Author Topic: Tongass Fjords X trees appearing in lakes with P3DV4  (Read 375 times)

bigtaff

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Tongass Fjords X trees appearing in lakes with P3DV4
« on: March 27, 2019, 04:35:20 AM »
Hi,

first off, great site and a really helpful page on how to install TFX into P3DV4.

I followed the instructions exactly but as the title of the post says, all my lakes seem to be filled with trees, making it very difficult to land, see Pic



I have made surew that the TFX libraries are inserted between the Orbx OLC folders and the Orbx scenery folders, see pic



Also I have made sure that the Terrain.cfg file is correct,




can anyone help at all please,

Kind regards, bigtaff

Dieter

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 868
    • View Profile
Re: Tongass Fjords X trees appearing in lakes with P3DV4
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2019, 05:20:45 AM »
In many cases it's all to do with the custom entries in the terrain.cfg file.

- Library entry is correct
- DefaultTexture Count=1119 is correct for last texture entry [Texture.1118]

Nevertheless check again correct sequence of (Tongass) texture entries, also make sure there is no double [Texture.xxx] number entry.
(If still a problem please attach your terrain.cfg as a text file to your next posting)
Many greetings
Dieter

Intel(r) Core(TM) i7-7700K CPU 4,5 GHz - MSI Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080 - RAM 16GB - 3 SSD each 500GB - 1 HD 1TB - Win10 Pro 64 bit - P3Dv4.5 - Thrustmaster Hotas Warthog - CH Pedals

jeff3163

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,601
  • Troubleshooting
    • View Profile
Re: Tongass Fjords X trees appearing in lakes with P3DV4
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2019, 09:25:19 AM »
     I believe this issue is different than the trees and NO water issue we sometimes get.  I've had trees on my water before, at Hollis I think.  Rod fixed it for me, but I don't remember what he did.  Maybe he does?  ???
« Last Edit: March 28, 2019, 09:30:25 AM by jeff3163 »

Win10Pro64, P3Dv4.3.29.25520, AMD Ryzen7 1800X@3.6 GHz , 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX 1080 Ti, 1T/1T SSD's for Sims/OS, 3x42" Vizio Monitors, HTC Vive VR HMD, Saitek Yoke/Pedals/trim wheel, XBox360 Controller, G27 steering wheel w/shifter+pedals. :P

bigtaff

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Tongass Fjords X trees appearing in lakes with P3DV4
« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2019, 11:30:20 AM »
Thanks guys, all sorted now,

although I had inserted the Tongass libraries in the correct place I had forgotten to set the insert point in ORBX FTX central, can now get flying!

many thanks, bigtaff :D

frkristi

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Tongass Fjords X trees appearing in lakes with P3DV4
« Reply #4 on: April 21, 2019, 07:48:58 AM »
I had similar problems, and this solved most of it.

Just remember to update DefaultTexture Count=XXXX to one number higher than the last texture on Tongass Fjords X entries to make P3D read the whole file, and not just up until the number that was originally there.

At least it solved it for me :-)

nbrich1

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,338
  • MFC VA, Sim Troubleshooting & Help
    • View Profile
    • Misty Flying Club (MFC)
Re: Tongass Fjords X trees appearing in lakes with P3DV4
« Reply #5 on: April 21, 2019, 12:21:34 PM »
Very quick Summary of Tongass install for use in P3Dv4x:

- Tongass installed. (whether that be to a dummy FSX or whatever), Copy the folders over to your locations:  (that depending on how your are setting this up). And set up entries your sim scenery lib or via a tongass add-on.xml if you're doing it that way. (Tongass Higher goes above lower)

- Terrain.cfg > correctly update the terrain.cfg file with the 40 Tongass Entries. (make sure the top value is one more that your total). Terrain.cfg file location in hidden folder:
(C:\ProgramData\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v4)

- Replace/update the Tongass AI Plane traffic Models for compatibility for use in P3D4x:
See RTMM P3Dv4x page > Step table 9 and 10:
Page LINK: http://return.mistymoorings.com/getting_started/index.php#9

- Set FTXv3 insertion points:
          FTX entries go below RTMM Libs
          OpenLC entries go below Tongass Lower                     
(This puts tongass between FTX and OPENLC where it is supposed to be placed)

- Delete the P3Dv4 shaders folder and sceneryindex64 folder in hidden folders:
C:\Users\yourname\AppData\Local\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v4\Shaders and
C:\ProgramData\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v4\SceneryIndexes_x64.

- Start the sim and it will rebuild the shaders and scenery indexes64 and all the files the sim requires as per your scenery installed.


DONE. Hope this helps?


Norm
Regards from Toronto, Canada - Misty Flying Club