Author Topic: Prepar3d 3.1 and the Shipping Projects  (Read 6946 times)

dandimm

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Prepar3d 3.1 and the Shipping Projects
« on: January 04, 2016, 12:50:56 PM »
Hi All -

I just saw this post about 3rd party wakes on ships having issues in P3D3.1 and was wondering if this also applies to the Shipping project AI models. There has been a variable added .FX files called "ground details".

http://www.avsim.com/topic/481165-flytampa-corfu-ship-wake-and-wave-adjustment-for-p3d-v31/

Thanks in advance.
Daniel

jeff3163

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,623
  • Troubleshooting
    • View Profile
Re: Prepar3d 3.1 and the Shipping Projects
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2016, 08:33:29 PM »
Hi dandimm,
     To be clear, the added effect is "Ground Decal=", which will adhere the effect to the surface of the ground, or in this case, the water surface.  Instead of clipping the waves, the wake will now "ride" the wave contours.  Very cool, and I am excited about this development.  I've been hoping for a fix like this for a long time.
     In the thread, there is also a tool offered which will scan your effects folder and add the line to the FX files for you.  Use with caution, and back up things before experimenting though.  I will be checking this whole thing out myself.  Thanks for posting the link.  Concerning the AI shipping project, I am sure it can be adapted for their benefit as well.  ;)   Thanks Daniel.   8)

Win10Pro64, P3Dv4.3.29.25520, AMD Ryzen7 1800X@3.6 GHz , 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX 1080 Ti, 1T/1T SSD's for Sims/OS, 3x42" Vizio Monitors, HTC Vive VR HMD, Saitek Yoke/Pedals/trim wheel, XBox360 Controller, G27 steering wheel w/shifter+pedals. :P

Bradallen43

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,797
    • View Profile
Re: Prepar3d 3.1 and the Shipping Projects
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2016, 09:19:10 PM »
Hmm, Well since I don't use P3D V3 (2.5 still), I'm going to wait and see how this fix might pertain to me and my version. Wondering aloud I guess.

Brad

jeff3163

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,623
  • Troubleshooting
    • View Profile
Re: Prepar3d 3.1 and the Shipping Projects
« Reply #3 on: January 04, 2016, 09:29:54 PM »
Hi Brad,
     Version 3.1 implements the "Ground Decal" effect, I believe.  So it, most likely, wouldn't apply to any earlier version, as far as I know.  Ground decal adheres the effect to the nearby surfaces, such as the waves or the terrain,  instead of being flat and clipping through the bends and bumps in the surfaces.  There was some discussion about this influencing the lighting effects as well, such as landing lights or runway apron lights.  (Also tire marks and skid marks too.)

Quote from Rob Ainscough at AVSIM, about the subject-
Quote
P3D V3.1 introduced a new SDK FX item called "Ground Decal" (Ground Decal = 1) ... this should be used in most situations where an existing FX uses "Ground Normal" (3rd party ship wakes and/or wave files).  You can apply the Ground Decal = 1 to any other FX that uses Ground Normal ... for example any existing 3rd party product that has not been updated to include the new P3D V3.1 FX option.
« Last Edit: January 04, 2016, 09:37:37 PM by jeff3163 »

Win10Pro64, P3Dv4.3.29.25520, AMD Ryzen7 1800X@3.6 GHz , 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX 1080 Ti, 1T/1T SSD's for Sims/OS, 3x42" Vizio Monitors, HTC Vive VR HMD, Saitek Yoke/Pedals/trim wheel, XBox360 Controller, G27 steering wheel w/shifter+pedals. :P

jeff3163

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,623
  • Troubleshooting
    • View Profile
Re: Prepar3d 3.1 and the Shipping Projects
« Reply #4 on: January 04, 2016, 10:38:33 PM »
It works!  No more wakes clipping through the waves.  A great improvement in virtual reality immersion.  I used the tool to apply the fix to all appropriate fx files in my /effects folder.  I will keep an eye open for any anomalies or whatever.  So far, so good ...



Now to go find some cargo or cruise ships ...  ;)


« Last Edit: January 04, 2016, 11:14:20 PM by jeff3163 »

Win10Pro64, P3Dv4.3.29.25520, AMD Ryzen7 1800X@3.6 GHz , 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX 1080 Ti, 1T/1T SSD's for Sims/OS, 3x42" Vizio Monitors, HTC Vive VR HMD, Saitek Yoke/Pedals/trim wheel, XBox360 Controller, G27 steering wheel w/shifter+pedals. :P

Doug

  • Misty Moorings Site Admin
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,474
    • View Profile
    • Return to Misty Moorings
Re: Prepar3d 3.1 and the Shipping Projects
« Reply #5 on: January 13, 2016, 09:05:42 AM »
Jeff, are you using the McCoy Med wake?

