Author Topic: Twin Lakes Airstrip problem  (Read 1048 times)

Dieter

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 663
    • View Profile
Twin Lakes Airstrip problem
« on: June 11, 2017, 05:19:19 AM »
Attached is a screenshot how the "new" CAF4 area is dispayed im my FSX Gold.
My installation looks totally different to what is presented in your screenshot included in the scenery.
(Orbx CAF4 runway is originally a gras strip)
I have no idea what could be wrong. All RTMM sceneries are in priority higher than all Orbx stuff.
« Last Edit: June 11, 2017, 05:21:26 AM by Dieter »

ualani

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,288
    • View Profile
Re: Twin Lakes Airstrip problem
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2017, 06:05:14 AM »
Download the newest BWEP Object Library. It was posted in a NOTAM on 6.1.2017

Dieter

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 663
    • View Profile
Re: Twin Lakes Airstrip problem
« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2017, 06:23:20 AM »
That's what I did on 6.1.2017 already.

Handie

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 567
    • View Profile
Re: Twin Lakes Airstrip problem
« Reply #3 on: June 11, 2017, 08:38:53 AM »
Your screen shows exactly like mine that are presented here on my P3D v2.4:

http://forum.mistymoorings.com/index.php?topic=3471.msg30346#new

But it is not Twin Lakes Airstrip, it's Tsuniah Lake Lodge CAF4.
« Last Edit: June 11, 2017, 08:41:33 AM by Handie »
Nadine
i7-2600k à 4.5 GHz, Asus P8P67 Pro, Antec TruePower New 750, MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X - 8 Go, 2 VelociRaptor 600 Go, 1 WD 1 To, Corsair Vengeance Series 8 Go PC14900, Noctua NH-D14, Windows 7 ( 64 bits ), écran LG 34" 21:9 2560x1080, P3D v2.4.

stiletto2

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,449
    • View Profile
Re: Twin Lakes Airstrip problem
« Reply #4 on: June 11, 2017, 09:15:38 AM »
Hmmmm.......

My pic of Tsuniah Lake Lodge (see below) doesn't have the extra cabin or cars on the Helo landing area.  Interesting that I don't have the red plane at the dock that both of you have.  I wonder what library that object came from?  Also, I cannot extract the tsuniah_lake_lodge_map.jpg file without an error.

Rod

Handie

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 567
    • View Profile
Re: Twin Lakes Airstrip problem
« Reply #5 on: June 11, 2017, 09:46:04 AM »
There are 3 files for Tsuniah Lake Lodge - CAF4 - in the folder:

ORBX\FTX_NA\FTX_NA_PNW05_SCENERY\scenery

This must explain this.
I'll see by turning them off.

Edit : Do not disable these files, otherwise you will have worries
« Last Edit: June 11, 2017, 11:52:54 AM by Handie »
Nadine
i7-2600k à 4.5 GHz, Asus P8P67 Pro, Antec TruePower New 750, MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X - 8 Go, 2 VelociRaptor 600 Go, 1 WD 1 To, Corsair Vengeance Series 8 Go PC14900, Noctua NH-D14, Windows 7 ( 64 bits ), écran LG 34" 21:9 2560x1080, P3D v2.4.

ualani

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,288
    • View Profile
Re: Twin Lakes Airstrip problem
« Reply #6 on: June 11, 2017, 11:00:18 AM »
I have corrupt .jpg files in the zip as well. The only thing that would open tsuniah_lake_lodge_large.jpg for me was WinRar, and the map won't open at all, no matter what I try.

As for the scenery, I see exactly as Doug's screenshot in the download shows. I don't know why Dieter and Handie have an extra cabin and the extra cars at the helipad, so Rod, from that standpoint you're OK and have what Doug intended.

The missing plane at the dock is from FXP3D KT Beavers.BGL They're in the Yes Bay Higher folder. I should put them in another library to avoid the problem of orphaned libraries scattered here and there.

Dieter

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 663
    • View Profile
Re: Twin Lakes Airstrip problem
« Reply #7 on: June 11, 2017, 11:30:25 AM »
@Handie
Quote
But it is not Twin Lakes Airstrip, it's Tsuniah Lake Lodge CAF4
You are right. I made a mistake.
I mixed up CAF4 (Tsuniah Lake Lodge)  and CAG4 (Twin Lakes)

Twin Lakes Airstrip shows exactly how presented in the download.

Sorry for confusion.

Dieter

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 663
    • View Profile
Re: Twin Lakes Airstrip problem
« Reply #8 on: June 11, 2017, 12:02:22 PM »
I found the files causing the problems/different display at Tsuniah/CAF4:

Installation \OZx NA\scenery
There are 5 files named "Tsuniah"

- tc_TsuniahCkLk_PLC.bgl
This file adds the 2 cars at the helipad and the cabin.

