Author Topic: Wrangell cruise  (Read 7279 times)

jeff3163

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,782
  • Troubleshooting
    • View Profile
Wrangell cruise
« on: March 06, 2011, 12:22:14 PM »
I got myself a Malibu this morning, and am running it from Misty's to Wrangell to check it out.  It is a boater's dream come true.  I think I love it.  Even the side slip is a thrill, and getting the autopilot going was a piece of cake.  I got under the engine cover and tuned it up a bit.  I'm cruising at about 72 at the moment, and it's cornering via gps very well.  I don't know yet where the river is from here, as I've been busy tinkering this morning, but I look forward to going up it.  I've included the flight plans I've been working on, if anyone wants to use them.  (can they be shared?)  I hope so.  Pictures are obviously my new Malibu, showing it tracking the GPS route at 72kn.





[attachment deleted by admin (old)]
« Last Edit: March 13, 2011, 04:02:57 PM by jeff3163 »

Win10Pro64, P3Dv4.3.29.25520, AMD Ryzen7 1800X@3.6 GHz , 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX 1080 Ti, 1T/1T SSD's for Sims/OS, 3x42" Vizio Monitors, HTC Vive VR HMD, Saitek Yoke/Pedals/trim wheel, XBox360 Controller, G27 steering wheel w/shifter+pedals. :P

Doug

  • Misty Moorings Site Admin
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,606
    • View Profile
    • Return to Misty Moorings
Re: Wrangell cruise
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2011, 02:49:13 PM »
Jeff .. could you "post" the config for the Mailbu ... I think if we had one "done" we could look at what we are doing wrong.  Mine still doesn't work, so I'm making a silly mistake. Once I "saw it" ... I'd know what I need to do.

Hold onto the "flight plans" ... Those are going to be important "soon."  Post them here for now if you like, but we will have a place for them.

By the way look at Hama's Riva  that boat does 90 mph and is absolutely beautiful. A very easy Radio Stack to see, etc.  Would be a good one for what you are doing in the blue water because it goes so fast.

It is here: http://www.fsdownload.com/modules.php?name=News&file=article&sid=1078

You can see why the Malibu is so "tricky" and exciting in the sharp turns on the rivers ... with the sliding, you can find yourself up a tree very quickly!

D


corbu1

  • RTMM Team Test Pilot
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2,021
    • View Profile
Re: Wrangell cruise
« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2011, 03:20:11 PM »
Jeff... this boat lokes really nice.
Yesterday a did first boat trip with the freeware scirocco gtx Yacht. It was an amazing experience
exploring the Misty´s on the water. But the scirocco is a very big "boat". This smaller one is very nice.
Regards from Munich,Germany



P3Dv4.5HF3,P3Dv5HF2,AS4,REX SF3D EF WR,FirefighterX,OVRtoolkit,FreeAirMap;RXP GTN750/650
i76700K4,5Ghz;16GBRAM;Asus GTX1080;SSD1:256GB Win10Pro64;SSD2:512GB P3D;HDD:1TB;VivePRO;HOTAS Warthog;X52;Komodo ATPedals

jeff3163

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,782
  • Troubleshooting
    • View Profile
Re: Wrangell cruise
« Reply #3 on: March 06, 2011, 05:27:18 PM »
     Here are the cfg files for my Malibu.  (  :o Edit: Link removed.  :o)  Note that I am using the GPS 500 from my Capricorn Pro Yatch, so if you don't have that, just disable the line for it with 2 // marks in front of it, then remove the ones in front of the default GPS 500.  The Cap. GPS has a red faceplate, that's the only difference.  I tried to annotate the default settings of things I changed, you will see what I mean when you look in the aircraft.cfg file.  For example if I change -->   aileron_effectiveness=2.05  // 2.15
                                                           or -->  rudder_effectiveness=2.79  // 2.5

the defaults are to the right of the hash marks.
  Be sure, when you select your boat, choose one that is marked "airplane" in the description.  I haven't changed the tower model yet, but this will convert 2/3rds of them, and you can do the other ones, in the Deltasim Malibu32 tower file. 
  I have been running my boat up a river, but it turns out not to be the right one, as I came to a dead end, instead of Bowser Lake.  I started at CBA3, and headed for Stewart.  Smooth run to Stewart, but the rivers there don't go to Bowser.  I found the river by starting at Bowser lake, and tracing it downhill, back to the same area (CBA3) where I started before.  I should've headed up that valley, instead of the channel.  So I am sitting now in Bowser lake, ready to actually go down that river to the sea.  I've been trying to make movies (FRAPS) and post them to youtube, but no luck with that yet.  I tried to post one last night, and it never finished uploading.  I even left it overnight, but in the morning, it still wasn't done.  I'l keep trying.

