Author Topic: 4AK Flatten Needed  (Read 4026 times)

Bradallen43

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,596
    • View Profile
4AK Flatten Needed
« on: July 21, 2017, 12:48:35 PM »
Hello and I have a request,

Since I don't know how to make an airport from scratch in FSX/P3D or create a flatten, I need someone's help who can assist with that at an airport that I believe needs one. 4AK Livengood Camp in Alaska.

There is no Global Vector airport with that code but it exists in the simulator (P3D 2.5). I've updated to the latest edition of Vector (1.5.2) and the airport elevation correction tool does not pull that entry up. Other similar coded airports show up like 4AK1, etc, but not 4AK so I can't make use of that tool to fix the issue there. It's a small pond on the one end of the airstrip property and you can see how the flatten currently in play is affecting the edge of the pond closest to the airstrip. I don't want to try and mask it or hide it, so believe that a flatten might do the trick.

Anyone else seeing this at that location? I'm using P3D and FSX with FTX Global, Vector and North American Landclass. I use the FTX Edition of the Pilots Global Mesh.

I'd post a screenshot but Photobucket took that ability away from me and I've yet to set up another image hosting service.

Brad

dexthom

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 199
    • View Profile
Re: 4AK Flatten Needed
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2017, 01:23:47 PM »
Looks like you need Doug's assistance...


ualani

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,352
    • View Profile
Re: 4AK Flatten Needed
« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2017, 01:40:38 PM »
I'll have a look...stay tuned Brad.

ualani

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,352
    • View Profile
Re: 4AK Flatten Needed
« Reply #3 on: July 21, 2017, 02:34:38 PM »
Brad,
I made a flatten, but as you can see from Dex's and my screenshots there's a vector road (not ORBX Vector, but a vector road object) passing through the pond. I don't think it can be moved or deleted. Do you want my work anyway?

Steve
« Last Edit: July 21, 2017, 02:36:12 PM by ualani »

dexthom

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 199
    • View Profile
Re: 4AK Flatten Needed
« Reply #4 on: July 21, 2017, 04:31:22 PM »
Looks like a bridge to me... 8)

ualani

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,352
    • View Profile
Re: 4AK Flatten Needed
« Reply #5 on: July 21, 2017, 04:54:50 PM »
If you get up close and personal it looks like asphalt or concrete sitting on the water. Maybe Brad or somebody else could add some kind of horizontal pilings or similar to make it look like a bridge???

ualani

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,352
    • View Profile
Re: 4AK Flatten Needed
« Reply #6 on: July 21, 2017, 05:43:10 PM »
OK, how's this look?
« Last Edit: July 21, 2017, 05:45:13 PM by ualani »

dexthom

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 199
    • View Profile
Re: 4AK Flatten Needed
« Reply #7 on: July 21, 2017, 06:08:06 PM »
It looks more like a bridge now.  I like the moose crossing sign.

Bradallen43

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,596
    • View Profile
Re: 4AK Flatten Needed
« Reply #8 on: July 21, 2017, 06:44:39 PM »
Beautiful Steve! That will work for sure. If you could let me know where to pick up the files at, I'll add them in and have a look.

Thank you,

Brad

ualani

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,352
    • View Profile
Re: 4AK Flatten Needed
« Reply #9 on: July 21, 2017, 08:09:46 PM »
Check your email Brad.

Bradallen43

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,596
    • View Profile
Re: 4AK Flatten Needed
« Reply #10 on: July 21, 2017, 11:45:47 PM »
Thank you

av8erjm

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 343
    • View Profile
Re: 4AK Flatten Needed
« Reply #11 on: July 22, 2017, 10:08:29 AM »
I noticed this quite a while ago, but figured it would be corrected sooner or later and the Yoda's here seem to have enough to do. Nice job correcting it, there was something in Vector on my sim causing the problem from what I could see. Once again looking fwd to it being released

Bradallen43

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,596
    • View Profile
Re: 4AK Flatten Needed
« Reply #12 on: July 22, 2017, 11:06:34 AM »
Once Doug gets back in the saddle, then I'll send him the files so we can get that added for you all to use.

Brad

av8erjm

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 343
    • View Profile
Re: 4AK Flatten Needed
« Reply #13 on: August 24, 2017, 09:42:48 AM »
Did this ever get posted???

Penzoil3

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 375
    • View Profile
Re: 4AK Flatten Needed
« Reply #14 on: August 24, 2017, 03:20:23 PM »
 8) Umm, you guys do know that an airport can be manually entered in Vector ?
 LOL
 Sue