Author Topic: 3D REDUX LIGHTS - Config Files  (Read 581 times)

Garry

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 190
    • View Profile
3D REDUX LIGHTS - Config Files
« on: June 12, 2019, 08:59:19 PM »
Hello

I'm confused over a couple of things in respect of these lights:

1. I found some configs posted by kind souls for the Beaver and the Goose. They have about a dozen lines each. But I notice in FSX the config lines for these planes number about 4, yet all the lights seem to be there.
Also, when I visit the A2A forum people are posting just one line! What's going on?

2. How is it when adding nav lights to one side [e.g., red] the light works and when you copy the entry for the nav green light and make the 3rd value negative no light shows on the opposite wing?

3. On the CIRP Hovercraft and tricked out Stalwart, all the redux lights work [thanks to Jeff and Norm] except for the headlamps on both models. The relevant fx file is there. Any ideas any one?

I should add that I'm using P3D v4.5 but I can't see how that could impact points 1 +2.

Kind regards
Josh


P3Dv4.5;R7 1700X o/c 4GHz;RX580 8Gb;16Gb 2666Hz RAM; Corsair 110h;34" UW monitor;120Gb SSD-OS;1Tb SSD-P3D + 3 HDD;Cambridge 2.1 audio; ASUS XONAR DX;CH Yoke;TMpedals;mytraffic06a;REXWWA,TD,SF,EF;WL2;FSXWX;3D Redux;Plan G;NextGenMesh

jeff3163

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,632
  • Troubleshooting
    • View Profile
Re: 3D REDUX LIGHTS - Config Files
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2019, 10:00:17 PM »
 :o ???

 1)  It's hard to comment without seeing some examples of what you are talking about.  I can only guess at the light configurations from your descriptions.  Sorry.  :-\

 2)  It may be hiding.  Sometimes you have to move the light around to make it stick out of the airframe, wing, etc.  I would shift the light until its position is out in the air, then adjust it back into the "light socket".

 3)  I'm not sure why the headlamps aren't illuminating for you.  Maybe adjust their position also, to see if they are hiding just behind the sockets.   :-\

 :P

Win10Pro64, P3Dv4.3.29.25520, AMD Ryzen7 1800X@3.6 GHz , 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX 1080 Ti, 1T/1T SSD's for Sims/OS, 3x42" Vizio Monitors, HTC Vive VR HMD, Saitek Yoke/Pedals/trim wheel, XBox360 Controller, G27 steering wheel w/shifter+pedals. :P

Garry

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 190
    • View Profile
Re: 3D REDUX LIGHTS - Config Files
« Reply #2 on: June 13, 2019, 09:30:21 AM »
Jeff/Norm
The headlights are working on both vehicles! Excellent.
I didn't make any changes. Could be that a reboot of P3D was needed.

Thanks again
Josh


P3Dv4.5;R7 1700X o/c 4GHz;RX580 8Gb;16Gb 2666Hz RAM; Corsair 110h;34" UW monitor;120Gb SSD-OS;1Tb SSD-P3D + 3 HDD;Cambridge 2.1 audio; ASUS XONAR DX;CH Yoke;TMpedals;mytraffic06a;REXWWA,TD,SF,EF;WL2;FSXWX;3D Redux;Plan G;NextGenMesh

Garry

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 190
    • View Profile
Re: 3D REDUX LIGHTS - Config Files
« Reply #3 on: June 13, 2019, 09:34:13 AM »
Hello
Probably displaying my ignorance here, but what is the 'model origin point'?

Regards
Josh


P3Dv4.5;R7 1700X o/c 4GHz;RX580 8Gb;16Gb 2666Hz RAM; Corsair 110h;34" UW monitor;120Gb SSD-OS;1Tb SSD-P3D + 3 HDD;Cambridge 2.1 audio; ASUS XONAR DX;CH Yoke;TMpedals;mytraffic06a;REXWWA,TD,SF,EF;WL2;FSXWX;3D Redux;Plan G;NextGenMesh

jeff3163

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,632
  • Troubleshooting
    • View Profile
Re: 3D REDUX LIGHTS - Config Files
« Reply #4 on: June 13, 2019, 08:17:07 PM »
Hello
Probably displaying my ignorance here, but what is the 'model origin point'?