The pictures. :  I got into the woods for a bit, then Bowser Lake was frozen over.  I changed the season to summer and continued to the other end of the lake, where I am now.

[attachment deleted by admin (size over 300k)]

[attachment deleted by admin (old)]
« Last Edit: February 16, 2013, 09:09:06 AM by jeff3163 »

Win10Pro64, P3Dv4.3.29.25520, AMD Ryzen7 1800X@3.6 GHz , 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX 1080 Ti, 1T/1T SSD's for Sims/OS, 3x42" Vizio Monitors, HTC Vive VR HMD, Saitek Yoke/Pedals/trim wheel, XBox360 Controller, G27 steering wheel w/shifter+pedals. :P

corbu1

  • RTMM Team Test Pilot
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2,021
    • View Profile
Re: Wrangell cruise
« Reply #4 on: March 07, 2011, 07:11:15 PM »
Got the Malibu now, too. Wow this thing is very cool stuff.
It slides like hell!!! What a fun! ;D
Regards from Munich,Germany



P3Dv4.5HF3,P3Dv5HF2,AS4,REX SF3D EF WR,FirefighterX,OVRtoolkit,FreeAirMap;RXP GTN750/650
i76700K4,5Ghz;16GBRAM;Asus GTX1080;SSD1:256GB Win10Pro64;SSD2:512GB P3D;HDD:1TB;VivePRO;HOTAS Warthog;X52;Komodo ATPedals

jeff3163

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,782
  • Troubleshooting
    • View Profile
Re: Wrangell cruise
« Reply #5 on: March 07, 2011, 08:45:02 PM »
Deltasim should be a little happier these days, with Malibu sales going up.  It is a great little boat.  My knees started getting sore after a while, though, when I was going down the river.  All the turning with the rudder pedals, was more than I ever do in a plane.  Sort of like taxiing at 60 knots, for 70 miles.  The Wrangell cruise, or any open waterway, is different. With the autopilot on I can go for many miles without touching the controls.

Last weekend I had a sailboat race to Wrangell.  Here's some pics.  Enjoy.



[attachment deleted by admin (old)]

Win10Pro64, P3Dv4.3.29.25520, AMD Ryzen7 1800X@3.6 GHz , 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX 1080 Ti, 1T/1T SSD's for Sims/OS, 3x42" Vizio Monitors, HTC Vive VR HMD, Saitek Yoke/Pedals/trim wheel, XBox360 Controller, G27 steering wheel w/shifter+pedals. :P

GrahamP

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 114
    • View Profile
Re: Wrangell cruise
« Reply #6 on: March 07, 2011, 08:49:42 PM »
My knees started getting sore after a while, though, when I was going down the river.  All the turning with the rudder pedals, was more than I ever do in a plane.

Have you thought of allocating the rudder to your yoke? That seems a bit more like the wheel to me. (or your joystick if you don't use a yoke)

If you use FSUIPC you can still keep the correct allocation for planes.
Graham

jeff3163

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,782
  • Troubleshooting
    • View Profile
Re: Wrangell cruise
« Reply #7 on: March 07, 2011, 09:33:23 PM »
Hi Graham,  I do have a CH Eclipse Flight Yoke, with rudder paddles on it, but disabled the paddles because I have Saitek Pro pedals.  Also, I reconfigured my boats so FSX thinks they are airplanes.  (to get the autopilot working).  I don't know if FSUIPC could tell the difference.  That's OK though.  I'm not complaining, just saying that running the rivers is much more rudder intensive than any other activity in FSX.  Also, the Nass river, out of Bowser Lake is about 70 miles, I think.  That's a couple of hours of serious rudder action.  Very fun though, and I look forward to the next river run.  Check out the thread for the Bowser Lake river run.  There's a couple of videos also, showing some of the action on the water.  One is by Doug Linn and the other is mine.

