Misty Moorings Forums

Return to Misty Moorings (FSX/P3D) => Prepar3D-Version 4 => Topic started by: MTN1794 on August 22, 2017, 08:21:37 PM

Title: P3D v4 CTD in Tongass Fjords X
Post by: MTN1794 on August 22, 2017, 08:21:37 PM
I installed Tongass Fjords X using online guidelines and it works great alongside the neighboring regions of ORBX too.  Flying the MILVIZ Beaver with tundra tires parked at PAFE (Kake) I notice that when I switched to the outside view and panned around it suddenly froze and CTD (crashed to disk).  I also had CTD when I flew over Kake.  This happened twice in each case when I double-checked to see if it would repeat itself.  When I approached Kake from Hydaburg (HYD) and landed this did not happen; but I stayed in the interior view on final.  Outside of Tongass Fjords X with this aircraft I have had no CTDs.  I have not added anything yet from Misty Moorings to see if I get a CTD also, but I wanted to add to the experience base for P3D v4. 
Title: Re: P3D v4 CTD in Tongass Fjords X
Post by: NeptuneP2V7 on August 22, 2017, 09:21:59 PM
Hi
follow this topic

have a nice day

Patrick
Title: Re: P3D v4 CTD in Tongass Fjords X
Post by: stiletto2 on August 22, 2017, 09:51:45 PM
MTN1794

Patrick may have meant to say:  Have you read through this topic on the changes that need to be made to Tongass Fjords X to avoid CTDs?

The topic is here: http://forum.mistymoorings.com/index.php?topic=3463.0 (http://forum.mistymoorings.com/index.php?topic=3463.0)

Rod
Title: Re: P3D v4 CTD in Tongass Fjords X
Post by: YoYo on August 23, 2017, 08:28:27 AM
Im using TF X in P3Dv4 from two weeks - every day and without any CTD but for sure I used new Rod's files for A.I.
Check this link and update textures for AI: planes and for Bell 206. Will be ok!
Title: Re: P3D v4 CTD in Tongass Fjords X
Post by: NeptuneP2V7 on August 23, 2017, 12:09:51 PM
MTN1794

Patrick may have meant to say:  Have you read through this topic on the changes that need to be made to Tongass Fjords X to avoid CTDs?

The topic is here: http://forum.mistymoorings.com/index.php?topic=3463.0 (http://forum.mistymoorings.com/index.php?topic=3463.0)

Rod

Hi lol ! when i post i'v don't see ...... no paste the url

 ;)
thank Stielleto
Title: Re: P3D v4 CTD in Tongass Fjords X
Post by: nbrich1 on August 23, 2017, 01:29:58 PM
Rods Tongass AI Model fixes on the RTMM P3Dv4 Page:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/vtqaz6ajq2itf77/TFX%20SimObjects%20AI%20Update%20for%20P3Dv4%20V1.1%208-7-17.zip?dl=0 (https://www.dropbox.com/s/vtqaz6ajq2itf77/TFX%20SimObjects%20AI%20Update%20for%20P3Dv4%20V1.1%208-7-17.zip?dl=0)
Title: Re: P3D v4 CTD in Tongass Fjords X
Post by: MTN1794 on August 24, 2017, 03:51:28 PM
Thanks everyone.  I just deleted all 5 TFX AI in the aircraft folder and tested to see if the problem of CTD resolved itself - it did.  Worked great.  I reinstalled the 5 TFX AI back into the P3D v4 aircraft folder and it still worked - no CTD.  Hmm.  I think the unexpected result might be timetable related.  If the AI float plane that caused the CTD was not docked, I can see how this might happen.  I'll keep an eye open.
Title: Re: P3D v4 CTD in Tongass Fjords X
Post by: LouP on August 24, 2017, 06:10:44 PM
You can get the ai planes back if you replace the model files and some textures.  I have all the ai running and no ctd.

LouP
Title: Re: P3D v4 CTD in Tongass Fjords X
Post by: jeff3163 on August 24, 2017, 08:34:45 PM
Thanks everyone.  I just deleted all 5 TFX AI in the aircraft folder and tested to see if the problem of CTD resolved itself - it did.  Worked great.  I reinstalled the 5 TFX AI back into the P3D v4 aircraft folder and it still worked - no CTD.  Hmm.  I think the unexpected result might be timetable related.  If the AI float plane that caused the CTD was not docked, I can see how this might happen.  I'll keep an eye open.

