Author Topic: Having airport issues on PJFX  (Read 233 times)

BobH

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Having airport issues on PJFX
« on: December 11, 2019, 10:05:00 PM »
On to the next challenge, I don't know what I did but me scenery has gone wonky.

Now my PFJX airports have a landclass overlay and the bi-level issue. I "landed" at CAB5, which this AM was a grass field, and I drop through the field to the runway somewhere below. I've been messing with PAKT and now I don't even have a runway exclusion area. I see some RTMM objects like a hanger, a J3 cub, and construction equipment. But the surrounds are mostly open forest landclass, no gravel runway that was there once upon a time. GPS location seems bogus.

Similar problem at Hollis, most of the water runway shown on the GPS is land.

Is there an easy way to repair TFJX? What should I be looking for?


nbrich1

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,560
  • Misty Flying Club VA, Sim Troubleshooting & Help
    • View Profile
    • Misty Flying Club (MFC)
Re: Having airport issues on PJFX
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2019, 10:24:07 PM »
Did you by chance DL the "New" Orbx Ventral V4.0.xx? (Hope now) That might total wreck your scenery order and layering.

What sim are you running? (Cause I don't remember!). And hopefully running FTX Central V3 (3.3.9.2) then it is probably just an insertion point fix and save then a tweak of your scenery library and the correct order/layering should be restored.

Set/save insertion points in FTX Central again:
FTX entries should be placed below RTMM libs   and
OpenLC entries should be placed below Tongass Lower
« Last Edit: December 12, 2019, 06:03:58 AM by nbrich1 »
Regards from Toronto, Canada. Home airport CYYZ.
^----------------- Misty Flying Club -----------------^

ualani

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,674
  • RTMM Library Manager
    • View Profile
Re: Having airport issues on PJFX
« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2019, 05:27:17 AM »
I've had stuff like this happen and it's always been because something changed in my scenery order for some unexplained reason.

Steve
RTMM Library Manager


BobH

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: Having airport issues on PJFX
« Reply #3 on: December 12, 2019, 12:47:45 PM »
FSX:SE  I am running Orbx 4 and did have to roll back to 4.0.27. I suspect it as the cause of my previous problems. It must be doing something under the covers besides messing with scenery order. I can't see anything wrong with my order. This problem is in the PFJX add-on area.

I have:
RTMM
FTXAA_ORBXLIBS
FTX_AA_PAKT
FTX_NA_PFJ05_xxx
FTX_NA_PNW05_xxx
FTX_NA_SAK05_xxx
Tongass_Fjords_Higher_Priority
Tongass_Fjords_lower_Priority

Orbx insertion point page has a "use legacy ordering" option: on or off no change.

I do not have the Orbx Global products. I have UltimateAlaskaX but not enabled in scenery. I have REX Texture Direct. I have TopoSim Alaska - off. I have elevation_adjustment files in World but doesn't seem to matter if they are there or not.

When I start at CAB5 (a TFJX creation) I'm at the same elev as RTMM Bronson Creek objects but the runway and flatten/exclusion are is missing. On Plan-G my a/c is .4mi SW of the CAB5 symbol. Data was rebuilt recently. I think I'm seeing bits of runway under the CAB5 symbol location.

So I have an offset of FSX start point (and RTMM objects) from CAB5, and landclass issues.

I've seen this massive overgrowth (wrong landclass) but I don't remember what fixed it last time.

Any help would be appreciated.

BobH

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: Having airport issues on PJFX
« Reply #4 on: December 12, 2019, 01:22:59 PM »
I turned off TFJX high and low and cleared my saved data.

When I goto CAB5 I'm placed in the underworld at the default CAB5 at 356' on a landable gravel runaway. At 499' there is the default airport and landclass area and the RTMM objects. Where I would guess the runway would be is landable but off of that I fall thru the earth to the underworld.

Weird.

nbrich1

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,560
  • Misty Flying Club VA, Sim Troubleshooting & Help
    • View Profile
    • Misty Flying Club (MFC)
Re: Having airport issues on PJFX
« Reply #5 on: December 12, 2019, 02:04:32 PM »
The issue is ORBX Central.! Just read on their forum.

It has messed your scenery up big time. No surprise if you follow the ORBX forums. A total mixed up mess for many. Everywhere that there is 3rd party scenery, expected that it will be messed up. As soon as you said Legacy setting: you have updated to ORBX Central! v4.0.xx << and the xx is so far - perhaps the 28th or 29th (or more?) update trying to correct the ORBX Central app! That's what has caused your scenery order problem Bob.   

HELP?
« Last Edit: December 12, 2019, 02:08:03 PM by nbrich1 »
Regards from Toronto, Canada. Home airport CYYZ.
^----------------- Misty Flying Club -----------------^

BobH

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: Having airport issues on PJFX
« Reply #6 on: December 13, 2019, 02:52:10 PM »
I uninstalled the AK payware scenery and re-installed using Orbx v3 manager. PFJX as well. Things are working well now. The scenery order/insert point are the same so it wasn't strictly an order issue.

I thought I was going to have to re-install FSX but I didn't have to go that far.

I have convinced myself I need a new PC however! :)

I think I'm going to "subscribe" to a PC via https://maingear.com