Author Topic: Autopilot Installation and Config for Boats  (Read 4272 times)

Trex3D

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 219
  • Playin' too much video games ain't gettin' u laid!
    • View Profile
Autopilot Installation and Config for Boats
« on: June 12, 2013, 03:37:00 AM »
Hi everyone,

I just installed all 3 boats (FSX Air Boat, Riva Aquarama and Deltasim Sirocco LT) and the Nav Stack downloaded from RTMM's The Marina. I also added the Sirocco GTX and GTX2 from Deltasim's freewares to my fleet. But I didn't find any Read Me file or specific instructions on how to install the separate Sirocco GTX Autopilot and it appears that the config is for a GTX2 (not GTX) after extracting its ZIP file.  I also noticed there's an aircraft.cfg and panel.cfg along with it which when I opened indicated to be for the Sirocco GTX2 was not among the 3 boat models I got from The Marina. Too add to the confusion, I found out that the default autopilot config entries for my GTX2's aircraft.cfg and panel.cfg files differ slightly from that in the Sirocco GTX autopilot ZIP extracted file entry after comparing both. I hope you guys can clarify and help out on this issue. Got some questions:

1) Will the autopilot and/or nav stack work for all or just some of these boats?

2) Does anyone know how to properly install and configure the autopilot feature to work for these 5 boats I installed?

Any tips/advice are appreciated. Thanks!

Trex3D  ???


Flying a helicopter - the most fun you can have with your hand between your legs and not go blind.

jeff3163

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,635
  • Troubleshooting
    • View Profile
Re: Autopilot Installation and Config for Boats
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2013, 09:31:57 PM »
Hi Trex3D,
Have you read my thread "Working on the boats"?  In it, I describe my experience with boats and autopilots.  I might be able to help.   ;)

Win10Pro64, P3Dv4.3.29.25520, AMD Ryzen7 1800X@3.6 GHz , 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX 1080 Ti, 1T/1T SSD's for Sims/OS, 3x42" Vizio Monitors, HTC Vive VR HMD, Saitek Yoke/Pedals/trim wheel, XBox360 Controller, G27 steering wheel w/shifter+pedals. :P

Trex3D

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 219
  • Playin' too much video games ain't gettin' u laid!
    • View Profile
Re: Autopilot Installation and Config for Boats
« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2013, 09:55:19 PM »
Hi Jeff,

Thanks for the reply. I'll try to find and go through it and let you know if it can address my concerns. It might take a while since I'm new to FSX boats... Otherwise, I'll post here my experience and other questions, if any.

By the way since were discussing about boats here, would you happen to know if there's a SUMMARIZED list of group or individual schedules, routes for all AI vessels (boats, ships, landcraft, etc. ) enhancements here in RTMM? If so, what are these specific add-ons, payware needed in order for these AI objects to be seen or to work properly? I already asked a similar question in my other post but thought you may be able to shed some light on it. Thanks again.

Trex3D
« Last Edit: June 13, 2013, 03:46:30 AM by Trex3D »


Flying a helicopter - the most fun you can have with your hand between your legs and not go blind.

jeff3163

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,635
  • Troubleshooting
    • View Profile
Re: Autopilot Installation and Config for Boats
« Reply #3 on: June 12, 2013, 11:41:28 PM »
We have various AI ships out there, by the dozens actually.  Go to Misty's Place (top of page) and check out the different buttons.  They take you to the different areas of Misty's.  Whether you need cabins or lighthouses, or shipping traffic or repaints.  Misty's has it all.  There are AI cargo ships, fishing vessels, ferries, passenger boats, and floatplanes too.  There are river runs to be taken by boat.  And cruises up the fjords.  Many sailplans are available, that make for a beautiful trip up the coastal Alaskan wilderness at water level. ;)

As for making them show up in FSX . . . uh, they should show up fine as long as you:

-Don't have any fs9 traffic files in your FSX directory
-Set "AI airline" and "GA traffic" sliders to at least 1%, and "Ships and Ferries" to 10%.

Oops - WARNING!!!   We are WAY OFF TOPIC here.  We should stick to the topic of the autopilot installation and config for boats, or start a new thread for AI shipping traffic.  We can't do both.
« Last Edit: June 12, 2013, 11:54:30 PM by jeff3163 »

Win10Pro64, P3Dv4.3.29.25520, AMD Ryzen7 1800X@3.6 GHz , 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX 1080 Ti, 1T/1T SSD's for Sims/OS, 3x42" Vizio Monitors, HTC Vive VR HMD, Saitek Yoke/Pedals/trim wheel, XBox360 Controller, G27 steering wheel w/shifter+pedals. :P