     I am curious as to why you are doing this instead of following the instructions to fix your AI aircraft.  Of course the AI will crash the sim.  That is why Rod issued a fix for us to resolve the issue.  The solution was provided for you in the other thread, the link was provided to take you there. 
     So the question remains ... what are you doing?   ???

Please click on this link to download the fix.  (Please read and follow the included instructions)  ;)
https://www.dropbox.com/s/vtqaz6ajq2itf77/TFX%20SimObjects%20AI%20Update%20for%20P3Dv4%20V1.1%208-7-17.zip?dl=0 (https://www.dropbox.com/s/vtqaz6ajq2itf77/TFX%20SimObjects%20AI%20Update%20for%20P3Dv4%20V1.1%208-7-17.zip?dl=0)

Thank you.
Title: Re: P3D v4 CTD in Tongass Fjords X
Post by: MTN1794 on August 28, 2017, 06:22:50 PM
What am I doing?  I obviously missed the fix and link to it in the preceding.  Thanks for the reminder.
Title: Re: P3D v4 CTD in Tongass Fjords X
Post by: jeff3163 on August 28, 2017, 08:27:33 PM
What am I doing?  I obviously missed the fix and link to it in the preceding.  Thanks for the reminder.

Cool.   8)  I didn't mean to sound harsh.  Sorry for that.  Glad you're on track now.   :)
Title: Re: P3D v4 CTD in Tongass Fjords X
Post by: LouP on August 29, 2017, 08:54:57 AM
Yes, that's good.  It's nice to see the ai working in TF.

LouP
Title: Re: P3D v4 CTD in Tongass Fjords X
Post by: NeptuneP2V7 on August 29, 2017, 05:18:12 PM
Nice  ;)
Title: Re: P3D v4 CTD in Tongass Fjords X
Post by: poppet on November 22, 2017, 05:13:49 AM
MTN1794

Patrick may have meant to say:  Have you read through this topic on the changes that need to be made to Tongass Fjords X to avoid CTDs?

The topic is here: http://forum.mistymoorings.com/index.php?topic=3463.0 (http://forum.mistymoorings.com/index.php?topic=3463.0)

Rod

Hello Rod

I would very much like to add this Information and a link to it into the Guide,  Is this Ok ?
Title: Re: P3D v4 CTD in Tongass Fjords X
Post by: stiletto2 on November 22, 2017, 01:04:07 PM
Hi Elaine,

Sounds good.  Do it.

Rod
Title: Re: P3D v4 CTD in Tongass Fjords X
Post by: poppet on November 22, 2017, 01:31:36 PM
Hello Rod

Great,  Thank you.  I have it up now let me know if you would like to change anything

https://www.avsim.com/forums/topic/491556-installing-tongass-fjords-x-prepar3d-v3-v4/
Title: Re: P3D v4 CTD in Tongass Fjords X
Post by: stiletto2 on November 22, 2017, 03:55:19 PM
Hi Elaine,

It looks good to me.

Rod
Title: Re: P3D v4 CTD in Tongass Fjords X
Post by: poppet on November 23, 2017, 09:05:22 AM
Hello

Off Topic............

I didn't want to create another Tongass Fjords topic as there are a couple on the go already so I thought I would ask my question here,  If that's ok

I haven't Installed Tongass in over a year so I got it up and running last night,  The last time I Installed it I used my own guide by copying and pasting the required files over and manually editing the terrain.cfg file.  This works of course but I could never get the Tongass Control Panel to work correctly so I just left it,  It was only a small thing but still it would of been nice to have it back then

Last night I popped a FSX key into the registry editor and moved my terrain.cfg file into my core Prepar3D v4 folder.  I then ran the Tongass Installer and now the default Install path was my Prepar3D v4 folder.  It Installed all the files into the correct folders for me and my terrain.cfg file was good as well,  So i moved this file back again to ProgramData,  Launched Prepar3D and added my Scenery in manually, I like to do this manually.  Launched and tested and all was good

I noticed now my Tongass control panel is now working as it does in FSX,  It needs to see that FSX key to launch and work correctly.

I confirmed it worked by launching the Control Panel and Un-ticking the option for Static boats in Sitka it moved the .BGL file in question from the Tongass_Fjords_Higher_Priority folder and popped it in the FSAddon\Tongass_Fjords\Cache folder.   I confirmed it in the sim as well

So i guess my question is.......

Do you guys use the Tongass Control Panel for Prepar3D, And If so how are you's using it,  through manipulating registry keys from FSX ?  Or do you's have a different way ?  Or does it just work for you by default ?

