Author Topic: Zoom factor  (Read 590 times)

kaha

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 181
    • View Profile
Zoom factor
« on: April 14, 2019, 07:23:32 PM »
Which zoom settings are you using?

Yesterday I made the following test: From my house (just some 15 miles east of LOWI) I selected two mountain peaks in the distance. Then I used a glass plate and held it in front of my face at the same distance my monitor is away from my eyes.

I marked the two mountain peaks on the glass plate and measured the distance.

Back at my rig I placed my aircraft at the exact GPS coordinates facing the two mountain peaks. Then I adjusted the zoom so the distance of the two peaks on the monitor was the same as on the glass plate.

I ended up with a zoom of 0.65 (Widscreen aspect checked). If this zoom works depends on the aircraft cockpit and how much I can shift the eyepoint back.

Karl

Karl

stiletto2

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,784
    • View Profile
Re: Zoom factor
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2019, 07:40:47 PM »
Hey Karl,

Innsbruck is a beautiful place to live.  You are lucky to be surrounded by such beauty.  In FSX/P3D the aspect ratios and geographcal relationships are not an exact match to real life for various reasons.  That said they are pretty close.  However, when viewing things at distance a small error can add up.

The problem with the widescreen setting is that if you use a zoom factor that is below 1.0 (which might help correct something at distance in the center of your view) additional distortion is added to your display  the farther you are from the very center of the screen. 

I always fly at 1.0 to minimize that distortion since I use a three screen system and with the  widescreen setting turned on.  You have to choose between a slight scaling variance at long distance as opposed to significant distortion as you reach the edges of the display screen.   

At least that is my take on it....

Rod   


kaha

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 181
    • View Profile
Re: Zoom factor
« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2019, 07:53:09 PM »
Well, I use just one monitor, on 3 monitors it is probably different.

Karl

kaha

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 181
    • View Profile
Re: Zoom factor
« Reply #3 on: April 14, 2019, 08:10:14 PM »
And I never had the chance to test a multi monitor setup, must be a great experience!

Karl

stiletto2

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,784
    • View Profile
Re: Zoom factor
« Reply #4 on: April 14, 2019, 08:31:08 PM »
Yep, I thought you might be using 3 monitors.  It is pretty cool using 3 monitors!  I run at 5040 X 1050 resolution.  You are right, about multi monitor being different than single monitor. 

Rod

nbrich1

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,475
  • MFC VA, Sim Troubleshooting & Help
    • View Profile
    • Misty Flying Club (MFC)
Re: Zoom factor
« Reply #5 on: April 15, 2019, 05:19:19 PM »
Just BLEW one of My GPU.. Dead dead dead.. Well it powers up and fans spin but Dead Dead Dead as there is no display output.  (I run two GPU and each runs 3 monitors.. well not right now mind you!! lol.. The PC is on the bench all ripped apart.. (I have to make room to fit a bigger GPU in as a new primary GPU!!)

Hopefully won't take me too long to get up and running but the pocket book is going to hurt!!.

Norm

PS. Run at 100.0 in VC. If in cockpit view run .70 but almost run in vc view.
« Last Edit: April 16, 2019, 08:23:44 AM by nbrich1 »
Regards from Toronto, Canada - Misty Flying Club

ualani

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,657
  • RTMM Library Manager
    • View Profile
Re: Zoom factor
« Reply #6 on: April 15, 2019, 05:50:52 PM »
kaha,
If you want a true 1:1 perspective, you need to play with your monitor resolution settings until you find the sweet spot. Otherwise accept the fact that a simulator doesn't, and can't, reflect real life.

Steve
RTMM Library Manager


kaha

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 181
    • View Profile
Re: Zoom factor
« Reply #7 on: April 15, 2019, 06:03:24 PM »
Just BLEW one of My GPU..

OMG... worst scenario. How old is the GPU? No warranty anymore?

Karl

kaha

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 181
    • View Profile
Re: Zoom factor
« Reply #8 on: April 15, 2019, 06:05:58 PM »
...play with your monitor resolution settings ...

I run a 40" 4K monitor. So what would be the possibilities to play with the resolution?

Karl

kaha

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 181
    • View Profile
Re: Zoom factor
« Reply #9 on: April 15, 2019, 06:08:25 PM »
Ahh, you mean resolution in respect to monitor size?

ualani

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,657
  • RTMM Library Manager
    • View Profile
Re: Zoom factor
« Reply #10 on: April 15, 2019, 07:12:00 PM »
I don't know how else to say it: what is your display resolution? Just to throw out theoretical numbers, is it 1440 x 900, 1336 x 768? Look at your video card's control panel. I have an Nvidia video card and there's an Nvidia control panel that has all kinds of display options that can be tweaked.

Steve
RTMM Library Manager


jeff3163

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,635
  • Troubleshooting
    • View Profile
Re: Zoom factor
« Reply #11 on: April 15, 2019, 08:57:45 PM »
I have three 42" monitors.   :D  I've never expected them to match "real life" though.  Just an approximation.   My resolution is 5760x1080p on a 1080Ti.   :P

Win10Pro64, P3Dv4.3.29.25520, AMD Ryzen7 1800X@3.6 GHz , 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX 1080 Ti, 1T/1T SSD's for Sims/OS, 3x42" Vizio Monitors, HTC Vive VR HMD, Saitek Yoke/Pedals/trim wheel, XBox360 Controller, G27 steering wheel w/shifter+pedals. :P

nbrich1

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,475
  • MFC VA, Sim Troubleshooting & Help
    • View Profile
    • Misty Flying Club (MFC)
Re: Zoom factor
« Reply #12 on: April 15, 2019, 09:04:22 PM »
It was my weaker and oldest gpu that blew up (my secondary)... a 6 yr old- GeForce GTX 650 TI Boost which is now a wee boat anchor.. no warranty now but it served well for it's lifetime.

PS Karl.. might want to use the native resolution for that 4k but as Steve says your going control panel should have options for different resolutions .. that is depending on your actual GPU and it's power/strength.

As always the higher you run the resolution the more the strain on the system. But if you have the CPU and GPU..power.. give higher resolutions a try...lol..

Norm
« Last Edit: April 16, 2019, 08:26:52 AM by nbrich1 »
Regards from Toronto, Canada - Misty Flying Club