Misty Moorings Forums

Return to Misty Moorings (FSX/P3D) => DX10 and Prepar3D Discussions => Topic started by: Bradallen43 on March 16, 2015, 08:48:55 PM

Title: Fatal Error everytime starting P3D 2.5 now
Post by: Bradallen43 on March 16, 2015, 08:48:55 PM
 :-[

Can't get P3D to even start now and I'm stumped. The last thing I did was fly in the sim from PAGS to PASI. I parked and saved the flight as the default flight and now I get a fatal error every time I try to start P3D.

C:\Users\Brad Allen\AppData\Roaming\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v2\Prepar3D.cfg.txt
  C:\Users\Brad Allen\AppData\Roaming\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v2\dxdiag.txt
  C:\Users\Brad Allen\AppData\Roaming\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v2\fdr.dat
  C:\Users\Brad Allen\AppData\Roaming\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v2\dll.xml
  C:\Users\Brad Allen\AppData\Local\Temp\WER2D56.tmp.WERInternalMetadata.xml
  C:\Users\Brad Allen\AppData\Local\Temp\WER43B4.tmp.appcompat.txt
  C:\Users\Brad Allen\AppData\Local\Temp\WER44ED.tmp.mdmp

Why? I'm getting to the point where my patience with this platform is near it's end. Endless re-installs, fatal errors, tweaks, patches, non-working software, BS !!!!!! I'm over this crap. I have hardly enough time to fly anymore because when I do finally have a little time, it's not even loading anymore because I have to try and fix something else that's now gone astray. Trees in the water, AI that doesn't work,  wakes on ships that are pink or ride half the way up the hull, or etc......

Title: Re: Fatal Error everytime starting P3D 2.5 now
Post by: jsapair on March 16, 2015, 09:08:29 PM
Other than that how are you liking it? Sorry Brad, couldn't resist. But that's exactly why a lot of us just sit on the sidelines and watch the evolution of P3D through you guys' experiences.
                                        JJ
Title: Re: Fatal Error everytime starting P3D 2.5 now
Post by: stiletto2 on March 16, 2015, 09:32:14 PM
Hi Brad,

Did you try removing the Prepar3D.cfg (after saving it) and let P3D rebuild it when it starts.   That would certainly take the saved default flight out of the mix just in case.

Rod
Title: Re: Fatal Error everytime starting P3D 2.5 now
Post by: jeff3163 on March 16, 2015, 10:26:31 PM
I would delete the contents of my shader cache, check the "event viewer" for any clues, delete the entry for the "saved flight" in the Prepar3D.CFG file, and load a "lowest settings" configuration after a major crash.  ;)

???((Please STOP re-installing the program.)) ???
Title: Re: Fatal Error everytime starting P3D 2.5 now
Post by: NeptuneP2V7 on March 17, 2015, 07:13:13 AM
YEp Bradallen43
 just change the save flight to another. replaced by a new flight similar with another $ backup, if you want .  and the error get away  ;)
if something change P3D  the fact you know  ::)

Patrick
Title: Re: Fatal Error everytime starting P3D 2.5 now
Post by: av8erjm on March 17, 2015, 09:59:45 AM
burn it at the stake, for it's faults at least I  can spend most of my time flying in FSX
Title: Re: Fatal Error everytime starting P3D 2.5 now
Post by: Bradallen43 on March 17, 2015, 07:31:27 PM
Yes I agree. I'm not going to debate the merits or problems with either sim anymore. To each their own. For me, right now, I'm going to re-visit FSX and even have a go with the DX10 mode that I've never messed with. Today, I had a day off and after cooling off from last nights meltdown, I installed FSX and Acceleration today and the ORBX regions we use.

I flew with great smoothness on my machine, no hesitations, no shipping with elevated or discolored wakes, AI traffic that actually worked as intended, Instant Scenery that works as designed, and while there are shortcomings with the platform, it did what I asked with minimal fuss and bother.

So, I'm sticking with FSX at the moment and hope all of you have a happy St. Patricks Day.

Brad
Title: Re: Fatal Error everytime starting P3D 2.5 now
Post by: av8erjm on March 17, 2015, 08:04:47 PM
As I say every St Paddy's day who is this Erin woman that what's to go braless
Title: Re: Fatal Error everytime starting P3D 2.5 now
Post by: NeptuneP2V7 on March 18, 2015, 04:40:16 AM
Thanks Brad, av8erjm

Patrick
Title: Re: Fatal Error everytime starting P3D 2.5 now
Post by: spud on March 18, 2015, 02:05:50 PM
Brad,
welcome back from the "dark side"!  Glad your still plunking away with the rest of us old farts.
 8)
Title: Re: Fatal Error everytime starting P3D 2.5 now
Post by: Bradallen43 on March 19, 2015, 11:09:02 PM
 :-[ Well I tried to just install FSX and I am unable to report a positive experience with it. The autogen loading in front of the aircraft is so noticeable now after flying in P3D for a year. It's so distracting. I'm going to have to hold off on making this my go to solution.  :'(
More work is needed on P3D for me. I have some time to mull my decision.
Brad
Title: Re: Fatal Error everytime starting P3D 2.5 now
Post by: NeptuneP2V7 on March 20, 2015, 01:51:04 AM
Hi Brad, do you make a copy/Paste  the Scenery.cfg by the safe Scenery.cfg in ProgramData \LM \Prepared 3D ?
and also i don't understand why you have an error in APPDATA\LOCAL\TEMP ??

Patrick