Thank you
Title: Re: P3D v4 CTD in Tongass Fjords X
Post by: dexthom on November 23, 2017, 09:42:15 AM
Hi Elaine, I have access to the Tongass Fjords control panel.  I went to:
Prepar3d v4\FSAddon\Tongass_Fjords and execute the file: TongassFjords FSX and the control panel
operates.  I assume that FSX is still in my registry from the times that I use to spoof FSX installers.
Title: Re: P3D v4 CTD in Tongass Fjords X
Post by: xxd09 on November 23, 2017, 01:23:55 PM
Hi Poppet
Tongass installed as per your tutorial
I noticed that that the Control Panel appeared during FS AddOn Tongass Installation into P3Dv4.1
All the categories I wanted were ticked
I closed it
All AI planes operate-boats as well
I presume it operated by default
xxd09
Title: Re: P3D v4 CTD in Tongass Fjords X
Post by: xxd09 on November 23, 2017, 01:50:56 PM
Hi
Retrieved Tongass Control panel via dexthom method  in P3Dv4.1
Removed Cruise Liner at Sitka Harbour “ Vandeem “via Control Panel
Boat now not present in Sitka Harbour
Retrieved Control Panel again and “ticked” Vandeem box
The boat has now reappeared at Sitka Harbour
xxd09

Title: Re: P3D v4 CTD in Tongass Fjords X
Post by: stiletto2 on November 23, 2017, 11:49:33 PM
 I installed TFX into a clean computer that never had FSX installed.   I am unable to execute the control panel.  I did not pop the FSX Registry in though since I did not have a quick and easy way of doing it.

Rod 
Title: Re: P3D v4 CTD in Tongass Fjords X
Post by: Penzoil3 on November 24, 2017, 03:47:16 AM
 8)
Try the FSX Registry Utility found at this link   https://www.tweakfs.com/store/free_tools.php
Title: Re: P3D v4 CTD in Tongass Fjords X
Post by: xxd09 on November 24, 2017, 12:46:49 PM
Hi
Sorry-should have mentioned that I have a functioning FSX setup on my computer
xxd09
PS I also have a functioning P3Dv3.4 setup
Loth to remove these two aforementioned flight sim setups as they all seem to interact in various ways beyond my ken with the P3Dv4 OS! Luckily I have plenty of hard discs and hard disc space.
xxd09
Title: Re: P3D v4 CTD in Tongass Fjords X
Post by: Doug on November 24, 2017, 02:23:51 PM
By the way Poppet (Elaine) ... thank you for that great installation "how to" you posted. I've linked to it in our Tongass Installation in our new "Getting Started/Installation" page. Linking to that fine body of work saved us a lot of words! Well done. Thank you.

Doug/RTMM
Title: Re: P3D v4 CTD in Tongass Fjords X
Post by: dexthom on November 25, 2017, 09:33:58 AM
After you get your Tongass in P3Dv4, you can move the flights from the Cache folder to your Documents\Prepar3D v4\Files folder.  You can edit the FLT files in notepad to change the aircraft or
just start the flight and pause to change the aircraft.  You can rediscover all the scenic places in Tongass
that you have forgotten about.
Title: Re: P3D v4 CTD in Tongass Fjords X
Post by: poppet on November 28, 2017, 02:25:20 AM
Thank you for the replies guys.

That's a great Tip Dexter i will have to try that.   

Title: Re: P3D v4 CTD in Tongass Fjords X
Post by: poppet on November 28, 2017, 02:28:06 AM
By the way Poppet (Elaine) ... thank you for that great installation "how to" you posted. I've linked to it in our Tongass Installation in our new "Getting Started/Installation" page. Linking to that fine body of work saved us a lot of words! Well done. Thank you.

Doug/RTMM

Hello Doug

No problem at all and Thank you.    I enjoyed putting it together,  Its a really Interesting scenery package.
Title: Re: P3D v4 CTD in Tongass Fjords X
Post by: DocScott on November 30, 2017, 12:27:45 AM
Hi to all!

Sorry for the following question,but:

Can I go to a special place in Tongass Fjords,to seethat it is installed correctly?
Is it to be seen by not seing trees where water should be.
Sorry for my english.