- mwl_TsuniahCk_FB.bgl
- mwl_TsuniahCk_PLC.bgl
- mwl_TsuniahCk_PR1.bgl
- mwl_TsuniahCk_PR2.bgl

They all might be deleted.

Handie

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 567
    • View Profile
Re: Twin Lakes Airstrip problem
« Reply #9 on: June 11, 2017, 12:16:48 PM »
Thank you, I had thought to look in the Orbx files but not in those of OZx ;)
Nadine
i7-2600k à 4.5 GHz, Asus P8P67 Pro, Antec TruePower New 750, MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X - 8 Go, 2 VelociRaptor 600 Go, 1 WD 1 To, Corsair Vengeance Series 8 Go PC14900, Noctua NH-D14, Windows 7 ( 64 bits ), écran LG 34" 21:9 2560x1080, P3D v2.4.

stiletto2

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,449
    • View Profile
Re: Twin Lakes Airstrip problem
« Reply #10 on: June 11, 2017, 01:25:11 PM »
I have corrupt .jpg files in the zip as well. The only thing that would open tsuniah_lake_lodge_large.jpg for me was WinRar, and the map won't open at all, no matter what I try.

As for the scenery, I see exactly as Doug's screenshot in the download shows. I don't know why Dieter and Handie have an extra cabin and the extra cars at the helipad, so Rod, from that standpoint you're OK and have what Doug intended.

The missing plane at the dock is from FXP3D KT Beavers.BGL They're in the Yes Bay Higher folder. I should put them in another library to avoid the problem of orphaned libraries scattered here and there.

Yep, we definitely should not be placing objects in a scenery that requires a different scenery containing an orphaned object library unless we state that the scenery with the orphaned object library is required for the new scenery to display properly.  The problem is, a scenery developer can't tell the difference.  We probably should not label orphaned libraries withjust the FSXP3D prefix....maybe use a special label  (e.g. Orph_FSXP3D) or something like that until the orphan can be merged into and object library release.   The scenery download needs to be revised anyway since it has a corrupted file so maybe Doug can change the airplane object or put a Yes Bay requirement in the notes.  He should also not that the OZx files noted by Dieter should be turned off or deleted before using the Tsuniah Lake Lodge scenery.

Rod

ualani

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,288
    • View Profile
Re: Twin Lakes Airstrip problem
« Reply #11 on: June 11, 2017, 01:54:30 PM »
With so many scenery locations out there it's going to be quite a job tracking down the orphaned libraries and pulling them out. Therefore if anyone is aware of any of them out there, please let me know and I'll do the rest. (It will also amount to Doug needing to re-upload individual the scenery files without the orphaned objects in them. We'll get it figured out.)

Doug

  • Misty Moorings Site Admin
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2,912
    • View Profile
    • Return to Misty Moorings
Re: Twin Lakes Airstrip problem
« Reply #12 on: June 11, 2017, 02:58:46 PM »
I'm using the same libraries I've been using. None of theses cabins are "special", etc.  I've re-uploaded Tsuniah Lake Lodge, the map file now works.

I changed out the airplane. So it should be showing now as of 3:08 pm EST. But everything else should be showing.

If we have a plane like that, that is only in the Yes Bay,  then it should be in THAT scenery folder and now mixed in with our other object libraries.  I've used that plane before and have heard no complaints. There is no way to "tell" if we have such an "orphan" object. We need to find those and put their scenery/texture files back into the specific file location I think.

Doug
« Last Edit: June 11, 2017, 03:10:43 PM by Doug »

Handie

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 567
    • View Profile
Re: Twin Lakes Airstrip problem
« Reply #13 on: June 12, 2017, 12:02:11 PM »
Hello,

I have a worry at Tsuniah Lake Lodge CAF4, my ULM has the wheels driven into the ground on the runway and can not advance even with the engine at maximum power:
Nadine
i7-2600k à 4.5 GHz, Asus P8P67 Pro, Antec TruePower New 750, MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X - 8 Go, 2 VelociRaptor 600 Go, 1 WD 1 To, Corsair Vengeance Series 8 Go PC14900, Noctua NH-D14, Windows 7 ( 64 bits ), écran LG 34" 21:9 2560x1080, P3D v2.4.

ualani

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,288
    • View Profile
Re: Twin Lakes Airstrip problem
« Reply #14 on: June 12, 2017, 03:14:13 PM »
As Agent 86 would say, "It looks like the old, quicksand runway trick again, Chief."

Seriously, I have no problem with sunken wheels or the inability to accelerate. Have you gotten rid of or unchecked the incompatible OzX scenery yet?
« Last Edit: June 12, 2017, 03:16:22 PM by ualani »