Win10Pro64, P3Dv4.3.29.25520, AMD Ryzen7 1800X@3.6 GHz , 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX 1080 Ti, 1T/1T SSD's for Sims/OS, 3x42" Vizio Monitors, HTC Vive VR HMD, Saitek Yoke/Pedals/trim wheel, XBox360 Controller, G27 steering wheel w/shifter+pedals. :P

Dragnhorn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 742
  • "Ahhhhh..the smell of black powder in the morning"
    • View Profile
Re: Wrangell cruise
« Reply #8 on: March 08, 2011, 12:38:38 AM »
That looks great!  Now the obvious question.  What boat is that and how did you get so many of them to show at once?

  I have the Sirocco GTX2 and GTX, plus the Riva, but may go grab the Malibu for the fun of it.
Rob Abernathy
aka Dragnhorn

PC specs: 
Intel Quad Core i7 4790k Devil's Canyon (Haswell), 4.0 GHZ, /Gigabyte 87 UD4H 32 GB mother board, 16 GB DDR3 1866MHZ, Nvidia GTX 760 2 GB x 2 SLI, 2 TB 7200RPM HDD, Cpu Liquid Cooling Unit LVL 4, 750W Thermaltake, Windows 7 64 bit

archangel1

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 271
    • View Profile
Re: Wrangell cruise
« Reply #9 on: March 08, 2011, 12:53:54 AM »
Looks like the freeware schooner Étoile from FS-Shipyards but, as for the clones?
Why take Life seriously? You'll never get out of it alive!

jeff3163

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,782
  • Troubleshooting
    • View Profile
Re: Wrangell cruise
« Reply #10 on: March 08, 2011, 08:12:55 AM »
Looks like the freeware schooner Étoile from FS-Shipyards but, as for the clones?

Yes, you're right.  That's my Etoile, and I was playing with FSRecorder.  Fun stuff.

Win10Pro64, P3Dv4.3.29.25520, AMD Ryzen7 1800X@3.6 GHz , 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX 1080 Ti, 1T/1T SSD's for Sims/OS, 3x42" Vizio Monitors, HTC Vive VR HMD, Saitek Yoke/Pedals/trim wheel, XBox360 Controller, G27 steering wheel w/shifter+pedals. :P

GrahamP

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 114
    • View Profile
Re: Wrangell cruise
« Reply #11 on: March 08, 2011, 08:42:42 AM »
Hi Graham,  I do have a CH Eclipse Flight Yoke, with rudder paddles on it, but disabled the paddles because I have Saitek Pro pedals.  Also, I reconfigured my boats so FSX thinks they are airplanes.  (to get the autopilot working).  I don't know if FSUIPC could tell the difference.

Sorry, Jeff, I wasn't clear.  I meant programme the boat rudder to the axis that you would normally use for the ailerons.  You do need to disable the normal aileron assignment in FSX (I have the ailerons assigned through FSUIPC for all the planes I use so that just stays disabled in FSX).

FSUIPC will recognise whatever you load (plane, boat, car, etc.)  and apply whatever you have assigned to it in FSUIPC.
« Last Edit: March 08, 2011, 08:47:45 AM by GrahamP »
Graham

jeff3163

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,782
  • Troubleshooting
    • View Profile
Re: Wrangell cruise
« Reply #12 on: March 11, 2011, 03:08:01 PM »
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vu7TCNvLFto

Another video posted.  Coming into Wrangell, and a much better parking job this time.

Win10Pro64, P3Dv4.3.29.25520, AMD Ryzen7 1800X@3.6 GHz , 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX 1080 Ti, 1T/1T SSD's for Sims/OS, 3x42" Vizio Monitors, HTC Vive VR HMD, Saitek Yoke/Pedals/trim wheel, XBox360 Controller, G27 steering wheel w/shifter+pedals. :P

Doug

  • Misty Moorings Site Admin
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,606
    • View Profile
    • Return to Misty Moorings
Re: Wrangell cruise
« Reply #13 on: March 11, 2011, 03:28:54 PM »

Great Vid Jeff ... I put it up in the gallery.  Were you using the autopilot on that one? Looked like you were right on the mark when the gps came up.

Check out this vid ... but they don't say what the boat is ... looks navigable???
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JFoazIF6eSs

doug

GrahamP

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 114
    • View Profile
Re: Wrangell cruise
« Reply #14 on: March 11, 2011, 04:39:39 PM »
That's the Deltasim Studio Smit Rotterdam heavy tug.
Graham