Author Topic: Rotating Beacon in P3D V4  (Read 242 times)

Doug

  • Misty Moorings Site Admin
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,474
    • View Profile
    • Return to Misty Moorings
Rotating Beacon in P3D V4
« on: August 15, 2019, 03:22:36 PM »
In V4 (not V3 or FSX), there is a ground reflection for the green/white rotating beacon lights. In my setup, only the green one is seen, but the white reflection doesn't happen. I'm using the identical library of others with V4 that are seeing the ground reflection. Let me know if you have an idea for correction. You can see and MP4 of the problem HERE.
« Last Edit: August 15, 2019, 03:27:46 PM by Doug »

ualani

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,638
  • RTMM Library Manager
    • View Profile
Re: Rotating Beacon in P3D V4
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2019, 05:12:54 PM »
Doug,
Track down the beacon object in your object library. Place it at ground level, or just above, with IS3. What do you see?

Steve
RTMM Library Manager


Doug

  • Misty Moorings Site Admin
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,474
    • View Profile
    • Return to Misty Moorings
Re: Rotating Beacon in P3D V4
« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2019, 03:52:59 PM »
Interesting Problem .. in V3, with IS3, I can Move the object, but when I try to place it, I get a CTD. Something funny with the object I think. (I have re-downloaded all the libraries in a clean install, re-installed the client MSI for V4.4. Nothing seems to help. I think it is a 64-bit fx and IS3 is 32. Who knows?

ualani

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,638
  • RTMM Library Manager
    • View Profile
Re: Rotating Beacon in P3D V4
« Reply #3 on: August 17, 2019, 06:10:09 PM »
Doug,
What is the object name and what library is it in?

Steve
RTMM Library Manager


Doug

  • Misty Moorings Site Admin
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,474
    • View Profile
    • Return to Misty Moorings
Re: Rotating Beacon in P3D V4
« Reply #4 on: August 17, 2019, 06:47:52 PM »
That’s the problem, when I try to get it’s properties model button) it causes CTD. It is called rotating beacon and is with some other beacons. Can’t get past CTD to get more info.

D

stiletto2

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,773
    • View Profile
Re: Rotating Beacon in P3D V4
« Reply #5 on: August 17, 2019, 07:48:55 PM »
Just FYI....may not help.  There is no default stand alone beacon objects.  A Beacon is a special kind of object like fuel triggers or maybe windsocks etc.  Don't know if Doug is one who placed the object.

Normal default beacons are placed with XML code like fuel triggers.   If Beacon is associated with an object then the Beacon XML would be an attached object to a tower.

Rod

Doug

  • Misty Moorings Site Admin
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,474
    • View Profile
    • Return to Misty Moorings
Re: Rotating Beacon in P3D V4
« Reply #6 on: August 17, 2019, 08:24:06 PM »
Rod ... that was the tip off!!! I did it with an XML file I had found. No wonder I couldn't "move it around" or try to mess with it!  Here's the XML for a rotating beacon:

=============================================================
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="ISO-8859-1"?>
<FSData version="9.0" xmlns:xsi='http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance' xsi:noNamespaceSchemaLocation="bglcomp.xsd">
<SceneryObject lat="47 25.89" lon="-122 18.43" alt="0" pitch="0" bank="0" heading="0" altitudeIsAgl="TRUE" imageComplexity="NORMAL">
      <LibraryObject name="7f38bfbc4a40e2953c3f5c8482fa2c87" scale="1.0" />
   <AttachedObject
      attachpointName="attachpt_beacon">
      <Beacon type="CIVILIAN" baseType="AIRPORT"/>
   </AttachedObject>
   </SceneryObject>
</FSData>
=======================================================

I had forgotten that's how I did it!  So there's that part of my self-created mystery solved. Now, why do you suppose only the green ground reflection shows in V4? I'm thinking the problem is something P3D is missing.  This is no barn-burning problem, it just makes me curious. I think Norm is seeing it OK (green and white) ... we have the same setup with V4.
« Last Edit: August 17, 2019, 08:51:30 PM by Doug »

stiletto2

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,773
    • View Profile
Re: Rotating Beacon in P3D V4
« Reply #7 on: August 17, 2019, 09:10:43 PM »
I do want to clarify something I said.   There are stand alone rotating beacons in our object libraries  (e.g. airport_objects.bgl ....   gen_beaconlandcone).  I was thinking of a default beacon like you have just discovered vs objects from our libraries.

Does the rotating beacon at mistys place on the gen_beaconbase1 object show the same effect as you are experiencing with you default xml beacon?

Rod

Doug

  • Misty Moorings Site Admin
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,474
    • View Profile
    • Return to Misty Moorings
Re: Rotating Beacon in P3D V4
« Reply #8 on: August 17, 2019, 09:48:28 PM »
Yes, every rotating beacon I can find now has this phenomenon.

stiletto2

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,773
    • View Profile
Re: Rotating Beacon in P3D V4
« Reply #9 on: August 17, 2019, 11:36:28 PM »
I don't see any reflections from the rotating beacon at all at Misty's.  I am using 4.4 client.  Are you using 4.5 client with or without the hotfix?  If you are using either version of 4.5  then I can't duplicate your conditions.  If you are using 4.4 client then I understand the rotating beacon rendering is different in 4.5 no hot fix (strong reflections on ground) and yet different again  (it is one of the fixes) for 4.5 hot fix.  And then, it may look different depending on how dynamic lighting is set...maybe.

That means you have to be sure of which of the 3 versions ( 4.4, 4.5 no hot fix, 4.5 hot fix)  of the rotating beacon effect you are comparing to know that yours isn't correct (Apples vs. Apples)....

Rod



Rod
« Last Edit: August 17, 2019, 11:45:17 PM by stiletto2 »

Doug

  • Misty Moorings Site Admin
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,474
    • View Profile
    • Return to Misty Moorings
Re: Rotating Beacon in P3D V4
« Reply #10 on: August 18, 2019, 08:42:25 AM »
I’m using 4.4, no hotfix.

stiletto2

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,773
    • View Profile
Re: Rotating Beacon in P3D V4
« Reply #11 on: August 18, 2019, 10:55:20 AM »
Where is your original pic taken at?

Rod


nbrich1

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,368
  • MFC VA, Sim Troubleshooting & Help
    • View Profile
    • Misty Flying Club (MFC)
Re: Rotating Beacon in P3D V4
« Reply #12 on: August 18, 2019, 12:14:15 PM »
Have the green and white lights and reflections. in both 4.4 and 4.5 (I think).

N
« Last Edit: August 18, 2019, 12:17:30 PM by nbrich1 »
Regards from Toronto, Canada - Misty Flying Club

rgerdes

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 178
    • View Profile
Re: Rotating Beacon in P3D V4
« Reply #13 on: August 18, 2019, 12:56:17 PM »
Discussion at the fsdeveloper ade forums and a solution (raises the angle of the beam using mcx):

https://www.fsdeveloper.com/forum/threads/p3dv4-5_airport-beacon-lights-the-ground.445495/#post-824806

Doug

  • Misty Moorings Site Admin
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,474
    • View Profile
    • Return to Misty Moorings
Re: Rotating Beacon in P3D V4
« Reply #14 on: August 18, 2019, 03:19:23 PM »
The pic is from PF64 Winter Trail.