Author Topic: Aerosoft BeaverX  (Read 1343 times)

scanham

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 69
    • View Profile
Aerosoft BeaverX
« on: May 24, 2017, 12:04:26 PM »
Does anyone remember if you are required to own a previous FSX version of the Aerosoft BeaverX to update to the 2.30 or 2.31?

I own the old FS2004 version (1.53 I think).  I am able to download 2.30 free using my FS2004 version key; the installation seems to work fine, but I can't get the aircraft to show up on the list.  I'm missing some files.

I probably won't purchase it because I prefer to wait for the Miviz Beaver.

Thanks,
Steve
Steve Canham
MFC0077

Penzoil3

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 516
    • View Profile
Re: Aerosoft BeaverX
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2017, 11:39:13 PM »
What sim are you installing to ? P3D requires a tweak for the gauges. 8)


Re: Aerosoft Beaver X
« Reply #10 on: November 11, 2014, 10:16:09 PM »

    Quote

Hi Dayle,

Patrick was getting at the right concept but don't think he had the advantage of just having done it successfully like I do at this moment having  just completed installing the Beaver into P3Dv2.  So here is what worked for me:

(by the way, make sure the Estonia Migration Tool is disabled as this process does not use it)

1.  Go to your Control Panel and select Uninstall a Program.  Then check to see if Aerosoft's-Beaver X is showing as installed.  If so, uninstall it because the installer will not work if it sees that the Windows installed programs and features already thinks that the Aerosoft Beaver X is installed.

2. Create a dummy FSX folder on the desktop with nothing in it.

3. Go inside the FSX folder and create a dummy fsx.exe by creating a .txt file and renaming it.

4. Next run the Aerosoft Beaver X installer pointing it at the FSX folder.  It should then run and give you and ending error about missions.  This error occurs because the installer tries to update the FSCategories.xml file that is missing in your dummy folder set.  This particular process I am describing is not designed to transfer the Beaver X missions into Prepar3D.

5.  Then copy over the Aerosoft folder into the main Prepar3D folder and merge the SimObjects folder contents and the Effects folder contents into the matching Prepar3D sub folders.   You dont' need the rest.

6.  Then click on  http://www.return.mistymoorings.com/web files/BeaverCab.zip to download a revised beaver.cab file that you will need.  Back up the original beaver.cab file you find in the ...Prepar3D\SimObjects\Airplanes\Aerosoft Beaver Standard Wheels\Panel folder and replace it with the one you downloaded using the above link.

I hope it works for you as it worked for me.

Rod

scanham

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 69
    • View Profile
Re: Aerosoft BeaverX
« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2017, 07:46:25 AM »
What sim are you installing to ? P3D requires a tweak for the gauges. 8)


Sorry, I should have mentioned that I am installing in FSX-SE. The problem might be that it sees the original install of the old version (1.53 for FS2004).  Even when I remove it with "add & remove programs" , it shows up on the list.  Must still  be something in the registry.
Steve Canham
MFC0077

ualani

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,698
  • RTMM Library Manager
    • View Profile
Re: Aerosoft BeaverX
« Reply #3 on: May 25, 2017, 07:53:17 AM »
Steve,
When you say it won't show up on the "list", what "list" are you talking about? The thumbnails in select aircraft?
RTMM Library Manager
Custom Objects Design
Scenery Design
Support


Penzoil3

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 516
    • View Profile
Re: Aerosoft BeaverX
« Reply #4 on: May 25, 2017, 10:51:05 AM »
 Just tried the 2.30 installer. It doesn't work for me either. Running it as admin, turned off ESET AV, even re booted the computer. No Aerosoft Folder, , no Aerosoft Beaver in SimObjects\Airplanes. Strange. Hunting for CD with old installer..

Penzoil3

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 516
    • View Profile
Re: Aerosoft BeaverX
« Reply #5 on: May 25, 2017, 11:57:15 AM »
 8)
 OK, after some consultation on the Aerosoft forum, I got it to work.
 The solution was to uninstall the Beaver through Windows Control Panel\Programs and Features. The install making sure to right click on the installer and select "Run As Administrator."
 Good Luck!
 Sue

scanham

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 69
    • View Profile
Re: Aerosoft BeaverX
« Reply #6 on: May 25, 2017, 11:31:13 PM »
Off on Holliday. 8). Thanks  Will work on it when I return.  Thanks for your advice!
Steve Canham
MFC0077