Author Topic: Red Heading Bug missing from my Beaver X transition to P3D4  (Read 677 times)

Jezz006

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Red Heading Bug missing from my Beaver X transition to P3D4
« on: October 18, 2018, 01:17:02 AM »
Greetings,
I used the threads on transitioning the Beaver X to P3D4 and everything went well, except there is no Red Heading Bug on the Instrument Panel so that I can use it to correctly set the auto-pilot when I want to.
The control Knob still shifts the compass left and right, and interestingly the mouse wheel also does this which I don't recall from FSX days.

Any help in getting this gauge to show correctly would be greatly appreciated,

Yours in Appreciation,

Jezz006
Jezz006
P3D4 on Windows 10 Home 64Bit
Intel Core i7 8700K
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 1080 Ti AMP! Edition, 11GB Graphics
16 GB of Ram on Motherboard - ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G
1TB SSD Drive

Dieter

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 777
    • View Profile
Re: Red Heading Bug missing from my Beaver X transition to P3D4
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2018, 03:09:14 AM »
Did you try:
http://forum.mistymoorings.com/index.php?topic=3689.0

« Reply #9 by jeff3163

By activating "Cockpit ToolTips" the heading will be displayed.
« Last Edit: October 18, 2018, 04:54:23 AM by Dieter »

Jezz006

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Red Heading Bug missing from my Beaver X transition to P3D4
« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2018, 08:38:27 PM »
Hi Dieter,

Thanks for your reply.
My Panel.cfg is the same as the one in jeff3163's post except I added

gauge17=dsd_p3d_xml_Sound_x64!Sound, 0, 0, 0, 0, .\Gauges\CockpitSounds\CockpitSounds.ini
gauge18=CockpitSounds!KeyEvent_SND, 0, 0, 1, 0

for the sound, following the advice from

http://www.sim-outhouse.com/sohforums/showthread.php/107087-Aerosoft-Beaver-P3DV4-Panel-Merge

I tried the Panel.cfg without these two gauges but it did not fix the bug heading problem.

Also enabled "Cockpit ToolTips" in P3D4 settings but not sure where/how the heading is displayed?
At present if I take off and engage the autopilot it turns the plane round 180 degrees.

Yours in Appreciation,

Jezz006

Jezz006
P3D4 on Windows 10 Home 64Bit
Intel Core i7 8700K
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 1080 Ti AMP! Edition, 11GB Graphics
16 GB of Ram on Motherboard - ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G
1TB SSD Drive

Dieter

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 777
    • View Profile
Re: Red Heading Bug missing from my Beaver X transition to P3D4
« Reply #3 on: October 23, 2018, 04:56:21 AM »
Your problem might be solved by using the standard P3D heading indicator.

Try following change in the panel.cfg:

[Vcockpit01]
...
//gauge06=DeHavilland_Beaver_DHC2!dg , 116,119,108,108
gauge06=Cessna!Heading_Indicator, 116,119,108,108

BTW:
The Aerosoft Beaver is about 10 years old now (or more) and the flight dynamics/FDE are totally outdated and far away from realistic!!!
Did you ever fly an A2A aircraft  like a Cessna or a Commanche, then you will know what I mean. You have to take care of engine managment and many other aspects of flying.
So why not trying the MilViz DHC-2 Beaver when there is a special cheap selling at MilViz.

dbutterf

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Re: Red Heading Bug missing from my Beaver X transition to P3D4
« Reply #4 on: October 23, 2018, 06:37:21 AM »
Your problem might be solved by using the standard P3D heading indicator.

Try following change in the panel.cfg:

[Vcockpit01]
...
//gauge06=DeHavilland_Beaver_DHC2!dg , 116,119,108,108
gauge06=Cessna!Heading_Indicator, 116,119,108,108


Thanks for this Dieter. I have suffered a looong time without this  :o
Dayle
P3D v4 WIN 10 Pro i5-4670 CPU @ 3.4GHz 16GB RAM NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080

Jezz006

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Red Heading Bug missing from my Beaver X transition to P3D4
« Reply #5 on: October 24, 2018, 04:00:38 AM »
Hey ... many thanks Dieter that worked a treat  ;D

Have bookmarked the MilViz site and will lookout for their Beaver when it's on sale.

Really appreciate your assistance and advice.
Going to P3D4 is fantastic even though it does throw up a few challenges with some of my old software.
Having the help of this Forum and Misty Moorer's makes the whole experience so much more satisfying and enjoyable.

Best Wishes,

Jezz006
Jezz006
P3D4 on Windows 10 Home 64Bit
Intel Core i7 8700K
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 1080 Ti AMP! Edition, 11GB Graphics
16 GB of Ram on Motherboard - ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G
1TB SSD Drive