Using the Goose ... I've got the "average" command in there, and I can see the wake sticking to the waves better (using ultra), but the plane is really "jumping" around.  Does your goose do that? Curious the wake you are using for it too?
« Last Edit: January 13, 2016, 09:25:11 AM by Doug »

NeptuneP2V7

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 770
    • View Profile
    • VA-AMC
Re: Prepar3d 3.1 and the Shipping Projects
« Reply #6 on: January 13, 2016, 12:35:50 PM »
Hi Doug
the problem come from your slider on  *ultra*  go to medium  water effects and your Goose don't  make skeepy kangaroo  :)

Patrick

Doug

  • Misty Moorings Site Admin
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,474
    • View Profile
    • Return to Misty Moorings
Re: Prepar3d 3.1 and the Shipping Projects
« Reply #7 on: January 13, 2016, 01:28:06 PM »
Yeah, on a choppy day, it's gonna "chop."  Thank you.  I had put in the "Always ..." setting with a capital "A" ... not good. That was the problem.

D

jeff3163

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,623
  • Troubleshooting
    • View Profile
Re: Prepar3d 3.1 and the Shipping Projects
« Reply #8 on: January 13, 2016, 07:50:28 PM »
Hi Doug,
     Yes, I am using the McCoy wake on my Malibu boat and Beaver.  It works fine for me with the ground decal setting.  What settings are you referring to, with "Always" and "average" commands?  I did discover a few weeks ago about the water detail setting making the boat jump.  I usually run on Ultra setting, but my boat or plane will not sit on the water.  It jumps around like crazy.  I pulled it back one setting to high, and it settled down.  I hope they fix that issue, because I like the ultra setting.

Win10Pro64, P3Dv4.3.29.25520, AMD Ryzen7 1800X@3.6 GHz , 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX 1080 Ti, 1T/1T SSD's for Sims/OS, 3x42" Vizio Monitors, HTC Vive VR HMD, Saitek Yoke/Pedals/trim wheel, XBox360 Controller, G27 steering wheel w/shifter+pedals. :P

Doug

  • Misty Moorings Site Admin
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,474
    • View Profile
    • Return to Misty Moorings
Re: Prepar3d 3.1 and the Shipping Projects
« Reply #9 on: January 13, 2016, 08:03:51 PM »
OK ...  Have you got this in your aircraft cfg file?

[contact_points]
always_use_avg_surface=1 // Added by Doug 01.10.2016 ... levels out the water in P3D

I can run ULTRA with this and the boat stays steady.

D

PS. I put a zip file up on the shipping page for a new wake update BUT ONLY FOR P3D V3.1 ... you've already done this, but it adds the ground decal=1 to all of the wav effects.
« Last Edit: January 13, 2016, 08:07:24 PM by Doug »

jeff3163

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,623
  • Troubleshooting
    • View Profile
Re: Prepar3d 3.1 and the Shipping Projects
« Reply #10 on: January 13, 2016, 08:10:39 PM »
OK ...  Have you got this in your aircraft cfg file?

[contact_points]
always_use_avg_surface=1 // Added by Doug 01.10.2016 ... levels out the water in P3D

I can run ULTRA with this and the boat stays steady.

D

PS. I put a zip file up on the shipping page for a new wake update BUT ONLY FOR P3D V3.1 ... you've already done this, but it adds the ground decal=1 to all of the wav effects.

Thanks.  No, I haven't seen that setting before.  I will try it.   8)

Win10Pro64, P3Dv4.3.29.25520, AMD Ryzen7 1800X@3.6 GHz , 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX 1080 Ti, 1T/1T SSD's for Sims/OS, 3x42" Vizio Monitors, HTC Vive VR HMD, Saitek Yoke/Pedals/trim wheel, XBox360 Controller, G27 steering wheel w/shifter+pedals. :P

Doug

  • Misty Moorings Site Admin
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,474
    • View Profile
    • Return to Misty Moorings
Re: Prepar3d 3.1 and the Shipping Projects
« Reply #11 on: January 13, 2016, 08:11:33 PM »
Works for me.  I had the Goose out in some HEAVY water today, some of the waves went over the front cowling, but the goose just stayed there steady.

