Author Topic: Prepar3D 2.5 Update Problems  (Read 27716 times)

NeptuneP2V7

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 774
    • View Profile
    • VA-AMC
Re: Prepar3D 2.5 Update Problems
« Reply #45 on: February 26, 2015, 06:32:36 PM »
Finally installing P3Dv2.5

     Success!   8)  So far, so good.  I did have trees in the water after initial upgrade to 2.5, but then I remembered this thread.  I had a copy of terrain.cfg from before, so I deactivated the new ones, and pasted the saved one in both spots. 
     Eureka!  The trees are gone.  My boat is floating again. 

     Before starting the v2.5 installer, I deactivated the 2.4 P3D.exe file by adding a ".off", then ran the 2.5 installer right over my current 2.4 folder.  All scenery is intact, and a new library installed. 
     I've also installed the version 2.5 SDK package as well.  Now I need a new Instant Scenery III dll update.   8)


HI dear JEFF : if you are in V2.5 for be exact : do you have this in your root folder P3D 2.5

         Main.dll                                134k du 17/02/2015
        SimDirector.dll                     4540k du 17/02/2015
        Learning Center.chm          72 243k du 17/02/2015

Right click / Properties/ Prepar3D.exe: 2.5.12943.0 (Prepar3D.20150217-1442)

IF you don' have this you are always in 2.4 or an hybrid 2.4.5  ;D
I say this because LM sayed to uninstall 2.4 before 

Patou

jeff3163

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,631
  • Troubleshooting
    • View Profile
Re: Prepar3D 2.5 Update Problems
« Reply #46 on: February 26, 2015, 07:41:29 PM »
Quote
IF you don' have this you are always in 2.4 or an hybrid 2.4.5

Hi Patou,
     Yes, I do have those three files in my root directory.  They are all version 2.5.12943.0 files.  Thanks. ;)
« Last Edit: February 26, 2015, 07:45:11 PM by jeff3163 »

Win10Pro64, P3Dv4.3.29.25520, AMD Ryzen7 1800X@3.6 GHz , 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX 1080 Ti, 1T/1T SSD's for Sims/OS, 3x42" Vizio Monitors, HTC Vive VR HMD, Saitek Yoke/Pedals/trim wheel, XBox360 Controller, G27 steering wheel w/shifter+pedals. :P

NeptuneP2V7

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 774
    • View Profile
    • VA-AMC
Re: Prepar3D 2.5 Update Problems
« Reply #47 on: February 28, 2015, 06:01:12 AM »
Thanks for JEFF Incredible   :o :o :o

jfail

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Prepar3D 2.5 Update Problems
« Reply #48 on: April 02, 2015, 02:27:57 PM »
I got everything working in P3D 2.5.  The only problem I have found is that all of my detail of the waterfront at Petersburg is not showing.  The docks, cannery etc. are not showing.  The houses in the Petersburg area etc. are showing ok. The ferry, USCGC Anacapa, buoys etc. all appear just none of the docks etc.


Bradallen43

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,808
    • View Profile
Re: Prepar3D 2.5 Update Problems
« Reply #49 on: April 02, 2015, 03:45:25 PM »
JFail,

Since Petersburg is in the Tongass Fjords X scenery, I would run that program's "Repair" utility and see if that makes any difference. If you run the installation routine for Tongass Fjords X again, I believe it will offer a "Repair" selection. Select that and see if if takes care of these issues you're having.

If not, we'll help you sort it out.

Brad

jfail

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Prepar3D 2.5 Update Problems
« Reply #50 on: April 02, 2015, 06:45:24 PM »
Hi Brad,

Thanks for your response and suggestion.  I tried to install again but there was no "repair" facility.

My problems with TF actually go back aways.  When I used the Estonia migrator to install TF back in the P3D 1.x days it always worked perfect other than Holger had to help me get the terrain.cfg file sorted out.  Even back then (there are very old posts on this board) I had problems trying to run the TF Configuration utility on Windows 7 64 bit.  I cannot remember the gentlemans name on here who responded with a test version specific to 64 bit and it worked.

Now that we are into the 2.x versions of P3D I have had a couple of problems with installing TF using the Estonia Migrator.  Paavo obviously is having difficulties getting a stable version of the migrator.  There are numerous very recent  posts on his forum with people having problems with the migrator.

In 2013 (I believe) I installed TF into P3D 2.X using the migrator and it worked fine except I ran into the TF configurator problem again where if I ran it a blank window came up similar to the problems in the past (see screenshot004 attached).  i installed the 64 bit version and started getting fatal errors from the TF configurator.  Oddly enough if I ran the Migrator and then ran the TF configurator it worked perfectly.  When I turned the migrator off and ran the TF configurator again I would get the fatal error (see screenshot 005 attached).  I posted about it on this forum but apparently no one else encountered the problem other than me so I just guessed I had some sort of strange problem but TF scenery etc. ran perfectly in P3D 2.X so I just ignored it.

When P3D 2.5 came out I reformatted Drive C, reinstalled Windows 7 Pro 64 bit and reinstalled P3D 2.5 from the ground up.  As I mentioned earlier the migrator has some serious problems in recent days.  I did use it to install TF and all went well.  I saw the terrain.cfg file discussed on this forum and was careful to preserve it as well as a copy of the original terrain.cfg.

I now am encountering the same problems with TF on P3D 2.5.12945.0 that I had in the past.  This even though I have carefully rebuilt P3D 2.5, TF etc.  It is a stretch for me to believe that something is wrong with my installation.

Possibly I am using a old version of TF (FSAD Tongass_Fjords_x_SM.EXE 6/29/2009) and there is something newer that I am not aware of.

Edit: apparently the forum only allows the upload of one .png file.  The screenshot 004 does not seem to appear.
« Last Edit: April 02, 2015, 06:47:56 PM by jfail »