Misty Moorings Forums

Return to Misty Moorings (FSX/P3D) => Addon Scenery and Enhancements => Topic started by: Garry on June 25, 2019, 11:20:36 AM

Title: Totem Bight Ops Ctre
Post by: Garry on June 25, 2019, 11:20:36 AM
Hello

An observation:
Just installed TBOC and my plane sinks into the wooden jetty by the hardened ramp as I move closer to the water, i.e., 'close to the edge' [for all you YES fans out there!].
Regards
Josh
Title: Re: Totem Bight Ops Ctre
Post by: ualani on June 25, 2019, 01:19:43 PM
Simple. You obviously aren't resting on a hardened object, or the hardened object was resized when being placed in the scenery. Not a big deal and just a minor, insignificant issue.

Steve
Title: Re: Totem Bight Ops Ctre
Post by: Doug on June 25, 2019, 02:15:29 PM
I'm looking at it in P3D V3 (which is what I use for troubleshooting) ... I'm not seeing a wheels-in-surface problem.  I also checked and the "size" of the objects (wooden ramps) are at "scale=1" meaning the size was not modified I'm not sure what you are seeing, Josh. But look at the "building" ... yours is different than mine. Are you sure this is Totem Bight?  Look in your /scenery folder for the location and tell us what the "version" is you are using, it should say ...

Totem Bight Lodge and Ops Center (Refreshed V2.0-06.15.2019)
Scenery and Story created by Doug Linn

...which would match the location's header on the scenery page.

Doug

Title: Re: Totem Bight Ops Ctre
Post by: ualani on June 25, 2019, 03:00:13 PM
This is why it's important to follow the long time policy of providing the coordinates when posting about scenery issue. Often the coordinates are hard to read in a screenshot, it they're turned on with shift+z, and should be posted in the post.

Steve
Title: Re: Totem Bight Ops Ctre
Post by: Garry on June 25, 2019, 04:11:00 PM
Hello

On the scenery Page,  under 'T',  'Totem Bight Lodge and Ops Center (Refreshed V2.0-06.15.2019)' there are 2 zip buttons, one for default PAKT and one for payware PAKT.

The one I selected is for the payware PAKT: "Totem Bight Payware.zip"

Co-ords: LAT N55deg 23.95' LON W131deg 44.44' - these should put you right in front of the yellow supercub in the 'totem' pic. [Apologies for omitting them in the op]

Yes the building does look different to the screenshot on the scenery page, but because the text states the area had been reconstructed, I thought this was the new look building.

I loaded the flight plan from Misty's Place to Totem in Plan G and this is where it terminates. So if the flight plan is correct, then, yes,  I'm sure it's Totem.


regards
Josh
Title: Re: Totem Bight Ops Ctre
Post by: Doug on June 25, 2019, 04:13:00 PM
Sorry Josh ... I think we should take this one down. I don't have the Payware PAKT, so I can't "work" on this and fix it. That looks like the original I made many years ago, and I think somebody did some updating to make it work with PAKT (I don't remember or know who). So since it doesn't look right and isn't working, I think I'll pull that one down. (I will always say it is too bad that ORBX didn't stay INSIDE the fence when updating these airports ... messing with the surrounding countryside really messes things up for us. The version shows that I had worked on the readme for it, but I sure didn't do anything with the location itself.  We'll take it down.

Doug
Title: Re: Totem Bight Ops Ctre
Post by: Garry on June 25, 2019, 06:40:34 PM
Doug
No problem.

It won't do any harm if I keep it loaded, will it?
The more eye candy the merrier, I say!

Regards
Josh
Title: Re: Totem Bight Ops Ctre
Post by: Doug on June 25, 2019, 07:17:22 PM
Shouldn’t hurt anything. But I’ve taken it off the scenery page. Glad you spotted that.

