Author Topic: TONGASS FJORD in P3D4  (Read 2359 times)

stiletto2

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,515
    • View Profile
Re: TONGASS FJORD in P3D4
« Reply #15 on: June 19, 2017, 04:04:14 PM »
Hi

http://www.orbxsystems.com/forum/topic/137061-tongass-fjord-on-v4/

Have a good day my friend

Patrick

Very nice!  Thanks for posting the link.  Sitka is looking good.  I've disabled those AI planes, thanks for the heads up!   8)  I did get a CTD when approaching Sitka.  It must have been those AI planes.  I am going back now to test that theory ...  ;)  Thanks again, Patrick!   8)

Edit:  I flew around Sitka in my AS Beaver amphib with no CTD.  TongassX in P3dv4 is looking good so far.  Thanks again.  :)

Jeff,

I advise caution here.  Messing with AI is pretty complex.  Disabling AI planes by changing the folder name in SimObjects does not disable them as FSX/P3D searches and loads the contents of all of the folders in  SimObjects regardless of the folder naming convention.  The folder has to be removed from SimObjects to disable it. 

 The Dash 7 does not cause a CTD even if it displays improperly so am holding off on a final fix until we get more data. 

Note: Edited the above to remove some incorrect information.  In addition, a fix for the non-working AI models is almost done.  See this thread: 

http://forum.mistymoorings.com/index.php?topic=3463.msg30803#msg30803

Rod
« Last Edit: July 08, 2017, 04:16:21 PM by stiletto2 »

dexthom

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 199
    • View Profile
Re: TONGASS FJORD in P3D4
« Reply #16 on: June 19, 2017, 06:34:23 PM »
Active Sky has a new Beta for AS4 that looks good in P3Dv4.  This is the second iteration of the Beta:

http://hifisimtech.com/downloads/

I have not experienced any problem with the AI DHC-2 Aircraft with either the Van+ or Tongass birds.

I did have CTDs with DHC-3 and The Twin Otters.
« Last Edit: June 19, 2017, 07:35:44 PM by dexthom »

jeff3163

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,129
  • Troubleshooting & Help
    • View Profile
Re: TONGASS FJORD in P3D4
« Reply #17 on: June 19, 2017, 08:41:01 PM »
     The DHC-3 and Twin Otter are the ones that got "disabled" as advised by Patricks' Orbx post.  I don't yet have any RTMM AI traffic or shipping installed in V4 yet.  I can easily re-enable them if a problem arises.  Or I can enable them and go back to PASI to see if it crashes again.   ???

Win10Pro64, P3Dv4.1.7.22841, AMD Ryzen7 1800X@4.0 GHz , 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX 1080 Ti, 1T/1T SSD's for Sims/OS, 3x42" Vizio Monitors, HTC Vive VR HMD, Saitek Yoke/Pedals/trim wheel, XBox360 Controller, G27 steering wheel w/shifter+pedals. :P

dexthom

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 199
    • View Profile
Re: TONGASS FJORD in P3D4
« Reply #18 on: June 20, 2017, 09:12:36 AM »
I have not experienced any problems with the shipping.  I have all of RTMM and Henrik's traffic running.

NeptuneP2V7

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 730
    • View Profile
Re: TONGASS FJORD in P3D4
« Reply #19 on: June 20, 2017, 06:54:08 PM »
I have not experienced any problems with the shipping.  I have all of RTMM and Henrik's traffic running.

Me too in P3┬ÁDv4 with the last update 200 AISHIP  ADDED 18th June 2017, 19:37:02

https://library.avsim.net/search.php?SearchTerm=200+AI+SHIP&CatID=root&Go=Search

Patrick


YoYo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 47
    • View Profile
Re: TONGASS FJORD in P3D4
« Reply #20 on: August 07, 2017, 04:24:22 PM »
Installed in P3Dv4 yesterday (according Elaine manual - the same like for P3Dv3) + Rod's AI new models/texture fixer (TY!). It looks and works ok for me.





I noticed only strange loading texture/mesh problem. It looks like it changes/loads proper textures and mesh when I'm very close. Something like the sim can't till the end decide which textures / mesh must to load - from FTX Region or Tongass Fjords addon. It takes a very short time. Especially it can be seen in the mountains area. Did You notice the same? I can live with this but it looks a little annoying. In other Regions I didnt notice it, only on TF area. Settings high or ultra in P3Dv4.

Example of strange texture, when I will be close it will be ok. The blue... its a water texture!



btw. it looks like global problem in P3Dv4 (with FTX).
I opened the topic here http://www.orbxsystems.com/forum/topic/139666-water-over-shadow-on-texture-p3dv4/ .
« Last Edit: August 07, 2017, 05:49:14 PM by YoYo »
Webmaster of www.yoyosims.pl

stiletto2

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,515
    • View Profile
Re: TONGASS FJORD in P3D4
« Reply #21 on: August 07, 2017, 05:58:49 PM »
Hi YoYo.

That looks like a known P3D texture problem that has existed for quite awhile.  When certain land classes border or are close to water and feature black patches as part of their texture, the P3D rendering engine makes a mistake and renders those black/dark patches as water.  Lockheed was informed on this long ago by ORBX.  It seems to really only show up in a certain landclasses mostly used around Alaska which is a very small part of P3D's world.  ORBX actually made an update to one of their Landclasses in SAK to minimize the issue which pretty much indicates that P3D may never get to that fix.   There are a few other P3D texture problem in the Alaska area also that I wish Lockheed would fix.

Just gotta live with it....

Rod
« Last Edit: August 08, 2017, 01:46:54 PM by stiletto2 »

YoYo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 47
    • View Profile
Re: TONGASS FJORD in P3D4
« Reply #22 on: August 08, 2017, 03:14:31 AM »
Thank You Rod.
So I tried remind about this in LM Forum: http://www.prepar3d.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=6312&t=126240 . Thx for explanations, hope it helps.
Webmaster of www.yoyosims.pl

NeptuneP2V7

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 730
    • View Profile
Re: TONGASS FJORD in P3D4
« Reply #23 on: August 08, 2017, 05:28:59 AM »
Hi
I remember for this problem ! when you'r not switching with a good region Orbx before flying ..

on your screen is been reduce by little squares ?

Patrick

YoYo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 47
    • View Profile
Re: TONGASS FJORD in P3D4
« Reply #24 on: August 08, 2017, 01:56:51 PM »
Hi
I remember for this problem ! when you'r not switching with a good region Orbx before flying ..

on your screen is been reduce by little squares ?

Patrick

From the beginning it looks like the same like on screenies.
btw. They reply my on LM Forum:

Quote
Thanks for updating us. There are landclass areas where this effect is desired including wetlands and swamps. We can look into fixing areas where this is applied incorrectly in future releases. If you can post specific locations where you're seeing this applied incorrectly that will help us fix any outstanding issues.

So feel free to update this topic if You notice it too.
Webmaster of www.yoyosims.pl

NeptuneP2V7

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 730
    • View Profile
Re: TONGASS FJORD in P3D4
« Reply #25 on: August 10, 2017, 05:06:55 AM »
Hi
today some change with update FTX OBF2 3.2.2.1

Patrick