Author Topic: TF20 Gilbert bay elevation problem ?  (Read 1926 times)

altack

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
TF20 Gilbert bay elevation problem ?
« on: January 14, 2013, 06:24:26 PM »
Hi Guys,
this is my very first post in this forum.
I recently discovered Misty Mooring and got hoocked !

I still have a few glitches, one with ridges all along the TF20 Gilbert bay scenery, the other with my plane which keep crashing when trying to go to PF17 Khutze River Lodge but it will be my second post I guess  ;)

Here is a snapshot of what I have when at TF20:


Is it normal (frozen ruts & ridges) or is it elevation problem ?
PS: For the time being my Tongass Fjord scenery is below the FTX insertion point.

Thank you in advance for your help.
Francois

jeff3163

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,616
  • Troubleshooting
    • View Profile
Re: TF20 Gilbert bay elevation problem ?
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2013, 08:43:26 PM »
Hi Francois,
     Welcome to RTMM.  In FSX display settings' scenery tab, put your "mesh resolution" setting to 5.  If it's all the way to the right or even at 2 m, it'll do that.

The pictures are  at 1 m, 2 m, and 5 m respectively:
« Last Edit: January 15, 2013, 12:55:34 AM by jeff3163 »

Win10Pro64, P3Dv4.3.29.25520, AMD Ryzen7 1800X@3.6 GHz , 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX 1080 Ti, 1T/1T SSD's for Sims/OS, 3x42" Vizio Monitors, HTC Vive VR HMD, Saitek Yoke/Pedals/trim wheel, XBox360 Controller, G27 steering wheel w/shifter+pedals. :P

Bradallen43

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,797
    • View Profile
Re: TF20 Gilbert bay elevation problem ?
« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2013, 09:39:08 PM »
Thank you Jeff for that reply on the mesh setting. I can address the crashing at Khutze River and it's something you can control. Turn "Crash Detection" to OFF. The reason you're crashing is because the grasses I placed along the airstrip edge have small, unseen boundaries that may have stuck out onto the airstrip a little bit and if any part of your aircraft touches these hidden boundary edges, you'll crash.

So, turn that setting to off for all of our scenery areas, because this will happen again I'm sure. We do recommend that setting in our readme files I believe, if not there, I know we've mentioned that before somewhere.

Please report back and let us know that these suggestions solved your issues.

Thanks for being interested in RTMM and welcome to the family!

Brad

Fishbone

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 189
    • View Profile
Re: TF20 Gilbert bay elevation problem ?
« Reply #3 on: January 15, 2013, 12:36:06 PM »
Bonjour François, et bienvenue.

Thanks to Jeff and Brad for their quick replies.

Ce ne sont pas des tas de neige, mais en fait des apron links générés par ADE.
En réglant ton mesh à 5 m, comme préconisé par OrbX ( on se cale sur leurs réglages), tout reviendra à la normale, comme le montre le screen de Jeff. Faudra que j'ajoute ça aux futures docs.

Je te souhaite, comme toute l'équipe, de bons vols, dans un climat qui change de l'agréable chaleur de Toulouse.

Xavier

stiletto2

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,773
    • View Profile
Re: TF20 Gilbert bay elevation problem ?
« Reply #4 on: January 15, 2013, 05:44:18 PM »
Welcome, Francois!

I think you will find that the members of this forum are a pretty responsive group.  We like to have fun and provide support to each other as required.  Speaking of fun, I am sure we will be hearing from Spud momentarily on whose turn it is to buy the beer......

Rod

altack

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: TF20 Gilbert bay elevation problem ?
« Reply #5 on: January 15, 2013, 06:22:10 PM »
Thanks to all of you and your quick answers, the scenery is now perfect.
I also disabled the crash detection and now I can enjoy the PF17 area as well !
It is high time to brush up my soft field take-off skills...

Next beer is on me ;-)
Best regards,
Francois
PS: even in Toulouse, France it is winter season : latest LFBO ATIS 5°c Damned !

corbu1

  • RTMM Team Test Pilot
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,882
    • View Profile
Re: TF20 Gilbert bay elevation problem ?
« Reply #6 on: January 15, 2013, 06:51:35 PM »
Hi Francois!
Welcome on RTMM!
There´s a lot of stuff wanted to be discovered here....so take some time looking around and have fun.

Klaus
Regards from Munich, Germany



P3Dv4.5 HF1,OpusFSI,REXSkyForce3D
i76700K 4,5Ghz;16GB RAM;Asus GTX1080;SSD:Evo850 256GB Win10Pro64;Evo850 512GB P3D;HDD:1TB;27" Monitor;HTC VivePRO;HOTAS Warthog;X52;VBS ProAT Pedals;RXP GTN750/650

spud

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,082
    • View Profile
Re: TF20 Gilbert bay elevation problem ?
« Reply #7 on: January 15, 2013, 10:17:21 PM »
Francois,
welcome aboard RTMM, I see most of the usual bases have been covered by earlier posts so I'll just say hello.  HELLO!  Oh yeah Rod did mention about the new guy has to buy the beer so hustle over to Misty's Place and meet us at the bar!  :P
 8)
Later,

Spud

Dragnhorn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 742
  • "Ahhhhh..the smell of black powder in the morning"
    • View Profile
Re: TF20 Gilbert bay elevation problem ?
« Reply #8 on: January 16, 2013, 12:32:10 AM »
Welcome Francois.  Boy, I sure am getting thirsty!    ;D
Rob Abernathy
aka Dragnhorn

PC specs: 
Intel Quad Core i7 4790k Devil's Canyon (Haswell), 4.0 GHZ, /Gigabyte 87 UD4H 32 GB mother board, 16 GB DDR3 1866MHZ, Nvidia GTX 760 2 GB x 2 SLI, 2 TB 7200RPM HDD, Cpu Liquid Cooling Unit LVL 4, 750W Thermaltake, Windows 7 64 bit