D

Doug

  • Misty Moorings Site Admin
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,474
    • View Profile
    • Return to Misty Moorings
Re: Prepar3d 3.1 and the Shipping Projects
« Reply #12 on: January 13, 2016, 08:27:15 PM »
Let me summarize and see if I get it right, cause folks are needing this:

The Skipping Wakes: With Prepar3D, V3.1 when the water is in the ULTRA setting. The wake from a boat or plane "skips"  and leaves "blanks" in the wake. You can fix this by going to each individual wake file and looking for "Ground Normal=1" and "Shade=1" ... below Ground Normal and above Shade put in:
Ground Decal=1.  The best way to do this manually is go to the wake fx file, do a CTRL F to find "Ground Normal" when you do, put Ground Decal=1 under it ... there may be as few as two in an fx file and as many as 5, be sure to get t hem all.  I did this to all of my wake fx files. I then grabbed them and put them in a zip. This is now posted on the Shipping page as the second "Wake Update" for P3D.  These are the "fixed" wake fx files. This is still BETA so be darned careful. Copy your Effect File before you play with this. Then open the zip and copy the wake fx files you find there into your Effects folder. That should fix all of these for you.  But PLEASE make a copy of that Effects folder first ... we have to make sure it works.  that will solve the wake skipping effect.

  • NOTAM: If someone has used Notepad ++ and has gotten ALL of them successfully, if you zip the wake files and send them to me, I'd like to compare in case I missed some. That way we can double check that all of them are changed.

The Bouncy Boats and Planes ... When in P3D 3.1 ...with a water setting of ULTRA, even the largest ship can dance around on top of the waves, rather than settling into them. To fix this. Go to the aircraft.cfg file for the "bouncing vehicle" and right under [Contact Points] put this:

[contact_points]
always_use_avg_surface=1 // Added by Doug 01.10.2016 ... levels out the water in P3D

This is the valium your viagra affected vehicle is longing for.

Let me know if these work for you ... then we'll get it over to the faq. Please be careful with that zip file. And DO NOT use it unless you've got V3.1

Doug

PS: AND A VERY BIG THANK YOU TO DEX who drug me through this today.  The above is his work, not mine.
« Last Edit: January 13, 2016, 08:47:25 PM by Doug »

nbrich1

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,368
  • MFC VA, Sim Troubleshooting & Help
    • View Profile
    • Misty Flying Club (MFC)
Re: Prepar3d 3.1 and the Shipping Projects - wakes fix
« Reply #13 on: January 14, 2016, 03:01:01 PM »
As you guys have found the Ground Decal = 1 is the big part of the fix.

Yup, all ships wake  issues but found a fix... but using
Ground Decal=1 in the fx_wakexxx.fx files... in the effects folders..

Ground Decal  If this is set to 1 (in the wake effect) the particle will decal on to the ground surface. (Instead of into the air!) This is for such effects as wake, rotor wash, burn marks, and similar ground effects.  Ground Decal=1.

Now to apply the wake fixes.. (called - FlyTampa Corfu Ship Wake and wave adjustment for P3D V3.1) but seems to work in any version of prepard3d.

Link to avsim forum post on it..(that found just the other day)

http://www.avsim.com/topic/481165-flytampa-corfu-ship-wake-and-wave-adjustment-for-p3d-v31/

About half way down in that forum post, a gent (Nuno Pinto) wrote a small exe command program to do it all..  1. Figures out which effects files require the fix.. and 2. to apply the fix.

Just need to know some old dos commands like how to get to command prompt, change drive letter and subdirectories and two commands a) to scan the effects folder to determine the files that need the fix and b) to apply the fix to those files..

The changefx.exe file has to be in the folder with the effects..

Direct link to the tiny program: https://www.dropbox.com/s/w2weoelil6pcas2/ChangeFX.exe?dl=0

Command - changefx scan - finds all the wake fx that need to be changed.. and changefx apply, fixes those files.

Review the post on avsim first, backup your effects and if you want to fix the effects run the change fx..  and finally, say goodbye to vertical wakes.

Regards from Toronto, Canada - Misty Flying Club

NeptuneP2V7

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 770
    • View Profile
    • VA-AMC
Re: Prepar3d 3.1 and the Shipping Projects
« Reply #14 on: January 14, 2016, 06:37:02 PM »
For some week ago i apply this Fix and now all sailed  fine plane and AI ship 1.giga 4 boats. over the wolrld AI H. Nielsen

Patrick