTDs with V5.1HF1
« Reply #32 on: November 24, 2020, 06:17:47 AM »
This morning I started to try Rods suggestion deactivating Nvidias HD Audio driver. But I still get DXGI errors.

Desperately I even dismantled my PC, reseating the 2080TI and reconnecting all plugs. My hardware is not even 2 years old, power supply is a BeQuiet 1000W. I even set the BIOS back to default, disbling CPU OC. But, no joy. Still everything works fine in MSFS and other games.

I'm not sure what to do now. Two possibilities:

1) go back to V5.1 without HF1. I still have a backup of those installation files.
2) start from scratch with V5.1HF1

Possibility 1 is unsure because when I installed 5.1 over 5.0 HF2 (I think it was) I only installed the client. I think I go for posibility 2.

Karl

i9-9900K@5.0 | RTX 2080TI | 32GB@3200 | M.2 | 40" 4K curved | P3D V5 | MSFS2020

kaha

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 747
    • View Profile
Re: CTDs with V5.1HF1
« Reply #33 on: November 24, 2020, 06:41:56 AM »
I need a break for some days from P3D.

Maybe you will see some posts in the MSFS part of our forum.  ;D

Karl
i9-9900K@5.0 | RTX 2080TI | 32GB@3200 | M.2 | 40" 4K curved | P3D V5 | MSFS2020

MTN1794

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
Re: CTDs with V5.1HF1
« Reply #34 on: November 24, 2020, 10:30:17 AM »
I've flown twice now without a CTD with v5.1HF1.  I did do a total reinstall.  The only problem I found that caused some initial issues was I had reinstalled the Twin Otter from Aerosoft (which is quite out of date) and it  did seem to cause a CTD until I removed it.  Since then it has worked fine.  RTMM works fine too.

stiletto2

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2,033
    • View Profile
Re: CTDs with V5.1HF1
« Reply #35 on: November 24, 2020, 11:17:44 AM »
Sounds good!

Rod

kaha

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 747
    • View Profile
Re: CTDs with V5.1HF1
« Reply #36 on: November 24, 2020, 11:49:47 AM »
Ok, the break was long enough now. Feels like 4 days already anyway.

I start my next try. Uninstalling everything and then a clean installation again.

Just for verification: V5.1HF1 is

5.1.12.26829

Is that correct?

Thx,
Karl
i9-9900K@5.0 | RTX 2080TI | 32GB@3200 | M.2 | 40" 4K curved | P3D V5 | MSFS2020

stiletto2

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2,033
    • View Profile
Re: CTDs with V5.1HF1
« Reply #37 on: November 24, 2020, 01:13:35 PM »
That is the correct version number!

Rod

kaha

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 747
    • View Profile
Re: CTDs with V5.1HF1
« Reply #38 on: November 24, 2020, 01:31:39 PM »
I've flown twice now without a CTD with v5.1HF1.  I did do a total reinstall.  The only problem I found that caused some initial issues was I had reinstalled the Twin Otter from Aerosoft (which is quite out of date) and it  did seem to cause a CTD until I removed it.  Since then it has worked fine.  RTMM works fine too.

I'm already up and running again with V5.1HF1 vanilla. No crashes. But also no ORBX.

Here is the TwinOtter in V5.1HF1:

https://vimeo.com/483205597

Karl
i9-9900K@5.0 | RTX 2080TI | 32GB@3200 | M.2 | 40" 4K curved | P3D V5 | MSFS2020

kaha

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 747
    • View Profile
Re: CTDs with V5.1HF1
« Reply #39 on: November 24, 2020, 02:03:06 PM »
I forgot: you need to update the exe.xml for the Flight Recorder.

Karl
i9-9900K@5.0 | RTX 2080TI | 32GB@3200 | M.2 | 40" 4K curved | P3D V5 | MSFS2020

kaha

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 747
    • View Profile
Re: CTDs with V5.1HF1
« Reply #40 on: November 24, 2020, 02:03:31 PM »
That is the correct version number!

Rod

Thank you Rod!

Karl
i9-9900K@5.0 | RTX 2080TI | 32GB@3200 | M.2 | 40" 4K curved | P3D V5 | MSFS2020

kaha

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 747
    • View Profile
Re: CTDs with V5.1HF1
« Reply #41 on: November 24, 2020, 02:56:26 PM »
I have a vanilla installation now that worked and didn't work after some time. I know exactly what I changed, as I wrote it down.

I'm chasing it! I picked up the scent already!

Karl

i9-9900K@5.0 | RTX 2080TI | 32GB@3200 | M.2 | 40" 4K curved | P3D V5 | MSFS2020

nbrich1

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2,190
  • Misty Flying Club VA, Sim Troubleshooting & Help
    • View Profile
    • Misty Flying Club (MFC)
Re: CTDs with V5.1HF1
« Reply #42 on: November 24, 2020, 04:47:50 PM »
Good diagnostics Karl!!.. Keep posting on the troubleshooting saga!! so we'll know what to look for and how to cure it!
Regards from Toronto, Canada. Home Airport CYYZ.
^----------------- Misty Flying Club -----------------^

xxd09

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 288
    • View Profile
Re: CTDs with V5.1HF1
« Reply #43 on: November 25, 2020, 05:22:40 AM »
It may be of interest that Nick Cooper over at Orbx posted an update pathway on May1st in P3Dv5 forum on up dating to v5 .1 hotfix
I have used Poppets P3D update advice over the years on Avsim boards which always worked well
I took the plunge and transited from v5 to v5.1hf1 using Nicks pathway
All Addons stayed in place within the P3Dv5 folder and in P3Dv5 Addons
Remarkable
All Carenado planes and Flight1GTN 750/650+WX Radar working(All RTMM Libraries and Sceneries too of course)
Worth a look especially as I understand Poppet has left the flight sim scene -temporarily I hope
xxd09

kaha

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 747
    • View Profile
Re: CTDs with V5.1HF1
« Reply #44 on: November 25, 2020, 06:24:15 AM »
Thank you. Yes, that's definitely something to concider.

But, at the moment I have a vanilla installation with no ORBX involved (everything uninstalled completely) and still get device hung errors.

Karl
i9-9900K@5.0 | RTX 2080TI | 32GB@3200 | M.2 | 40" 4K curved | P3D V5 | MSFS2020