Author Topic: RTMM sounds in P3Dv4  (Read 689 times)

jeff3163

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,001
  • Troubleshooting & Help
    • View Profile
Re: RTMM sounds in P3Dv4
« Reply #15 on: August 04, 2017, 07:39:59 AM »
     I installed Dex's sounds package for Misty's according to the included readme, to be sure I had the required files in place for v4.  I DO have other sounds, just not the RTMM sounds.  I hear my plane sounds and ATC traffic.

Edit:  I fired up my sim while eating breakfast.  I am hearing seagulls and the faint sound of music in the background.  It is 5:24am.  I'm guessing a reboot of the sim was in order, after placing those files.   ;)
« Last Edit: August 04, 2017, 08:24:47 AM by jeff3163 »

:P Win10Pro64, P3Dv4 ;) , AMD Ryzen7 1800X@4.0 GHz ;) , 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX 1080 Ti ;) , 1T/1T SSD's for Sims/OS, 3x42" Vizio Monitors, HTC Vive VR HMD, Saitek Yoke/Pedals/trim wheel, XBox360 Controller, G27 steering wheel w/shifter+pedals

Dieter

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 663
    • View Profile
Re: RTMM sounds in P3Dv4
« Reply #16 on: August 04, 2017, 11:02:31 AM »
Quote
Dex's sounds package
Hmm, did I miss anything?
I've got the necessary sound files (fx, wav,bgl) from the RTMM sceneries which provided sounds.

jeff3163

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,001
  • Troubleshooting & Help
    • View Profile
Re: RTMM sounds in P3Dv4
« Reply #17 on: August 04, 2017, 03:59:21 PM »
Does the "mistys_place_sound_service_pack_1.zip" ring a bell? ???  That is what I am referring to.  The link is provided next to the download link for Misty's Place.   ;)

http://return.mistymoorings.com/scenery/zipfiles/mistys_place/mistys_place_sound_service_%20pack_1.zip

Quote
This package will add sounds to the Misty's Place scenery.
Follow these steps to install:

STEP 1:

FROM YOUR MISTY PLACE SCENERY FOLDER, DELETE THE FOLLOWING FILES:

1.  misty_cabin_camp_fire_fsx.bgl
2.  misty_cabin_gulls_fsx.bgl
3.  misty_cabin_wind_fsx.bgl
4.  misty_light_gulls_fsx.bgl

STEP 2:

1.  Unzip this package to a temp folder.
2.  Copy the *.bgl files to your Misty's Place Scenery Folder
3.  Copy the *.wav files to FSX\Sound Folder, Overwrite old files when asked.
3.  Copy the *.fx files to the FSX\Effects Folder

Some of the sounds are active during the 24 hour period, others are only active during the day and
others at night. 

This package was compiled by Dexter Thomas for the Misty Moorings freeware addon.

:P Win10Pro64, P3Dv4 ;) , AMD Ryzen7 1800X@4.0 GHz ;) , 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX 1080 Ti ;) , 1T/1T SSD's for Sims/OS, 3x42" Vizio Monitors, HTC Vive VR HMD, Saitek Yoke/Pedals/trim wheel, XBox360 Controller, G27 steering wheel w/shifter+pedals

Dieter

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 663
    • View Profile
Re: RTMM sounds in P3Dv4
« Reply #18 on: August 05, 2017, 01:54:56 AM »
Oh, sorry, was some kind of blind, yes of course I have that package installed and it works well.

knswee

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
Re: RTMM sounds in P3Dv4
« Reply #19 on: August 05, 2017, 10:22:37 AM »
Must have been interrupted when doing the install. Put the .bgl files where they were supposed to go , but did not finish with the .wav and .fx files.
Geesh...brain fart for sure.
All working now, thanks for reminder.

ken

ualani

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,288
    • View Profile
Re: RTMM sounds in P3Dv4
« Reply #20 on: August 05, 2017, 03:06:18 PM »
I hate it when that happens!

jeff3163

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,001
  • Troubleshooting & Help
    • View Profile
Re: RTMM sounds in P3Dv4
« Reply #21 on: August 05, 2017, 03:51:21 PM »
Sounds, I don't even have buildings! I have Misty's Place signs, but there's nothing under them ! P3D3, or P3D4.
 Sue
 OK, library problem fixed now, but no sounds. Have to work on that. LOL

How ya doing, Sue?  Did you get your sound working yet?  ???

:P Win10Pro64, P3Dv4 ;) , AMD Ryzen7 1800X@4.0 GHz ;) , 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX 1080 Ti ;) , 1T/1T SSD's for Sims/OS, 3x42" Vizio Monitors, HTC Vive VR HMD, Saitek Yoke/Pedals/trim wheel, XBox360 Controller, G27 steering wheel w/shifter+pedals

Penzoil3

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 322
    • View Profile
Re: RTMM sounds in P3Dv4
« Reply #22 on: August 05, 2017, 05:14:22 PM »
 8) Haven't gotten around to it. Been busy.( Playing with the Beaver expansion...) Thanks for asking. I'll do that today.
 Sue

nbrich1

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 160
    • View Profile
Re: RTMM sounds in P3Dv4
« Reply #23 on: August 09, 2017, 07:18:21 AM »
Had the same issue with RTMM sounds being heard. No RTMM Sounds. Quiet at Misty's?? .. Hmmm can't be!.
yet in v3 with the same setup all the sounds were heard. v4 - nada - no RTMM sounds gulls nothing.

Did a few tests late last week and found the following.

My addon setup: All add-ons outside root sim. All xml correct, cfg files, all required files in their respective folders in an external addon directory and folder structure.
Again in this external addon structure, no issue with sounds in v3: ALL RTMM sounds works fine in P3Dv3.

So "almost" a common folder system used between v3 and v4 for all addons): Effects, gauges, scenery/addon scenery, fonts, Simobjects, Sound, etc.. (The "almost" splits/separates aircraft/boats: those that work in v3 only, versus those that work in v4 only. (The ones that work in both are common).
 
Anyway in v4, once I "moved" the RTMM .wav sound files from addon\sound over to the root sim sound folder, voila sound works. If I move the .wav sound files back to the common sound folder, outside the sim, and pointed to correctly, no RTMM sounds are heard.

(Seems to be only for the RTMM that I can determine so far) but maybe more IE: Tongass has sounds etc.  (Might have to move/copy all the wav files from the addon sound folder to the root sim sound folder for sound to be heard in v4.

Now I know my setup was correct and all works in P3Dv3 with all these same files but not in v4 unless the wav files were in the root sound folder. Will play with more next week (as kind of tied up this week).

Norm

« Last Edit: August 09, 2017, 08:40:05 AM by nbrich1 »

dexthom

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 172
    • View Profile
Re: RTMM sounds in P3Dv4
« Reply #24 on: August 09, 2017, 09:14:47 AM »
Since Day 1 of flight simulator, I have always maintained my sound file in the sound folder of the sim.  I have never experienced a problem with that.