Regards
Josh

     What is the frame of reference?  What are you doing, and who/what is asking about it?   :-\
It could be the CoG, or center of gravity of the model.  It could be the starting location in a pre-determined path.  It could be the model's 0,0,0 point (not necessarily the center of gravity, but probably is).

     For the 3D lights, it's the last one.  You move the lights in three axis.  So many feet forward, left or right, and up or down from 0,0,0.
« Last Edit: June 13, 2019, 08:39:28 PM by jeff3163 »

Win10Pro64, P3Dv4.3.29.25520, AMD Ryzen7 1800X@3.6 GHz , 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX 1080 Ti, 1T/1T SSD's for Sims/OS, 3x42" Vizio Monitors, HTC Vive VR HMD, Saitek Yoke/Pedals/trim wheel, XBox360 Controller, G27 steering wheel w/shifter+pedals. :P

Garry

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 190
    • View Profile
Re: 3D REDUX LIGHTS - Config Files
« Reply #5 on: June 13, 2019, 09:28:16 PM »
Jeff - yes, it's related to the lights. I came across the term in the manual - page 6

"Numbers have to be adjusted for each aircraft you add lights to and are measured in feet from the model origin point."

I was hoping for a definition in the manual but didn't see one. I sort of guessed it might be the CofG.


Regards
Josh



P3Dv4.5;R7 1700X o/c 4GHz;RX580 8Gb;16Gb 2666Hz RAM; Corsair 110h;34" UW monitor;120Gb SSD-OS;1Tb SSD-P3D + 3 HDD;Cambridge 2.1 audio; ASUS XONAR DX;CH Yoke;TMpedals;mytraffic06a;REXWWA,TD,SF,EF;WL2;FSXWX;3D Redux;Plan G;NextGenMesh

Garry

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 190
    • View Profile
Re: 3D REDUX LIGHTS - Config Files
« Reply #6 on: June 13, 2019, 09:38:04 PM »
Hello

I've just executed my first attempt to install the Shockwave 3D lights on the AS Beaver. A test of patience to be sure. But got there in the end. Looks fantastic.

I do have one issue, though. Even with each entry in the amphibian's aircraft.cfg file LIGHTS section 'remmed out' - "//"- so that no lights should be showing, there are lights still working on the aircraft:
- very bright white strobe lighting that illuminates both sides of aircraft, the origin of which I cannot detect;
- the red beacon light aft the wings, and
- 2 white strobes, each one near the tip and on top of both wings
[the last 3 lights are covered by the shockwave lights when not remmed out].

Is there anything else that controls the aircraft lights in P3D??

Is my experience related to something Aerosoft has done, i.e., somewhere in the AS Beaver plane files there are light related entries that can't be accessed/overridden? The original LIGHTS section contained 2 lines only, both related to the vclight, so it seems to me that the instructions for the outside lights that I'm seeing must be coming from elsewhere.

Thanks
Josh


P3Dv4.5;R7 1700X o/c 4GHz;RX580 8Gb;16Gb 2666Hz RAM; Corsair 110h;34" UW monitor;120Gb SSD-OS;1Tb SSD-P3D + 3 HDD;Cambridge 2.1 audio; ASUS XONAR DX;CH Yoke;TMpedals;mytraffic06a;REXWWA,TD,SF,EF;WL2;FSXWX;3D Redux;Plan G;NextGenMesh

jeff3163

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,632
  • Troubleshooting
    • View Profile
Re: 3D REDUX LIGHTS - Config Files
« Reply #7 on: June 13, 2019, 11:29:44 PM »
Hi Josh,
     I figured you were working on the lights.   ;) 

