Author Topic: Inserting AI traffic around Misty's - with payware models?  (Read 367 times)

bawheeler

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
    • View Profile
Inserting AI traffic around Misty's - with payware models?
« on: September 30, 2019, 09:00:53 PM »
This may be a question for Dexter... I have been able to successfully create a schedule of multiple flight plans for aircraft coming in and out of Misty's Place using the ORBX FTX GA aircraft. 

I should probably have stopped there... but I would prefer the added sense of realism of having some of the planes I fly (i.e. have downloaded or purchased) be in the mix for AI traffic.  While I can make my planes appear  (e.g. MILVIZ Pilatus or DHC2 - both wheeled versions), when their flight time comes they roam around the airports (Misty's Place and PANT) like they are lost.  They cannot find the taxiway or runway and roam around endlessly. The ORBX AI models do just fine.

Am I asking too much of AI?

Brian
MFC0074 -- Dell Alienware Aurora R7, Win10Home64, P3Dv4.4.16.27077, 3.7GHz Intel Core i7 8700K, 16GB RAM, Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti, CH Eclipse yoke/pedals/throttle, ActiveSky, ChasePlane, TerraFlora, Ultimate Traffic Live, Pro ATC X, FlightSim Commander 9

ualani

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,651
  • RTMM Library Manager
    • View Profile
Re: Inserting AI traffic around Misty's - with payware models?
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2019, 05:32:31 AM »
Did you use something like ADE to program them where to go and how to behave?

Steve
RTMM Library Manager


dexthom

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 295
    • View Profile
Re: Inserting AI traffic around Misty's - with payware models?
« Reply #2 on: October 01, 2019, 08:25:52 AM »
Some AI tail dragers will wander.  For AI, I use aircraft with tricycle gear.

bawheeler

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
    • View Profile
Re: Inserting AI traffic around Misty's - with payware models?
« Reply #3 on: October 01, 2019, 08:35:43 AM »
Thanks, for the confirmation. The wandering tail draggers are quite funny to watch, but it does appear tricycles are the way to go.  Brian
MFC0074 -- Dell Alienware Aurora R7, Win10Home64, P3Dv4.4.16.27077, 3.7GHz Intel Core i7 8700K, 16GB RAM, Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti, CH Eclipse yoke/pedals/throttle, ActiveSky, ChasePlane, TerraFlora, Ultimate Traffic Live, Pro ATC X, FlightSim Commander 9

Buschpilot

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
Re: Inserting AI traffic around Misty's - with payware models?
« Reply #4 on: October 01, 2019, 01:23:50 PM »
Hi Dexter, hi Brian …

I always didn't like the wandering AI tail dragers either.

I was very interested in a solution to the problem.
So I did hundreds of tests with different entries in the aircraft.cfg.

I came up with the following solution.

In the section [weight_and_balance] you must change the value of the entry empty_weight_yaw_MOI a bit.

You must multiply the existing original value by three
and then use the result as a new entry.

For example the AI C185...
original entry
empty_weight_yaw_MOI = 2131

2131 x 3 = 6393

new entry
empty_weight_yaw_MOI = 6393

After this change in the aircraft.cfg there are no more problems with me
with the Al tail dragers traffic.

The AI tail dragers look much better and more realistic in Alaska.

Best regards
Mike

bawheeler

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
    • View Profile
Re: Inserting AI traffic around Misty's - with payware models?
« Reply #5 on: October 01, 2019, 09:05:10 PM »
Changing the aircraft.cfg worked!  In the picture below I have the MILVIZ Pilatus PC6 Amphibian I am flying, and two MILVIZ DHC2 tail draggers with Tundra wheels which I inserted with AI schedules. They both taxied and took off from Misty's Place PF20.  Now they still taxied through buildings and one bounced off a mountain after take off, but that's progress.

Question... with the aircraft.cfg changes... will it make flying those payware models a problem?

For those interested, I am using AI Flight Planner AIFP to create the AI flight plans and BGL files.

Brian
MFC0074 -- Dell Alienware Aurora R7, Win10Home64, P3Dv4.4.16.27077, 3.7GHz Intel Core i7 8700K, 16GB RAM, Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti, CH Eclipse yoke/pedals/throttle, ActiveSky, ChasePlane, TerraFlora, Ultimate Traffic Live, Pro ATC X, FlightSim Commander 9

Buschpilot

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
Re: Inserting AI traffic around Misty's - with payware models?
« Reply #6 on: October 02, 2019, 12:15:07 PM »
Hi,
I use the change in the aircraft.cfg only for the AI aircraft.
Whether the change affects the flight behavior of the user aircraft is therefore beyond my knowledge.

But you can test it out for yourself.
Once with and once without changing the aircraft.cfg...
Don't forget the different loading of the plane...

A small tip...
One should not use user airplanes as AI.
Payware not at all.
The user planes are built much too detailed.
The P3D has to calculate every small corner and dent.
In addition there is the panel and the instruments...
For a PC there is a lot of computing work.

A user airplane for test purposes is no problem...
But several Payware airplanes as AI brings every PC to its knees.

For varied AI traffic you can use the AI models from ORBX very well.
A large selection of AI models is also available from Alpha India Group (you must be logged in to the forum).
Military AI is available at MAIW (Military AI Works)...

The AIFP for the AI flight plans is a good choice.
I also use this one.
Best regards
Mike

bawheeler

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
    • View Profile
Re: Inserting AI traffic around Misty's - with payware models?
« Reply #7 on: October 02, 2019, 08:10:05 PM »
Mike - Thanks for sharing your experience in this area.  Exactly the guidance I needed.  Brian
MFC0074 -- Dell Alienware Aurora R7, Win10Home64, P3Dv4.4.16.27077, 3.7GHz Intel Core i7 8700K, 16GB RAM, Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti, CH Eclipse yoke/pedals/throttle, ActiveSky, ChasePlane, TerraFlora, Ultimate Traffic Live, Pro ATC X, FlightSim Commander 9

Buschpilot

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
Re: Inserting AI traffic around Misty's - with payware models?
« Reply #8 on: October 03, 2019, 11:19:45 AM »
I'm happy that I could help.
Best regards
Mike