Author Topic: Prepar3D V3  (Read 17148 times)

NeptuneP2V7

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 779
    • View Profile
    • VA-AMC
Re: Prepar3D V3
« Reply #45 on: December 16, 2015, 01:13:28 PM »
Hi guys i found a solution for installing sceneries with .exe
-take your TERRAIN.CFG from C:/ ProgrammeData /LM /P3dv3
-put in root folder of P3DV3
-make your installation scenery .exe
- keep out your Terrain.cfg in th root folder P3Dv3 (is modified by installation with new scenery)
- put in C:/ PrommDATA /LM /P3dv3

it's an other method that Holger said fot Tongass installation , for exemple .

and that all Folks  ;)

Patrick

stiletto2

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,802
    • View Profile
Re: Prepar3D V3
« Reply #46 on: December 16, 2015, 10:20:27 PM »
Hi Patrick, 

This procedure was documented for P3Dv2.5 on RTMM's site.  It is basically the same for P3DV3 as you mention.  Here is the link:

http://return.mistymoorings.com/object_libraries_build/#tongass

Rod

NeptuneP2V7

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 779
    • View Profile
    • VA-AMC
Re: Prepar3D V3
« Reply #47 on: December 17, 2015, 02:13:03 AM »
Hi YEP YEP it's the same .I never ever read this topic  before  ;)

Nice Tutorial ..

Patrick


plug_nickel

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: Prepar3D V3
« Reply #48 on: December 17, 2015, 11:13:38 AM »
stiletto2 (Rod),

The guide is spot on for the use of EMT.

I just wanted to confirm that the latest version of EMT writes to and correctly sequences the TFX scenery entries. They are written to and placed in correct order and above Orbx entries. There's no need to go back add them after TFX install.

You still have to do the terrain dance, but that's not bad.

aka Al

NeptuneP2V7

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 779
    • View Profile
    • VA-AMC
Re: Prepar3D V3
« Reply #49 on: December 17, 2015, 08:59:28 PM »
Hi have you try with Tongass installation ?   :)

Patrick

plug_nickel

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: Prepar3D V3
« Reply #50 on: December 17, 2015, 10:38:26 PM »
Hi have you try with Tongass installation ?   :)

Patrick
Yes, using latest EMT v3.0.1.953. Accept for the terrain dance (swapping in and out), the install of TFX is now fully automated. Nothing to add to any folders and the scenery file in Programdata/Lockheed Martin/Prepar3D v3 is written to and sequenced correctly.

Al

NeptuneP2V7

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 779
    • View Profile
    • VA-AMC
Re: Prepar3D V3
« Reply #51 on: December 18, 2015, 04:07:30 PM »
Nice to here you i verify my version and i uptodate at .953

All work fine  ;)

thanks

Patrick
« Last Edit: December 19, 2015, 04:19:27 AM by NeptuneP2V7 »

plug_nickel

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: Prepar3D V3
« Reply #52 on: December 18, 2015, 06:30:04 PM »
Good to hear Patrick.

The latest EMT version goes a long way in correctly installing FSX software. It looks like the terrain file is the only problematic file to be correctly identified and written to now.

plug_nickel

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: Prepar3D V3
« Reply #53 on: December 18, 2015, 07:23:10 PM »
Update......................
                                 !!!!!! IT'S ALIVE..........IT'S ALIVE !!!!!!

Final working install: F:\Prepare3D v3  F:\Prepar3D v3 RTMM

Although I was able to put the scenery files on another hdd, it was very difficult to update Orbx and add other scenery without having to continually trace down errors.

Retraction required; not final working install.

This is the FINAL working install (at least on my current hardware):

F:\Prepar3D v3                                           G:\Prepar3D v3 RTMM
                                                                 G:|Prepar3D v3 Oceania
                                                                 G:\Prepar3D v3 Scenery Tester
And last but not least:                                 G:\Prepar3D v3 SimObjects Tester

I've finally gotten all remote locations fully working and have run several Orbx updates both manually and through FTX Central 2.

I even went so far as to run Orbx update tests with G:\*** Scenery Tester on a USB 2.0 docking hub. I wouldn't recommend running as such; the hdd got really hot grinding away.

More importantly, I've moved SimObjects out of root P3Dv3 folder. This makes it much easier to trial fly and troubleshoot aircraft without directly impacting the other directories.

My quest is finished.

Thanks to all who have put up with my "blogs".

 Al

NeptuneP2V7

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 779
    • View Profile
    • VA-AMC
Re: Prepar3D V3
« Reply #54 on: December 19, 2015, 06:19:11 AM »
Hi
for today EMT

Migration Tool installer (12.7 MB)
Version 3.0.2.995. Last updated 2015-12-18.

Patrick

plug_nickel

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: Prepar3D V3
« Reply #55 on: January 09, 2016, 07:59:19 PM »
I hope everyone had a joyous Christmas or Holiday and a happy New Year.

Another update and more "slicing & dicing" of Prepar3D v3.

I think I've taken this particular endeavor about as far as I can. I'm now running 3 separate directories:

E:\Prepar3D v3 (as core)
F:\Prepar3D v3 (as scenery)
G:\Prepar3D v3 (as content)

I don't have to change any registry settings and EMT can be directed to which ever directory I want to add content or scenery to. Also, by using 3 identical directory settings, the core, scenery or content directory can also be properly updated with new LM releases if needed.

The only area I haven't explored yet is setting up fully independent sub-directories. On Avsim and LM's sites, there are problems with various aircraft or scenery installs working properly outside of the root P3D directory. To a certain extent, I've overcome those problems; however, content and scenery still reside in primary P3D directories. In order to fully separate content and scenery from P3D proper, I believe this can be solved by creating new registry paths to the new sub-directories under the Lockheed Martin primary register and linking everything together in ProgramData profiles. It sounds complicated, but it's actually just more tedious to setup. So there's more "slicing & dicing" to do.