Regards,

Scott
Title: Re: P3D v4 CTD in Tongass Fjords X
Post by: dexthom on November 30, 2017, 07:29:42 AM
The trees in the water is probably caused by a corrupt terrain config file.   
Title: Re: P3D v4 CTD in Tongass Fjords X
Post by: Doug on November 30, 2017, 08:07:32 AM
Trees in the water? Go to Step Table #5 on the Installation/Getting Start Page ... that is the area that discusses installing Tongass X. There are two things there that could help you. Notice the "trees in the water" problem ... you can go to our FAQ page and see pictures of Wrangel and compare to what you've got. 

There is a fix for this on the faq page, but Poppet has also discussed the fix in her "Installing Tongass Fjords X into Prepar3D V3 and V4". In the top section it is discussed.

Let us know if this helps.

Doug
Title: Re: P3D v4 CTD in Tongass Fjords X
Post by: DocScott on November 30, 2017, 09:40:58 AM
Hi !

Thanks for the quick answer.But I meant,when I am seeing the sea,where it should be,
that is no proof for Tongass Fjords to  be installed.Can I go to a special place,that would proof that TF is installed?

Scott
Title: Re: P3D v4 CTD in Tongass Fjords X
Post by: dexthom on November 30, 2017, 06:42:34 PM
Go to Sitka and have a look...
Title: Re: P3D v4 CTD in Tongass Fjords X
Post by: Doug on November 30, 2017, 06:50:15 PM
Send us a picture of something YOU have that is unique. We'll grab a screen shot of the same place (if you give us lat/long) and you can compare.

Doug
Title: Re: P3D v4 CTD in Tongass Fjords X
Post by: jeff3163 on November 30, 2017, 08:08:54 PM
Hi DocScott,
     Yes, go to Sitka and take a look at the airport area, and the marina behind it.  Look for AI cruise ships in the open water area southwest of PASI.  There will be AI TFX aircraft flying around too, if you've got them turned on.  Take some screenshots of the area and post em here.  If you've got the TFX Higher and lower elements in your scenery config (below FTX), you are most likely seeing TFX correctly in your sim.   ;)
Title: Re: P3D v4 CTD in Tongass Fjords X
Post by: DocScott on December 01, 2017, 10:48:09 AM
Thanks guys!

Here are three  shots from Sitka
(https://picload.org/image/drigairl/no.589.jpg)

(https://picload.org/image/drigaira/no.590.jpg)

(https://picload.org/image/drigairr/no.591.jpg)

Should be alright,or?

Scott
Title: Re: P3D v4 CTD in Tongass Fjords X
Post by: rgerdes on December 01, 2017, 12:19:38 PM
Looks correct to me...
Bob
Title: Re: P3D v4 CTD in Tongass Fjords X
Post by: jeff3163 on December 01, 2017, 01:57:54 PM
Looks correct to me...
Bob

Yep!   ;)
Title: Re: P3D v4 CTD in Tongass Fjords X
Post by: Doc_Z on December 03, 2017, 01:02:40 PM
I was looking at my terrain.cfg and noticed that the 40Tongass entries are qbove the ORBX entries.  In Elaine's installation procedure, she has the 40 entries put at the end of the terrain.cfg file.  Is my terrain.cfg file OK with the ORBX entries below the Tongass entries?
Title: Re: P3D v4 CTD in Tongass Fjords X
Post by: spud on December 03, 2017, 01:19:48 PM
ORBX recommends that Tongass Fjords X be placed below ORBX/FTX entries for FSX.  Chart from the ORBX guide.


Title: Re: P3D v4 CTD in Tongass Fjords X
Post by: jeff3163 on December 03, 2017, 01:38:13 PM
He's referring to the terrain.cfg edit, Spud.  They go at the bottom, and renumbered accordingly.   ;)
Title: Re: P3D v4 CTD in Tongass Fjords X
Post by: Doc_Z on December 03, 2017, 02:28:30 PM
I don't see any problems with the way things look in the sim, but maybe I should re-arrange the terrain.cfg.

Spud, I have the scenery library in correct order, i.e. Tongass below ORBX/FTX.
Title: Re: P3D v4 CTD in Tongass Fjords X
Post by: jeff3163 on December 03, 2017, 04:18:03 PM
I don't think it matters where in the terrain.cfg the TFX entries are, as long as the number sequence and final tally are correct.  ;)

"If it ain't broke ..."  ???
Title: Re: P3D v4 CTD in Tongass Fjords X
Post by: Doc_Z on December 03, 2017, 05:39:11 PM
Numbers are fine.
Title: Re: P3D v4 CTD in Tongass Fjords X
Post by: stiletto2 on December 03, 2017, 10:17:27 PM
Jeff is correct.   

Rod