Author Topic: Win10 pro 64 - Bluescreen loop  (Read 2324 times)

corbu1

  • RTMM Team Test Pilot
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,656
    • View Profile
Win10 pro 64 - Bluescreen loop
« on: June 18, 2017, 04:07:17 PM »
Hello,
today I tried installing my new HTC Vive HMD. First, software installation went fine but as I plugged in the USB and HDMI connectors of the Vive linkbox into the flightsim-pc ..... I got a bad beeping tone and the computer crashed with a blue screen.

Bluescreen says win10 cannot start because of system thread exception not handled.
Since then each starting the pc ends in this bluescreen Message.

I can start with the recovery cd. But the win repair function doesn't work.
It seems like windows cannot be found and the bootmanager don't work.....
Does anybody know a solution for this other than a complete reinstall of windows?

Thank you in advance..  any help is apprechiated.
Regards from Munich, Germany



P3Dv4.1,FlyInsideP3d4,OpusFSI,REX4
i76700K 4Ghz;16GB RAM;Asus 2xGTX1080 SLI;SSD:Evo850 256GB Win10Pro64;Evo850 512GB P3D;HDD:1TB;27" Monitor;HTC Vive HMD;HOTAS Warthog;X52;VBS ProAT Pedals;iGMapHD;F1GTN750/650

jeff3163

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,081
  • Troubleshooting & Help
    • View Profile
Re: Win10 pro 64 - Bluescreen loop
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2017, 04:22:46 PM »
Hi Klaus,
     Sorry to hear you are having system trouble.  I don't know how that could be related to plugging your device, but who knows?  I haven't experienced this issue, and glad I haven't!  You would get better help on an HTC Vive forum rather than here.  There are very few of us that are VR'ing here, I think.  :-\

Edit:  Have you checked in your BIOS for your Boot sequence?  Make sure it points to your boot drive.  :-\
« Last Edit: June 18, 2017, 04:25:15 PM by jeff3163 »

Win10Pro64, P3Dv4.1.7.22841, AMD Ryzen7 1800X@4.0 GHz , 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX 1080 Ti, 1T/1T SSD's for Sims/OS, 3x42" Vizio Monitors, HTC Vive VR HMD, Saitek Yoke/Pedals/trim wheel, XBox360 Controller, G27 steering wheel w/shifter+pedals. :P

ualani

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,328
    • View Profile
Re: Win10 pro 64 - Bluescreen loop
« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2017, 04:26:20 PM »
I've had a similar experience with Win7. The master boot record was damaged and I was able to fix it using a repair utility. Do a Google search for Win 10 boot sector repair. Good luck. Problems like this really stink, and the question is why would installing that software blow up the MBR? Coincidence??

corbu1

  • RTMM Team Test Pilot
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,656
    • View Profile
Re: Win10 pro 64 - Bluescreen loop
« Reply #3 on: June 18, 2017, 04:33:21 PM »
Hi Klaus,
     Sorry to hear you are having system trouble.  I don't know how that could be related to plugging your device, but who knows?  I haven't experienced this issue, and glad I haven't!  You would get better help on an HTC Vive forum rather than here.  There are very few of us that are VR'ing here, I think.  :-\

Edit:  Have you checked in your BIOS for your Boot sequence?  Make sure it points to your boot drive.  :-\

Well,
honestly speaking I have no idea why this happened.... I didn't expect installing the device as I started. I hoped to have a nice sunday preparing the Vive and discovering VR in flight simulation.... :-[

Yes, I checked BIOS and boot sequence is set correct.
Regards from Munich, Germany



P3Dv4.1,FlyInsideP3d4,OpusFSI,REX4
i76700K 4Ghz;16GB RAM;Asus 2xGTX1080 SLI;SSD:Evo850 256GB Win10Pro64;Evo850 512GB P3D;HDD:1TB;27" Monitor;HTC Vive HMD;HOTAS Warthog;X52;VBS ProAT Pedals;iGMapHD;F1GTN750/650

corbu1

  • RTMM Team Test Pilot
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,656
    • View Profile
Re: Win10 pro 64 - Bluescreen loop
« Reply #4 on: June 18, 2017, 04:41:47 PM »
I've had a similar experience with Win7. The master boot record was damaged and I was able to fix it using a repair utility. Do a Google search for Win 10 boot sector repair. Good luck. Problems like this really stink, and the question is why would installing that software blow up the MBR? Coincidence??

