Author Topic: Stopping the Cessna U206G Soloy MK1 on water?  (Read 375 times)

bawheeler

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
    • View Profile
Stopping the Cessna U206G Soloy MK1 on water?
« on: December 25, 2018, 11:11:20 AM »
I am having difficulty stopping the Cessna U206G Soloy MK1 on water (current Thomas Roehl version). Only thing that seems to work is killing the engine completely.  On the DHC2 I coast to a stop no problem but can keep engine running. Ideas? Brian
MFC0074 -- Dell Alienware Aurora R7, Win10Home64, P3Dv4.4.16.27077, 3.7GHz Intel Core i7 8700K, 16GB RAM, Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti, CH Eclipse yoke/pedals/throttle, ActiveSky, ChasePlane, TerraFlora, Ultimate Traffic Live, Pro ATC X, FlightSim Commander 9

jeff3163

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,563
  • Troubleshooting
    • View Profile
Re: Stopping the Cessna U206G Soloy MK1 on water?
« Reply #1 on: December 25, 2018, 04:50:59 PM »
Hi Brian,
     I've found that leaning the fuel mixture to idle, just above cutoff does it for me.  Not sure about your particular aircraft, but give it a try.  Lean out the mixture when taxiing.   ;)   ... and Merry Christmas.  8)

Win10Pro64, P3Dv4.3.29.25520, AMD Ryzen7 1800X@3.6 GHz , 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX 1080 Ti, 1T/1T SSD's for Sims/OS, 3x42" Vizio Monitors, HTC Vive VR HMD, Saitek Yoke/Pedals/trim wheel, XBox360 Controller, G27 steering wheel w/shifter+pedals. :P

Penzoil3

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 496
    • View Profile
Re: Stopping the Cessna U206G Soloy MK1 on water?
« Reply #2 on: December 25, 2018, 05:33:48 PM »
 8)


Open the aircraft.cfg  file  with notepad. These 3 lines -
prop_reverse_available = 1 //jdl, minimum_on_ground_beta = 1 // jdl and
minimum_reverse_beta = -14 // jdl are already there, you are replacing them. Delete them and copy/paste these 4 lines in their place. Save the file. (aircraft.cfg.)  That's it - voila! - F2  stops the plane !

prop_reverse_available = 1 //jdl
minimum_on_ground_beta = 1 // jdl
minimum_reverse_beta = -14 // jdl
rotation = 1 // jdl

  Sue
« Last Edit: December 26, 2018, 03:04:11 AM by Penzoil3 »

Dieter

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 856
    • View Profile
Re: Stopping the Cessna U206G Soloy MK1 on water?
« Reply #3 on: December 26, 2018, 04:40:40 AM »
The original Cessna U206G Soloy MK1 has no reverse thrust. Therefore Thomas Roehl didn't realize this feature.
I wonder why you don't use his latest model "Cessna T206H Soloy MK2" which has reverse.

Download:
https://flusiboard.de/filebase/index.php?file/88-flightport-cessna-t206h-soloy-mark-2-f%C3%BCr-p3dv4/
https://flusiboard.de/filebase/index.php?download/113/
https://www.rikoooo.com/downloads/viewdownload/57/885
Many greetings
Dieter

Intel(r) Core(TM) i7-7700K CPU 4,5 GHz - MSI Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080 - RAM 16GB - 3 SSD each 500GB - 1 HD 1TB - Win10 Pro 64 bit - P3Dv4.4 - Thrustmaster Hotas Warthog - CH Pedals

bawheeler

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
    • View Profile
Re: Stopping the Cessna U206G Soloy MK1 on water?
« Reply #4 on: December 26, 2018, 09:58:44 AM »
Thanks Dieter. I originally downloaded that model.  When I ran the installer it seemed to finish completely but no aircraft folders were created and the plane wasn't visible in P3D. The install for the U206G Soloy MK1 did work as expected.  I'll make the adjustments Sue suggested but would be interested in any install tips for the newer plane w/ reverse thrust too.  Brian
MFC0074 -- Dell Alienware Aurora R7, Win10Home64, P3Dv4.4.16.27077, 3.7GHz Intel Core i7 8700K, 16GB RAM, Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti, CH Eclipse yoke/pedals/throttle, ActiveSky, ChasePlane, TerraFlora, Ultimate Traffic Live, Pro ATC X, FlightSim Commander 9

Dieter

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 856
    • View Profile
Re: Stopping the Cessna U206G Soloy MK1 on water?
« Reply #5 on: December 27, 2018, 04:55:01 AM »
Did you choose the correct version?
There are two versions available:
- Flightport Cessna T206H Soloy Mark 2 for P3D v4+
and
- Flightport Cessna T206H Soloy Mark 2 for FSX and P3D v1-v3
Many greetings
Dieter

Intel(r) Core(TM) i7-7700K CPU 4,5 GHz - MSI Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080 - RAM 16GB - 3 SSD each 500GB - 1 HD 1TB - Win10 Pro 64 bit - P3Dv4.4 - Thrustmaster Hotas Warthog - CH Pedals

bawheeler

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
    • View Profile
Re: Stopping the Cessna U206G Soloy MK1 on water?
« Reply #6 on: January 02, 2019, 09:46:45 PM »
To close the loop on this (and document for others)... Sue's recommendations greatly improved the U206G Soloy MK1. 

I had a second airplane install fail from Rikoooo and that got me searching for a fix.  I tried to install the Icon A5 and like the T206H Soloy Mark 2 it was not visible in P3D.  I determined it was installing files in the Program Files (x86) directory and not where my P3D primary installation is located.  Switching both the Icon A5 and the  T206H to MANUAL INSTALL and specifying my directory did the trick.  Brian
MFC0074 -- Dell Alienware Aurora R7, Win10Home64, P3Dv4.4.16.27077, 3.7GHz Intel Core i7 8700K, 16GB RAM, Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti, CH Eclipse yoke/pedals/throttle, ActiveSky, ChasePlane, TerraFlora, Ultimate Traffic Live, Pro ATC X, FlightSim Commander 9