Author Topic: Orbx / FTX Global Base  (Read 3592 times)

Rangerick

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 149
    • View Profile
Orbx / FTX Global Base
« on: March 13, 2016, 04:41:56 PM »
As always, I find the opinions of the folks here to be the 'Best' !

Having said that. I'm looking for your opinions on FTX Global Base.

I'm using P3D v3 and already have all the Orbx NA Regions. 

I usually fly in those areas in conjunction with RTMM, however, I like to venture out into the world once in a while and I'm wondering if Global Base is a good investment.

There seems to be a lot of discussion out there regarding the need to use, or not use, some kind of 3rd party "mesh" along with it.

Thanks in advance !!

Rick


NeptuneP2V7

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 774
    • View Profile
    • VA-AMC
Re: Orbx / FTX Global Base
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2016, 06:06:05 PM »
Hi, FTX GLOBAL BASE it's only textures , this addons change only the world texrures  for beter view of générics base FSX or P3D .

Patrick

spud

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,082
    • View Profile
Re: Orbx / FTX Global Base
« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2016, 09:20:59 PM »
Rick,
as Patrick says FTX Global is replacement textures for the default FSX textures. 
Not being a P3D person I do not know if P3D supplies its own textures or uses textures from FSX.  If its the latter than Global would make considerable difference in how the scenery looks "outside" of ORBX full, fat regions.  The regions already use proprietary textures and Global would not really improve the regions.
Perhaps some of our P3D pilots can chime in as to what textures P3D uses, FSX or Proprietary P3D textures.
 8)
Later,

Spud

dbutterf

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Re: Orbx / FTX Global Base
« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2016, 04:32:25 PM »
Rick,

I currently use P3D and have Global Base and Vector installed.
To me there is a definite improvement over the standard textures, roads and rivers with these products installed.
The products are worth installing

Dayle
Dayle
P3D v4 WIN 10 Pro i5-4670 CPU @ 3.4GHz 16GB RAM NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080

Rangerick

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 149
    • View Profile
Re: Orbx / FTX Global Base
« Reply #4 on: March 15, 2016, 09:02:24 AM »
Dayle

Are U using a 3rd party mesh along with G+V ?

Rick

spud

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,082
    • View Profile
Re: Orbx / FTX Global Base
« Reply #5 on: March 15, 2016, 10:07:32 AM »
Rick,
as I said previously I'm not a P3D user and do not know if the comments in this post on the ORBX forums by Ben (FTX Central programmer) is germaine or not but it addresses some issues of installing Global into P3D.

http://www.orbxsystems.com/forum/topic/112345-default-scenery-selection-missing-from-main/

 8)
Later,

Spud

NeptuneP2V7

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 774
    • View Profile
    • VA-AMC
Re: Orbx / FTX Global Base
« Reply #6 on: March 15, 2016, 06:47:29 PM »
Dayle

Are U using a 3rd party mesh along with G+V ?

Rick
If you want to fly RTMM  in the menu scenery you have all recommanded ORBX Addon necessary .

Since FSX,  and now P3Dv3.2 user, i always had all ORBX sceneries and RTMM and+++

Patrick

jsapair

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,188
  • Don't follow me, I'm lost.
    • View Profile
Re: Orbx / FTX Global Base
« Reply #7 on: March 15, 2016, 10:33:51 PM »
I found the expense of FTX Global Mesh 2010 to be well worth it. Works hand-in-hand with Global and Vector. I mean, why put Ford parts in your Chevy?

                                             jsapair
Jsapair

jeff3163

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,631
  • Troubleshooting
    • View Profile
Re: Orbx / FTX Global Base
« Reply #8 on: March 15, 2016, 11:28:52 PM »
Rick,

I currently use P3D and have Global Base and Vector installed.
To me there is a definite improvement over the standard textures, roads and rivers with these products installed.
The products are worth installing

Dayle

I agree.  ;) 

Quote
There seems to be a lot of discussion out there regarding the need to use, or not use, some kind of 3rd party "mesh" along with it.

Mesh?  Don't worry about the mesh.  It is fine already.  No need for 3rd party mesh.
« Last Edit: March 15, 2016, 11:32:23 PM by jeff3163 »

Win10Pro64, P3Dv4.3.29.25520, AMD Ryzen7 1800X@3.6 GHz , 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX 1080 Ti, 1T/1T SSD's for Sims/OS, 3x42" Vizio Monitors, HTC Vive VR HMD, Saitek Yoke/Pedals/trim wheel, XBox360 Controller, G27 steering wheel w/shifter+pedals. :P

dbutterf

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Re: Orbx / FTX Global Base
« Reply #9 on: March 18, 2016, 09:55:54 AM »
ye Rick, I also use
 FreeMeshX From Nine Two Productions

Dayle

Dayle

Are U using a 3rd party mesh along with G+V ?

Rick
If you want to fly RTMM  in the menu scenery you have all recommanded ORBX Addon necessary .

Since FSX,  and now P3Dv3.2 user, i always had all ORBX sceneries and RTMM and+++

Patrick
Dayle
P3D v4 WIN 10 Pro i5-4670 CPU @ 3.4GHz 16GB RAM NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080