Thank you, Steve.
I'll try getting a repair utility. I'll check this out.
I really have no idea why this happened. Never had any problems before connecting devices to my pc.....coincidence, yes maybe it is.
Regards from Munich, Germany



P3Dv4.1,FlyInsideP3d4,OpusFSI,REX4
i76700K 4Ghz;16GB RAM;Asus 2xGTX1080 SLI;SSD:Evo850 256GB Win10Pro64;Evo850 512GB P3D;HDD:1TB;27" Monitor;HTC Vive HMD;HOTAS Warthog;X52;VBS ProAT Pedals;iGMapHD;F1GTN750/650

corbu1

  • RTMM Team Test Pilot
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,656
    • View Profile
Re: Win10 pro 64 - Bluescreen loop
« Reply #5 on: June 18, 2017, 06:03:54 PM »
Just found out something strange...
I checked my drives names from DOS prombt via windows recovery disc.

The disc names have changed.
My should be C: drive with win10 is now D: drive and
My should be D: drive with P3d is now C: drive..... :o
Regards from Munich, Germany



P3Dv4.1,FlyInsideP3d4,OpusFSI,REX4
i76700K 4Ghz;16GB RAM;Asus 2xGTX1080 SLI;SSD:Evo850 256GB Win10Pro64;Evo850 512GB P3D;HDD:1TB;27" Monitor;HTC Vive HMD;HOTAS Warthog;X52;VBS ProAT Pedals;iGMapHD;F1GTN750/650

Lipra

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 97
    • View Profile
Re: Win10 pro 64 - Bluescreen loop
« Reply #6 on: June 19, 2017, 05:11:18 AM »
Disconnect one of the drives and see if you can connect, at the same time reseat all your ram and video cards

jeff3163

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,081
  • Troubleshooting & Help
    • View Profile
Re: Win10 pro 64 - Bluescreen loop
« Reply #7 on: June 19, 2017, 07:22:32 AM »
     I would never plug/unplug any cables from my video card while the PC is running.   :o ;)

Win10Pro64, P3Dv4.1.7.22841, AMD Ryzen7 1800X@4.0 GHz , 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX 1080 Ti, 1T/1T SSD's for Sims/OS, 3x42" Vizio Monitors, HTC Vive VR HMD, Saitek Yoke/Pedals/trim wheel, XBox360 Controller, G27 steering wheel w/shifter+pedals. :P

ualani

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,328
    • View Profile
Re: Win10 pro 64 - Bluescreen loop
« Reply #8 on: June 19, 2017, 07:55:38 AM »
Try this and you should be able to change your drive designations. It boots a into a Linux environment, doesn't matter if Windows is unbootable, and I've used this in the past to recover from crazy situations.

http://www.ultimatebootcd.com/
« Last Edit: June 19, 2017, 03:29:34 PM by ualani »

Lipra

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 97
    • View Profile
Re: Win10 pro 64 - Bluescreen loop
« Reply #9 on: June 19, 2017, 02:57:04 PM »
     I would never plug/unplug any cables from my video card while the PC is running.   :o ;)

Not sure anyone is suggesting you should. Nor would I reseat the ram but I give people credit for a bit of knowledge and assume they know where the on / off switch is and would use it.

