Author Topic: Scenery Season Switcher  (Read 414 times)

stiletto2

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,532
    • View Profile
Re: Scenery Season Switcher
« Reply #15 on: November 23, 2017, 11:42:33 PM »
Hi Steve,

Microsoft does a lot of things that make no sense like breaking P3Dv3 when they released an update.  Unfortunately, since I can't duplicate your error, I am unsure of the next step.  I will do some research and see if I can find anything else that might be causing you the problem.

Rod

BBQSteve

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
    • View Profile
Re: Scenery Season Switcher
« Reply #16 on: November 24, 2017, 08:46:38 AM »
Thanks, but don't take up your time for my problem. I had a few other programs that didn't run also (Active Sky p3d4) but setting compatibility to W8 worked for them. Thought AVAST may have also been the problem, but they are all in the exception lst.

Thanks again.

Lipra

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
    • View Profile
Re: Scenery Season Switcher
« Reply #17 on: November 25, 2017, 08:19:40 AM »
I have the same problem. avast free anti virus was showing the following malware entries

 trz 8d4f.tmp
idp.generic.if72dccc34of.3.2
win 32:maleware.gen [trj]
I have deleted avast and still get the same.

I hope this may be of help

This is for fsx install
« Last Edit: November 25, 2017, 08:29:25 AM by Lipra »

BBQSteve

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
    • View Profile
Re: Scenery Season Switcher
« Reply #18 on: December 20, 2017, 10:12:34 AM »
Having thought some more on the problem, I have a couple more questions.

1. I have renamed all my MM scenery as RTMM ..... Like "RTMM Yes Bay Lodge" when the scenery switcher looks for files, does it just look in all the directories for a set of specific files, or does it look in specific directories for specific files.

2. the name of the executable is "RTMM Season Switcher v3.3.exe" if I enter that the command interpreter errors with "RTMM not a known executable, batch,....." After thinking about this, shouldn't the file be named "RTMM_Season_Switcher_v3.3.exe"

I know, like most all of you, I had it working. I even have a season text file that says winter. Just throwing things out there.

Lipra

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
    • View Profile
Re: Scenery Season Switcher
« Reply #19 on: January 12, 2018, 11:34:34 AM »
I had a half hour to spare and had a play. I tried the switcher on my game pc and it failed so I then transferred my rtmm folder via drop box to my laptop . I then ran the switcher no problem if you have a spare pc / laptop this may be some help. I did check that at lest one of the arears changed from winter to no season and back
« Last Edit: January 12, 2018, 11:36:08 AM by Lipra »

stiletto2

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,532
    • View Profile
Re: Scenery Season Switcher
« Reply #20 on: January 12, 2018, 12:56:32 PM »
Having thought some more on the problem, I have a couple more questions.

1. I have renamed all my MM scenery as RTMM ..... Like "RTMM Yes Bay Lodge" when the scenery switcher looks for files, does it just look in all the directories for a set of specific files, or does it look in specific directories for specific files.

2. the name of the executable is "RTMM Season Switcher v3.3.exe" if I enter that the command interpreter errors with "RTMM not a known executable, batch,....." After thinking about this, shouldn't the file be named "RTMM_Season_Switcher_v3.3.exe"

I know, like most all of you, I had it working. I even have a season text file that says winter. Just throwing things out there.

Sorry I missed this post during the holiday season.  Here are the answers to your two questions.

1.  The switcher looks at a specific set of folders.  The set of folders to be interrogated includes the folder you put the switcher in and all of its sub folders (children).

2.  The underscores that you suggest for the file name used to be a requirement with some of the older operating systems that didn't want spaces in the file name but the elimination of spaces hasn't been required for quite awhile.

Rod