     Here is my [LIGHTS] section from my AS beaver - I've included my original lights block to show it was only the vc light originally.  Remember to also add the //<-- slash marks before the original [LIGHTS] header as in my example below.  Like this -->  //[LIGHTS]   ;) (yes, I have four landing lights.)  They are all in the same socket and have various effects.  One is regular, one is light, one is tilted 22 degrees, the last is tilted at 45 degrees for STOL high nose landings.   :D  I can really light up the forest.  8)  (note the "rcs exhaust r and r2".  They are flame that come from my exhaust pipes.   :o



Quote

//[lights]
//light.0 = 4,   1.15,   0.00, 1.50, fx_vclight_beaver

[LIGHTS]
//Types: 1=beacon, 2=strobe, 3=navigation, 4=cockpit, 5=Landing             
light.0 = 3,  0.15, -26.60, 4.15, fx_shockwave_navred //corrected
light.1 = 3,  0.15,  26.60, 4.15, fx_shockwave_navgre //corrected
light.2 = 3, -24.70,   0.00, 0.75, fx_shockwave_navwhi_l //corrected
light.3 = 2,  -0.35, -24.65, 4.80, fx_shockwave_strobe_nl
light.4 = 2,  -0.35,  24.65, 4.80, fx_shockwave_strobe_2_nl
light.5 = 1,  -7.00,  -0.60, 3.90, fx_shockwave_beacon_rotating_red
light.6 = 4,   0.00,   0.00, 1.00, fx_shockwave_vclight
light.7 = 5, 2.3, -13.0, 3.7,  fx_Shockwave_landing_light
light.8 = 5, 2.3, -13.0, 3.7,  fx_Shockwave_landing_light_light
light.9 = 6, -0.35,   1.25,  -2.65,  fx_rcs_exhaust_r
light.10 = 6, -0.15,   1.25,  -2.65,  fx_rcs_exhaust_r2
light.11 = 5, 2.3, -13.0, 3.7,  fx_shockwave_landing_light_narrow_down_22
light.12 = 5, 2.3, -13.0, 3.7,  fx_shockwave_landing_light_narrow_down_45

« Last Edit: June 13, 2019, 11:53:55 PM by jeff3163 »

Win10Pro64, P3Dv4.3.29.25520, AMD Ryzen7 1800X@3.6 GHz , 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX 1080 Ti, 1T/1T SSD's for Sims/OS, 3x42" Vizio Monitors, HTC Vive VR HMD, Saitek Yoke/Pedals/trim wheel, XBox360 Controller, G27 steering wheel w/shifter+pedals. :P

Garry

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 190
    • View Profile
Re: 3D REDUX LIGHTS - Config Files
« Reply #8 on: June 14, 2019, 11:01:29 AM »
Jeff - Why? Because I've not posted anything for 10 mins? Ho Ho.

Once more your response informs and opens my eyes to what is possible. You always seem to be able to pull the rabbit from the hat.

Your lights config fits like a glove. Love the landing lights, Brilliant!! ['scuse the pun]

Found the exhaust fx files. Sad to read about the creator and his buddy, though.
Notwithstanding, it's a fine and subtle touch.

BTW - what's the repaint in your pic. I've over 30 repaints for the Beaver but I aint got that one.

Righty ho, I'm off to dazzle Halibut Cove with my new landing lights!! 8) 8) 8) 8)

Josh



P3Dv4.5;R7 1700X o/c 4GHz;RX580 8Gb;16Gb 2666Hz RAM; Corsair 110h;34" UW monitor;120Gb SSD-OS;1Tb SSD-P3D + 3 HDD;Cambridge 2.1 audio; ASUS XONAR DX;CH Yoke;TMpedals;mytraffic06a;REXWWA,TD,SF,EF;WL2;FSXWX;3D Redux;Plan G;NextGenMesh

jeff3163

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,632
  • Troubleshooting
    • View Profile
Re: 3D REDUX LIGHTS - Config Files
« Reply #9 on: June 14, 2019, 12:06:36 PM »
It is the Alaska State Forestry paint.  Isn't it stock? ???