Doug

Title: Re: Totem Bight Ops Ctre
Post by: Dieter on June 26, 2019, 10:24:05 AM
I wonder why the small "Totem Bight" scenery for Orbx PAKT users has been withdrawn after this  report.
These small snags could be corrected using Instant Scenery within a short time.
One could reduce the hangar size a bit, move it a bit on the ramp, move the objects inside, and then the scenery would be usable again.
Title: Re: Totem Bight Ops Ctre
Post by: Doug on June 26, 2019, 10:26:30 AM
Click on the refreshed date link...reason is in the maintenance log. I don’t have Payware PAKT...so I cannot correct it.
Title: Re: Totem Bight Ops Ctre
Post by: stiletto2 on June 26, 2019, 02:01:06 PM
Let's just suspend it for a few weeks and see if I will then have time to work on it.  What do you think?

Rod
Title: Re: Totem Bight Ops Ctre
Post by: Doug on June 26, 2019, 03:13:57 PM
It was the "original" ... way back, poorly made (by me). I'd rather dump it. What might be interesting is if someone could take the "default" and fix it to work with ORBX PAKT payware. Then they would be more alike, the old one is nothing like the new default one.
Doug
Title: Re: Totem Bight Ops Ctre
Post by: Dieter on June 26, 2019, 04:37:49 PM
"""Let's just suspend it for a few weeks and see if I will then have time to work on it."""

Great offer, Rod.
We are not in a hurry but this small scenery should be reawakened one day.
Title: Re: Totem Bight Ops Ctre
Post by: stiletto2 on June 26, 2019, 07:36:27 PM
Doug,

Recreating a version for PAKT payware that would be more like the non-payware version isn't a bad idea.  It should be doable given time.

Dieter,

Thanks, 

Rod

Title: Re: Totem Bight Ops Ctre
Post by: Doug on June 26, 2019, 07:47:30 PM
One way to "try" it would be (if you had PAKT PAYware) would be to put the default in there. It would have all the objects. Then mess with it in IS3 and get things at the right elevations. If I had the payware I'd try it. I bet that would be the easiest to recreate it.

Doug
Title: Re: Totem Bight Ops Ctre
Post by: stiletto2 on June 26, 2019, 11:43:15 PM
Agreed.

Rod
Title: Re: Totem Bight Ops Ctre
Post by: tomse on June 29, 2019, 09:37:41 AM
With actually downloaded version (V2 06.25.2019) I have no sinking in on the ramps on P3Dv4.5.
While pushing back from the ramp to water she sinks in a little bit. I believe this is not a scenery problem but a system problem because the software has to decide is it water or hardened.
The same thing when entering the ramp, just a little jump on the ramp.
I can live with that.

In FSX/ Acc I have no maintenance hangar...?
Title: Re: Totem Bight Ops Ctre
Post by: Doug on June 29, 2019, 12:40:00 PM
You are correct on the "transition" ... best way is to put wheels down first then approach the ramp. You'll still get a "bump" but not so bad.

Checking this I found a problem that some piers were showing in V3 but not in V4. I replaced those piers and added a couple of float objects ... so there is a new 06.29.2019 version up as of this morning.

But what I don't understand is what you are seeing ... here is what Totem Bight should look like in the new version.  But you are missing a lot of things and other things are there that should not be. Below is what it should look like as of 06.29.2019: (Click on the image to see it bigger)
Title: Re: Totem Bight Ops Ctre
Post by: Bradallen43 on June 29, 2019, 03:52:23 PM
Looks good Doug
Title: Re: Totem Bight Ops Ctre
Post by: Doug on June 29, 2019, 04:00:46 PM
Really strange behavior ... I would put in the new pier, looked fine in V3, then it wouldn't show in V4 (the two white piers sticking out to the left). I put in the new white piers and they showed fine, but the pier along the building disappeared in V4 (which it had not done before). I replaced that with the white piers and finally have a version that looks the same in V3 and V4. I've never seen this before. But it is fixed and working now. Here is the final  image ... the only change is the pier along side of the building, that was changed. Now it all works.
Title: Re: Totem Bight Ops Ctre
Post by: ualani on June 29, 2019, 04:11:52 PM
Doug,
Are you sure that all of your libraries are installed in your ver4 installation? What you are describing shouldn't happen unless LM screwed up the way some objects are handled in ver4. If they did, then I would imagine that there'd be a whole lot of more problems appearing in all of our object libraries and we'd be all screwed going forward.

