Author Topic: Floating buildings at Skagway  (Read 10837 times)

Dragnhorn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 742
  • "Ahhhhh..the smell of black powder in the morning"
    • View Profile
Floating buildings at Skagway
« on: April 25, 2013, 12:38:16 AM »
Hi guys,
  I saw a thread earlier about a fix from Brad (I think) for the floating buildings at Skagway.  I didn't install it yet before checking to see for myself.  Now I see the floating houses and can't find the post about it!  Is there a search function in these forums?   Any help much appreciated.

Rob
Rob Abernathy
aka Dragnhorn

PC specs: 
Intel Quad Core i7 4790k Devil's Canyon (Haswell), 4.0 GHZ, /Gigabyte 87 UD4H 32 GB mother board, 16 GB DDR3 1866MHZ, Nvidia GTX 760 2 GB x 2 SLI, 2 TB 7200RPM HDD, Cpu Liquid Cooling Unit LVL 4, 750W Thermaltake, Windows 7 64 bit

retep49

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • Daily Flightsimmer
    • View Profile

Dragnhorn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 742
  • "Ahhhhh..the smell of black powder in the morning"
    • View Profile
Re: Floating buildings at Skagway
« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2013, 11:53:12 PM »
Thanks Peter.  I read through the posts and will try a couple of things.  I saw Brad mentioned working on something as well.   Stay tuned!     :o
Rob Abernathy
aka Dragnhorn

PC specs: 
Intel Quad Core i7 4790k Devil's Canyon (Haswell), 4.0 GHZ, /Gigabyte 87 UD4H 32 GB mother board, 16 GB DDR3 1866MHZ, Nvidia GTX 760 2 GB x 2 SLI, 2 TB 7200RPM HDD, Cpu Liquid Cooling Unit LVL 4, 750W Thermaltake, Windows 7 64 bit

Bradallen43

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,892
    • View Profile
Re: Floating buildings at Skagway
« Reply #3 on: April 26, 2013, 04:38:17 PM »
Coming soon

corbu1

  • RTMM Team Test Pilot
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2,082
    • View Profile
Re: Floating buildings at Skagway
« Reply #4 on: April 28, 2013, 11:17:30 AM »
Great!!
I also see the Floating buildings at Skagway.


P3Dv5.1HF1,ASP3D,MV WR,FirefighterX,OVRtoolkit,FreeAirMap;RXP GTN
i9 10900K;32GB3600RAM;Strix3090;SSD 970EvoPlus500GB Win10;SSD 970EvoPlus2TB P3D;SSD M2 970EvoPlus2TB XPlane;SSD Sata1TB DCS;HDD 4TB;VR VivePro;HOTASWarthog;Komodo ATPedals

Dragnhorn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 742
  • "Ahhhhh..the smell of black powder in the morning"
    • View Profile
Re: Floating buildings at Skagway
« Reply #5 on: April 29, 2013, 12:06:53 AM »
Ahhhh....thanks Brad.  Let me know if you need a quick test.
Rob Abernathy
aka Dragnhorn

PC specs: 
Intel Quad Core i7 4790k Devil's Canyon (Haswell), 4.0 GHZ, /Gigabyte 87 UD4H 32 GB mother board, 16 GB DDR3 1866MHZ, Nvidia GTX 760 2 GB x 2 SLI, 2 TB 7200RPM HDD, Cpu Liquid Cooling Unit LVL 4, 750W Thermaltake, Windows 7 64 bit

spud

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,082
    • View Profile
Re: Floating buildings at Skagway
« Reply #6 on: April 29, 2013, 09:03:17 AM »
There have been so many reports of floating buildings at Skagway that there has to be a problem of some kind.   :-[  On the ORBX forums the 'official explanation' is that "this is a known FSX anomaly and there is nothing that can be done about it".  What seems strange to me is that if this were true, in my opinion, it would be rather common for everybody in more than just Skagway.   ;)  While FSX 'problems' may be partly at fault I simply do not buy it that floating buildings are common at only one airport.  I think there is more at work and common sense tells me the ORBX scenery used at Skagway must have something in it allowing the FSX problem to manifest itself more than other locations.   :(
As far as opening the Scenery Library and clicking OK to rebuild the scenery database to correct the floating buildings will work it will also cause all the AI shipping to double up and you will see two ship following one another along the AI tracks which is not an option that I think is viable.  >:(
 8)
Later,

Spud

Dragnhorn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 742
  • "Ahhhhh..the smell of black powder in the morning"
    • View Profile
Re: Floating buildings at Skagway
« Reply #7 on: April 30, 2013, 01:41:46 AM »
Spud,
  Have to agree that something is amiss at Skagway in the ORBX scenery.  As for your statement about AI ships doubling up, I've seen that as well.  You can return it to normal by setting your "ships/ferries" slider to 0 and then back to 25-30%.  Not a solution, just a workaround.
Rob Abernathy
aka Dragnhorn

PC specs: 
Intel Quad Core i7 4790k Devil's Canyon (Haswell), 4.0 GHZ, /Gigabyte 87 UD4H 32 GB mother board, 16 GB DDR3 1866MHZ, Nvidia GTX 760 2 GB x 2 SLI, 2 TB 7200RPM HDD, Cpu Liquid Cooling Unit LVL 4, 750W Thermaltake, Windows 7 64 bit

jeff3163

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,867
    • View Profile
Re: Floating buildings at Skagway
« Reply #8 on: April 30, 2013, 02:48:47 AM »
So . . . if you're gonna take pictures at Skagway and don't want floating houses in the shot, just:

turn your AI airline, general, and shipping traffic to 0%
rebuild the scenery library
turn AI traffic settings back up where you want 'em.
Snap the pic.