Win10Pro64, P3Dv4.3.29.25520, AMD Ryzen7 1800X@3.6 GHz , 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX 1080 Ti, 1T/1T SSD's for Sims/OS, 3x42" Vizio Monitors, HTC Vive VR HMD, Saitek Yoke/Pedals/trim wheel, XBox360 Controller, G27 steering wheel w/shifter+pedals. :P

Garry

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 190
    • View Profile
Re: 3D REDUX LIGHTS - Config Files
« Reply #10 on: June 14, 2019, 07:11:09 PM »
I'm not seeing it in FSX Deluxe+Acc or P3D.


P3Dv4.5;R7 1700X o/c 4GHz;RX580 8Gb;16Gb 2666Hz RAM; Corsair 110h;34" UW monitor;120Gb SSD-OS;1Tb SSD-P3D + 3 HDD;Cambridge 2.1 audio; ASUS XONAR DX;CH Yoke;TMpedals;mytraffic06a;REXWWA,TD,SF,EF;WL2;FSXWX;3D Redux;Plan G;NextGenMesh

jeff3163

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,632
  • Troubleshooting
    • View Profile
Re: 3D REDUX LIGHTS - Config Files
« Reply #11 on: June 14, 2019, 07:53:59 PM »
I'm not seeing it in FSX Deluxe+Acc or P3D.

Not sure what you're saying here. ???  The Aerosoft Beaver works in those platforms.  Look in the standard wheels folder of the Aerosoft Beaver.

This thread might explain some things.  I forgot. :-[
http://forum.mistymoorings.com/index.php?topic=1199.0

     Short story is ... the Alaska State Forestry paint is on the Aerosoft Beaver X wheeled version.  I adapted it to an amphibian model.
« Last Edit: June 14, 2019, 08:12:53 PM by jeff3163 »

Win10Pro64, P3Dv4.3.29.25520, AMD Ryzen7 1800X@3.6 GHz , 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX 1080 Ti, 1T/1T SSD's for Sims/OS, 3x42" Vizio Monitors, HTC Vive VR HMD, Saitek Yoke/Pedals/trim wheel, XBox360 Controller, G27 steering wheel w/shifter+pedals. :P

Garry

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 190
    • View Profile
Re: 3D REDUX LIGHTS - Config Files
« Reply #12 on: June 15, 2019, 10:22:54 AM »
Oh lord! The 'it' referred to the repaint, not the plane.

When you said 'stock' I thought you meant it was one of the 'stock' airplanes packaged with FSX and P3D, not by Aerosoft. ???

Because of your mod, I looked for the repaint in AS 'amphibian', not 'standard wheels',  which is where I have just found it, of course.

I didn't know it was possible to do such a thing as that mod. Now I do.

BTW - are the gulls on land or on your floats? Either way, it looks cool. 8)

Regards
Josh



P3Dv4.5;R7 1700X o/c 4GHz;RX580 8Gb;16Gb 2666Hz RAM; Corsair 110h;34" UW monitor;120Gb SSD-OS;1Tb SSD-P3D + 3 HDD;Cambridge 2.1 audio; ASUS XONAR DX;CH Yoke;TMpedals;mytraffic06a;REXWWA,TD,SF,EF;WL2;FSXWX;3D Redux;Plan G;NextGenMesh

jeff3163

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,632
  • Troubleshooting
    • View Profile
Re: 3D REDUX LIGHTS - Config Files
« Reply #13 on: June 15, 2019, 02:27:58 PM »
Quote
BTW - are the gulls on land or on your floats? Either way, it looks cool. 8)

 ;D  They're on the shoreline.   ;D

Win10Pro64, P3Dv4.3.29.25520, AMD Ryzen7 1800X@3.6 GHz , 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX 1080 Ti, 1T/1T SSD's for Sims/OS, 3x42" Vizio Monitors, HTC Vive VR HMD, Saitek Yoke/Pedals/trim wheel, XBox360 Controller, G27 steering wheel w/shifter+pedals. :P