If things previously appeared in ver4 but now don't, you might want to troubleshoot this issue before you start swapping out one object for another and chase your tail. Just my opinion.

Steve
Title: Re: Totem Bight Ops Ctre
Post by: Doug on June 29, 2019, 04:17:58 PM
Yes, this is really something very different, Steve. I took your suggestion and have my V4 scenery library pointing at my V3 library set ... so they are looking at the same library.

What's interesting is I could take the "disappeared pier" and place it over near Misty's Place and it showed fine ... V3 and V4. But there is something really strange about the Totem Bight location. It always works in V3, but certain objects don't show in V4. (Pretty much as I described). I've never seen this before. I'm convinced it isn't a library problem because I can see the object fine ANYWHERE BUT at Totem Bight. If it were library, then it wouldn't show anywhere. Beats me. Got it working in both with the present configuration.
Title: Re: Totem Bight Ops Ctre
Post by: ualani on June 29, 2019, 04:25:03 PM
Objects showing in one location but not at another doesn't make sense Doug. I'd have an expert like Norm or Jeff verify if those objects don't appear in ver4.

Steve
Title: Re: Totem Bight Ops Ctre
Post by: Doug on June 29, 2019, 04:31:08 PM
Problem is everybody has the PAYWARE PAKT and can't see the problem, because this is for the Default Totem Bight.  That's why I tried to duplicate it by making another test scenery location over near Misty's Place ... but it showed fine in both V3 and V4 ... so the problem is at Totem Bight ... maybe some screwy elevation thing or something? 
Title: Re: Totem Bight Ops Ctre
Post by: ualani on June 29, 2019, 04:35:55 PM
What caused the SDT hangar problem over at Klutina? That's why I was thinking your problem might be related to that one.

Steve
Title: Re: Totem Bight Ops Ctre
Post by: Doug on June 29, 2019, 04:37:51 PM
That was MY problem by not having a scenery library in there correctly. (Remem my email this morning about making it simpler?) So that one I fixed. But the path we had running along the edge of the cliff had to go, it was causing elevation problems along that cliff. So I took that out and moved some objects. That "path" was a "road" and it messes with the terrain. All fixed now.
Title: Re: Totem Bight Ops Ctre
Post by: ualani on June 29, 2019, 04:42:37 PM
OK. Was just trying to cover all bases. Still don't understand ver3 and ver4 object problems.

Steve
Title: Re: Totem Bight Ops Ctre
Post by: jeff3163 on June 29, 2019, 11:54:05 PM
Here's the latest Totem Bight scenery in my P3D v4.3.  Looks ok to me ...  :P

(https://i1130.photobucket.com/albums/m531/jeff3163/MOON/Flight%20Simulator%20X%20Files/2019/Prepar3D%202019-06-29%2018-42-55-22.png)
Title: Re: Totem Bight Ops Ctre
Post by: Doug on June 30, 2019, 08:42:06 AM
Jeff, have you got PAKT payware?

D
Title: Re: Totem Bight Ops Ctre
Post by: jeff3163 on June 30, 2019, 09:12:49 AM
Jeff, have you got PAKT payware?

D

Yes, I do.
Title: Re: Totem Bight Ops Ctre
Post by: Doug on June 30, 2019, 09:16:34 AM
I’ll be darned...so no problems with payware? I can change the warning in the scenery page. Thank you Jeff!

Doug
Title: Re: Totem Bight Ops Ctre
Post by: Garry on July 02, 2019, 11:31:08 AM
Gentlemen,
A  fine job. Thank you.

OK, I'm off to practice my water exits in the Goose!

Regards
Josh