Author Topic: Mission 3  (Read 1676 times)

wschneid

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Mission 3
« on: August 21, 2013, 10:26:32 AM »
I dl'd Mission 3, RTMM. I don't get any dialog or compass or any indication that the mission is working. Any ideas?

Bill Schneider

Bradallen43

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,820
    • View Profile
Re: Mission 3
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2013, 10:56:29 AM »
HI Bill,

Can you be more specific please on which mission #3 you're asking about.

Thanks,
Brad

wschneid

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Mission 3
« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2013, 04:20:12 PM »
It's the mission based on Dispatch #3. A flight to visit 9 different USFS cabins, written by Jeff Green.

Bill Schneider

jeff3163

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,635
  • Troubleshooting
    • View Profile
Re: Mission 3
« Reply #3 on: August 21, 2013, 08:13:15 PM »
Hi Bill,
Sorry to hear that you're having trouble.  May I assume that you've already successfully installed the first two missions I wrote? 
--Do they work like they should? 
--Did you create the "Return to Misty Moorings" category? 
--Do you have all the libraries installed?
--Do you have the USFS cabins installed? 

Also, check out this thread.
http://forum.mistymoorings.com/index.php?topic=1569.0
« Last Edit: August 21, 2013, 08:57:35 PM by jeff3163 »

Win10Pro64, P3Dv4.3.29.25520, AMD Ryzen7 1800X@3.6 GHz , 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX 1080 Ti, 1T/1T SSD's for Sims/OS, 3x42" Vizio Monitors, HTC Vive VR HMD, Saitek Yoke/Pedals/trim wheel, XBox360 Controller, G27 steering wheel w/shifter+pedals. :P

wschneid

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Mission 3
« Reply #4 on: August 22, 2013, 02:33:34 PM »
Jeff,
Missions 1, 2, and 4 work fine. I deleted mission 3 and reinstalled it, but still nothing. The flight plan shows up because I have it in my document/Flightsim x folder, but I get nothing from the mission voice or anything else.

Bill

jeff3163

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,635
  • Troubleshooting
    • View Profile
Re: Mission 3
« Reply #5 on: August 22, 2013, 07:42:33 PM »
Hi Bill,
     If the other missions work fine, then you are most likely missing some object that is specific to this mission.  (This mission has bears & seagulls getting into the garbage cans at one of the cabins, for instance.) 

     Make sure you have the latest updates for all the libraries installed.  Especially the Ceyx scenery library.

     If you could debug FSX when it starts, and find out what is not loading, that would help alot.  ;)

The following text was copied from -
"FSX Mission Building Tips Part II:
Building Great Missions
By Paul Lange":

Quote
"As mentioned in the SDK, you can add these lines to the FSX.CFG file to get some error messages
regarding loading problems.

[DEBUG]
ReportLoadErrors=1

This won’t catch all errors, but it will catch some common ones."
« Last Edit: August 22, 2013, 08:20:03 PM by jeff3163 »

Win10Pro64, P3Dv4.3.29.25520, AMD Ryzen7 1800X@3.6 GHz , 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX 1080 Ti, 1T/1T SSD's for Sims/OS, 3x42" Vizio Monitors, HTC Vive VR HMD, Saitek Yoke/Pedals/trim wheel, XBox360 Controller, G27 steering wheel w/shifter+pedals. :P

wschneid

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Mission 3
« Reply #6 on: August 23, 2013, 04:15:41 PM »
Jeff,
I updated my CeyX library and added the Debug to FSX.CFG, but still nothing. I hate to keep bothering you since this seems to be the only thing I can't do in Misty Moorings.

Bill

jeff3163

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,635
  • Troubleshooting
    • View Profile
Re: Mission 3
« Reply #7 on: August 23, 2013, 04:31:32 PM »
You aren't bothering me.  This is what I like to do!  I hope to fix your problem.  ;)

You're not getting any load errors at all?   :o
« Last Edit: August 23, 2013, 04:33:03 PM by jeff3163 »

Win10Pro64, P3Dv4.3.29.25520, AMD Ryzen7 1800X@3.6 GHz , 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX 1080 Ti, 1T/1T SSD's for Sims/OS, 3x42" Vizio Monitors, HTC Vive VR HMD, Saitek Yoke/Pedals/trim wheel, XBox360 Controller, G27 steering wheel w/shifter+pedals. :P

wschneid

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Mission 3
« Reply #8 on: August 24, 2013, 12:24:06 PM »
Jeff,
No, none at all. I put the copied the Debug into FSX.CFG and ran FSX. Nothing showed and even though the mission loads with the Misty Fjords Beaver I don't get any vice instructions or compass pointer. I flew part of the mission just to see if it would kick in later, but nothing happened. I'm fairly certain that I have all the libraries installed. The only one that needed updating was the CeyX and I did that.

Bill

jeff3163

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,635
  • Troubleshooting
    • View Profile
Re: Mission 3
« Reply #9 on: August 24, 2013, 02:07:52 PM »
Hi Bill,
     You can quickly tell if it's not a mission by pressing the "Esc" key.  If it says "End flight?", then it's not working. 
     All I can guess is that an object is missing from your library somehow.  (or not activated in scenery.cfg).   ???  Neither of which sounds likely to be true.


edit--:>  I don't seem to be getting any messages from my debug flags either.  I also turned on the "Show triggers" option, but when I fueled up at Gustavus all looked normal.  No green boxes to be seen.  I wonder what's up with that?
« Last Edit: August 24, 2013, 06:35:07 PM by jeff3163 »

Win10Pro64, P3Dv4.3.29.25520, AMD Ryzen7 1800X@3.6 GHz , 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX 1080 Ti, 1T/1T SSD's for Sims/OS, 3x42" Vizio Monitors, HTC Vive VR HMD, Saitek Yoke/Pedals/trim wheel, XBox360 Controller, G27 steering wheel w/shifter+pedals. :P