But when you fly away, then come back the houses will be in the air again.  :'(

Win10Pro64, P3Dv4.3.29.25520, AMD Ryzen7 1800X@3.6 GHz , 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX 1080 Ti, 1T/1T SSD's for Sims/OS, 3x42" Vizio Monitors, HTC Vive VR HMD, Saitek Yoke/Pedals/trim wheel, XBox360 Controller, G27 steering wheel w/shifter+pedals. :P

retep49

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • Daily Flightsimmer
    • View Profile
Re: Floating buildings at Skagway
« Reply #9 on: April 30, 2013, 10:22:24 AM »
I don't have any floating houses at Skagway and I think that the Inserting Points of ORBX scenery is very important. See my screenshots.

Peter



[attachment deleted by admin (size over 300k)]

spud

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,082
    • View Profile
Re: Floating buildings at Skagway
« Reply #10 on: April 30, 2013, 12:45:43 PM »
Peter,
as for the insertion point of ORBX scenery, what your screen shot shows is the ORBX entries and those are never manipulated in the FSX Scenery Library.  ORBX install programs automatically place the ORBX files where they belong.
The insertion point we speak of is strictly to keep the RTMM scenery and library files above ORBX files.  This is necessary or ORBX excludes can wipe out some of the RTMM scenery.  ALL RTMM libraries and scenery locations should always be above the ORBX files.  It is necessary to make an insertion point to keep ORBX below RTMM because each time you use FTX Central to change from default to ORBX or vice versa it will put ORBX at the top if the FSX Scenery Library unless there is an insertion point.  This only has to be done one time though.
 8)
Later,

Spud

Handie

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 605
    • View Profile
Re: Floating buildings at Skagway
« Reply #11 on: May 01, 2013, 06:25:46 AM »
Hello,

I do not have floating houses in Skagway.
For cons, I have a problem with grass texture at Haines and Valdez. The grass texture disappears front the plane as it advances :



Nadine
i7-2600k à 4.5 GHz, Asus P8P67 Pro, Antec TruePower New 750, MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X - 8 Go, 2 VelociRaptor 600 Go, 1 WD 1 To, Corsair Vengeance Series 8 Go PC14900, Noctua NH-D14, Windows 7 ( 64 bits ), écran LG 34" 21:9 2560x1080, P3D v2.4.

stiletto2

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2,033
    • View Profile
Re: Floating buildings at Skagway
« Reply #12 on: May 01, 2013, 07:36:13 AM »
Hi Handie,

The first thing to think about when that kind of problem shows up is did you ever have some other type of scenery installed in that area that changed the terrain from default FSX.  I have seen this problem before when two scenery elements conflict with each other.   One thing to check is to see what shows up in that area if you revert to Default FSX using FTX Central...does just standard old default FSX Terrain show up or does something else show up.  If conflict is just coming from something that changes elevations that might be a bit harder to find. 

The above is only one possibility but it should be checked.

Rod

Handie

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 605
    • View Profile
Re: Floating buildings at Skagway
« Reply #13 on: May 01, 2013, 10:00:37 AM »
Hi Rod,

In this region, I have nothing other than the scenes Orbx, not even UTX or anything like that.
Others have the same problem on the forum Orbx.
Nadine
i7-2600k à 4.5 GHz, Asus P8P67 Pro, Antec TruePower New 750, MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X - 8 Go, 2 VelociRaptor 600 Go, 1 WD 1 To, Corsair Vengeance Series 8 Go PC14900, Noctua NH-D14, Windows 7 ( 64 bits ), écran LG 34" 21:9 2560x1080, P3D v2.4.

Dragnhorn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 742
  • "Ahhhhh..the smell of black powder in the morning"
    • View Profile
Re: Floating buildings at Skagway
« Reply #14 on: May 01, 2013, 10:25:06 AM »
I just went back to Skagway and my floating houses are normal again.  It really must be a glitch in FSX as is reported in various forums.  I was pleased to see these ships leaving port in the early morning though!

Rob Abernathy
aka Dragnhorn

PC specs: 
Intel Quad Core i7 4790k Devil's Canyon (Haswell), 4.0 GHZ, /Gigabyte 87 UD4H 32 GB mother board, 16 GB DDR3 1866MHZ, Nvidia GTX 760 2 GB x 2 SLI, 2 TB 7200RPM HDD, Cpu Liquid Cooling Unit LVL 4, 750W Thermaltake, Windows 7 64 bit