Author Topic: Bye bye DX10, Hello DX11!! Prepar3D V 2.0  (Read 7015 times)

Bradallen43

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,859
    • View Profile
Bye bye DX10, Hello DX11!! Prepar3D V 2.0
« on: November 03, 2013, 01:32:05 AM »
I'm looking forward to this a lot. Only hope my current hardware can handle it. Scroll down to the DX11 section and check out some of the screenshots of water, fog, etc.

http://www.prepar3d.com/latest-news/
« Last Edit: November 03, 2013, 01:33:39 AM by Bradallen43 »

FSRobert

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 726
  • Videography & Scenery Testing
    • View Profile
Re: Bye bye DX10, Hello DX11!! Prepar3D V 2.0
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2013, 02:08:54 AM »
Looks stunning indeed.

I will become a P3D guy, it´s hanging on V2 and if it proves to be all its cracked up to be. By the looks of the bloggers shots great things are headed our way.  :) :) :)
    ´      
                                      Keep The FSFaith People

                      https://vimeo.com/channels/mistymooringvideography

spirit_66

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 111
    • View Profile
Re: Bye bye DX10, Hello DX11!! Prepar3D V 2.0
« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2013, 02:22:05 AM »
.......Only hope my current hardware can handle it. .......

With a 4.6 GHz CPU which can feed a 6xx/7xx nVidia GPU P3D v2 will run pretty will I guess.
Regards from Chiang Mai (VTCC) / Thailand

Rangerick

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 169
    • View Profile
Re: Bye bye DX10, Hello DX11!! Prepar3D V 2.0
« Reply #3 on: November 03, 2013, 08:12:47 AM »
Even though it isn't going to be ramped up to 64 bit yet.... I'm with you guys !

It's already got it's own SSD sitting in my system waiting for it to arrrive... and come 'Alive'  ;)

Doug

  • Misty Moorings Site Admin
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,530
    • View Profile
    • Return to Misty Moorings
Re: Bye bye DX10, Hello DX11!! Prepar3D V 2.0
« Reply #4 on: December 26, 2013, 09:29:05 AM »
It is AMAZING!  20-30 frame rates  where I had 10 and 12. I added one plane (Areosoft beaver) by copying it from the sim objects file in FSX ...also copied gauge folder. Still 3 gauges missing, not sure why. Now trying to figure out how to add PAJN.  Anybody done that yet?  The detail is amazing ... And SMOOOOTH!

Rangerick

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 169
    • View Profile
Re: Bye bye DX10, Hello DX11!! Prepar3D V 2.0
« Reply #5 on: December 26, 2013, 10:48:47 AM »
Doug

Apparently you have to replace the "Beaver.CAB" file.  If I recall... I found the fix and file in the Aerosoft forum ?    I was planning on getting into V2 this week, so haven't moved mine over yet to confirm it... but apparently it fixes the missing guages.

jeff3163

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,727
  • Troubleshooting
    • View Profile
Re: Bye bye DX10, Hello DX11!! Prepar3D V 2.0
« Reply #6 on: December 26, 2013, 11:51:25 AM »
Thanks Rick,
That's good to know.  I am downloading my copy of P3D v2 now, although since I am in the middle of rebuilding my system and FSX, I don't look forward to monkeying around with it just now.  I am getting tired of always fixing things.  I want a stable computer experience, with no crashing or glitches or stutters or endless load times.  This last crash really knocked me down, psychologically.  :'(

Win10Pro64, P3Dv4.3.29.25520, AMD Ryzen7 1800X@3.6 GHz , 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX 1080 Ti, 1T/1T SSD's for Sims/OS, 3x42" Vizio Monitors, HTC Vive VR HMD, Saitek Yoke/Pedals/trim wheel, XBox360 Controller, G27 steering wheel w/shifter+pedals. :P

Doug

  • Misty Moorings Site Admin
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,530
    • View Profile
    • Return to Misty Moorings
Re: Bye bye DX10, Hello DX11!! Prepar3D V 2.0
« Reply #7 on: December 26, 2013, 01:29:15 PM »
Rick ... must be something like that.  If you happen to run across the fix let me know ... no special effort, I'm giving up on it for a while. The Beaver moved across pretty nicely then I copied the gauge folder into P3D ... and it picked all but three.  I noticed the wake is pretty "rough" with the beaver on water, looks like it needs a better effect. Was going to move the Effects stuff, but thought I'd better just sit back and let them get it all sorted out. Flew the Mooney they have around Seattle ... wow, what a difference!!!

Rangerick

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 169
    • View Profile
Re: Bye bye DX10, Hello DX11!! Prepar3D V 2.0
« Reply #8 on: December 26, 2013, 07:34:17 PM »
Hi Doug

I transferred my BeaverX over today and the new .CAB file fixed the missing guages.  You just rename the old .CAB file and drop in the new one

I got it from Eric Bakker's post (below) in the Aerosoft Forum:

http://forum.aerosoft.com/index.php?/topic/52179-aerosoft-beaver-fully-working-in-p3d-on-my-machine/

From the Aerosoft Forum:
Eric Bakker

    Deputy Sheriff
    Assistant Moderators
   
Posted 13 May 2012 - 22:45
Thanks Bruno, it worked great! Now I can use The Eternal Beaver in Prepar3D. :excellenttext_s:

To help others and save them some time I upload my edited Beaver.CAB here.
I repacked the files using the Prepar3D SDK 1.3 CabDir program. I had to zip it to be able to upload it to this forum
Use at your own risk.

Instructions:
Please unzip the attached Beaver.zip file and put the Beaver.CAB in this folder:
\SimObjects\Airplanes\Aerosoft Beaver Standard Wheels\Panel
Attached File(s)

    Attached File  Beaver.zip   8.37MB   217 Number of downloads

 


spud

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,082
    • View Profile
Re: Bye bye DX10, Hello DX11!! Prepar3D V 2.0
« Reply #9 on: December 26, 2013, 08:01:05 PM »
No problem Rick because no attached file in your post.  However the link to the aerosoft forum post does contain the zip file.
 8)
Later,

Spud

Doug

  • Misty Moorings Site Admin
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,530
    • View Profile
    • Return to Misty Moorings
Re: Bye bye DX10, Hello DX11!! Prepar3D V 2.0
« Reply #10 on: December 27, 2013, 07:43:18 AM »
Rick...great...trying it this afternoon. I always wonder how folks figure these thing out, hat tip to Bruno and tip to you for passing it to us here.

Doug

NeptuneP2V7

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 795
    • View Profile
    • VA-AMC
Re: Bye bye DX10, Hello DX11!! Prepar3D V 2.0
« Reply #11 on: January 21, 2014, 10:41:17 AM »
Thnak's i do this it's OK   ;)