jeff3163

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,081
  • Troubleshooting & Help
    • View Profile
Re: Win10 pro 64 - Bluescreen loop
« Reply #10 on: June 19, 2017, 08:56:07 PM »
Sorry Lipra,
     I was not referring to your comment.  I was thinking about Klaus' statement
Quote
"First, software installation went fine but as I plugged in the USB and HDMI connectors of the Vive linkbox into the flightsim-pc ..... I got a bad beeping tone and the computer crashed with a blue screen."

and got the impression that he plugged in the HDMI cable while the PC was running.  I've had bad experiences when messing with the video cables while the system is on, so I advised against it as a general rule.  ;)

Win10Pro64, P3Dv4.1.7.22841, AMD Ryzen7 1800X@4.0 GHz , 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX 1080 Ti, 1T/1T SSD's for Sims/OS, 3x42" Vizio Monitors, HTC Vive VR HMD, Saitek Yoke/Pedals/trim wheel, XBox360 Controller, G27 steering wheel w/shifter+pedals. :P

Lipra

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 97
    • View Profile
Re: Win10 pro 64 - Bluescreen loop
« Reply #11 on: June 20, 2017, 07:29:10 AM »
Sorry Lipra,
     I was not referring to your comment.  I was thinking about Klaus' statement
Quote
"First, software installation went fine but as I plugged in the USB and HDMI connectors of the Vive linkbox into the flightsim-pc ..... I got a bad beeping tone and the computer crashed with a blue screen."

and got the impression that he plugged in the HDMI cable while the PC was running.  I've had bad experiences when messing with the video cables while the system is on, so I advised against it as a general rule.  ;)

No problem Jeff.  I all ways try and power down / up as a matter of course 45 years repairing telephone exchanges teaches you very quickly. I have found that to check cables and boards first can save a lot of time even if they look ok. I would also be hesitant to plug that box back in without checking with the manufacture that its not faulty.

Lipra

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 97
    • View Profile
Re: Win10 pro 64 - Bluescreen loop
« Reply #12 on: June 20, 2017, 07:40:06 AM »
Corbu1.

Can you actually read any data from either drive from the repair disk.

 There is also a dos command that allows you to repair the mbr if that is corrupt. when I had a similar problem it did not work and I ended up changing the faulty disc drive, google it for information.

 Do you have an old disk with a working operating system you could put in to check the rest of the system.

corbu1

  • RTMM Team Test Pilot
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,656
    • View Profile
Re: Win10 pro 64 - Bluescreen loop
« Reply #13 on: June 20, 2017, 02:37:22 PM »
Lipra,
I can read the drives from DOS command with the repair cd. But repairing the mbr didn't work....
All repair functions didn't work.
Regards from Munich, Germany



P3Dv4.1,FlyInsideP3d4,OpusFSI,REX4
i76700K 4Ghz;16GB RAM;Asus 2xGTX1080 SLI;SSD:Evo850 256GB Win10Pro64;Evo850 512GB P3D;HDD:1TB;27" Monitor;HTC Vive HMD;HOTAS Warthog;X52;VBS ProAT Pedals;iGMapHD;F1GTN750/650

corbu1

  • RTMM Team Test Pilot
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,656
    • View Profile
Re: Win10 pro 64 - Bluescreen loop
« Reply #14 on: June 20, 2017, 04:08:19 PM »
Well,
Disconnecting the drives didn't work, too.
I got the correct drive name for the C: drive but windows didn't start.
Also all repairs of mbr failed.

I guess, next try is a complete reinstall of windows .... :o :(
Regards from Munich, Germany



P3Dv4.1,FlyInsideP3d4,OpusFSI,REX4
i76700K 4Ghz;16GB RAM;Asus 2xGTX1080 SLI;SSD:Evo850 256GB Win10Pro64;Evo850 512GB P3D;HDD:1TB;27" Monitor;HTC Vive HMD;HOTAS Warthog;X52;VBS ProAT Pedals;iGMapHD;F1GTN750/650