Author Topic: Uploading Screenshots  (Read 331 times)

xxd09

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 211
    • View Profile
Uploading Screenshots
« on: February 09, 2019, 11:44:01 AM »
The Orbyx Platform has a very slick piece of software for uploading Screenshots
At least I can master it!
I struggle with the RTMM one
xxd09

ualani

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,616
  • RTMM Library Manager
    • View Profile
Re: Uploading Screenshots
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2019, 02:25:07 PM »
What part are you having trouble with or perhaps don't understand? We can help you.

Steve
RTMM Library Manager


xxd09

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 211
    • View Profile
Re: Uploading Screenshots
« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2019, 05:30:11 PM »
I select the Screenshot from Win 10 Pictures
Post shows file in attachment box but Preview does not show screen shot so loathe to post in case picture not present
xxd09

Beardgoblin

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: Uploading Screenshots
« Reply #3 on: February 09, 2019, 06:08:19 PM »
Hi xxd09,

I use the same process to post screenshots here as I do when posting on the ORBX forum - upload to Imgur (its free), copy the 'BBCode' snippet from the 'Image Links' list, paste into the post editing box, add any other images links/text and hit 'post'.

Now I think of it, I have never checked the preview here - but then, there doesn't seem to be a tight time limit here on editing a post, so there's time to correct errors without having to rush.

Give it a try, I've not had any issues so far  :D
« Last Edit: February 09, 2019, 06:57:54 PM by Beardgoblin »
My FSX (SE) set-up: AMD FX 3600 3.5 ghz, 32 Gig RAM, Nv GTX 760.  X52 Hotas.  Tongass Fjords, FS Passangers, Where Are My Aircraft (WAMA).

ORBX add-ons: Global Base, NA Open LC, SAK, PFJ, PAJN, PAKT, HD Trees (SE), freebie airports (global, couple NA) , night lighting.  Windows 10.

ualani

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,616
  • RTMM Library Manager
    • View Profile
Re: Uploading Screenshots
« Reply #4 on: February 09, 2019, 06:53:14 PM »
That's the way it works, xxD09. You won't get a preview of screenshots that you are uploading. You can go ahead and upload anyway, and if you don't like what you see after it uploads, then just delete the post and try again. Simple.

Steve
RTMM Library Manager


xxd09

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 211
    • View Profile
Re: Uploading Screenshots
« Reply #5 on: February 10, 2019, 09:46:41 AM »
Thanks for that-I might have a go again
Orbyx system  is" Drag and Drop"-very simple
plus you can see immediately the images that have been uploaded
Reassuring to a technophobe -before posting!
xxd09

Dan

  • Misty Moorings Site Admin
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 284
  • I Dislike Spambots
    • View Profile
Re: Uploading Screenshots
« Reply #6 on: February 14, 2019, 02:02:29 AM »
I agree the screenshot upload process isn't the best, but we're doing what we can.  It's something we can certainly revisit at some point.

As Beardgoblin mentioned, I personally prefer uploading to imgur (if anything, for the image compression) and then posting to the thread via bbcode.

In the early days of the site, we were getting people uploading insanely large raw images which actually "broke" my initial attempt to test out a new forum system since we couldn't migrate.    I'm looking into upgrades for our current forum, and I'll be sure to include more efficient screenshot uploads into that investigation.   

Thanks for the feedback.