Author Topic: Virtual Reality headsets experiences?  (Read 1184 times)

corbu1

  • RTMM Team Test Pilot
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,627
    • View Profile
Re: Virtual Reality headsets experiences?
« Reply #15 on: July 05, 2017, 05:33:19 PM »
Hello Jeff,
can you toggle switches and buttons in vr stereo mode in p3dv4. I tried but did didn't worked.
It only works for me when I toggle stereo mode to off (I mapped the button to my keyboard space bar). Then I can place the cross hair with the mouse on a button or switch and toggle it. But it's weird, the cross hair doesn't indicate if the button or switch you placed it is switchable......

I hope flyinside is soon updated for p3dv4 but I doesn't seem so. The crew announced, they will first update to x-plane11. After that they'll work on updating for p3dv4.. c
Regards from Munich, Germany



P3Dv4-OpusFSI,REX4
i76700K 4Ghz;16GB RAM;Asus 2 GTX1080 SLI;SSD:Evo850 256GB Win10Pro64;Evo850 512GB P3D;HDD:1TB;3*27" Monitors;HTC Vive HMD;HOTAS Warthog;X52;VBS ProAT Pedals;TrackIR5;iGMapHD;F1GTN750/650

jeff3163

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,002
  • Troubleshooting & Help
    • View Profile
Re: Virtual Reality headsets experiences?
« Reply #16 on: July 05, 2017, 06:48:46 PM »
Hi Klaus,
     No, I can't activate switches or press buttons in VR yet.  I have to switch to virtual cockpit to flip a switch.
 But I have voice commands for practically everything I need to do.
     I have the technology and the hardware/software for hands-on VR, but putting it all together in the sim is challenging for me.  I haven't been able to use the leap motion detector system in flight yet.  I can see my virtual hands in the "Leap motion" program.  But when I try to use it in the sim I can't see my hands in VR.  I'm doing something wrong.   :o ??? :P :-\ 

I'll get it all together eventually.  ;)

:P Win10Pro64, P3Dv4 ;) , AMD Ryzen7 1800X@4.0 GHz ;) , 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX 1080 Ti ;) , 1T/1T SSD's for Sims/OS, 3x42" Vizio Monitors, HTC Vive VR HMD, Saitek Yoke/Pedals/trim wheel, XBox360 Controller, G27 steering wheel w/shifter+pedals

corbu1

  • RTMM Team Test Pilot
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,627
    • View Profile
Re: Virtual Reality headsets experiences?
« Reply #17 on: July 06, 2017, 03:09:44 PM »
Jeff,
do you  use leap motion with flyinside in p3dv3?. I think flyinside is needed to get it working.
In p3dv4, as said, flyinside is not working yet.

I hope p3dv4 will be optimiesd for VR. The VR experience is so immersive......
But I also wish to toggle all switches and press buttons in the VR cockpit. And I need to interact with
the menu bar and external windows for using things like the GTN750 and things like that.

But again the flying experience is so amazing.......
Regards from Munich, Germany



P3Dv4-OpusFSI,REX4
i76700K 4Ghz;16GB RAM;Asus 2 GTX1080 SLI;SSD:Evo850 256GB Win10Pro64;Evo850 512GB P3D;HDD:1TB;3*27" Monitors;HTC Vive HMD;HOTAS Warthog;X52;VBS ProAT Pedals;TrackIR5;iGMapHD;F1GTN750/650

corbu1

  • RTMM Team Test Pilot
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,627
    • View Profile
Re: Virtual Reality headsets experiences?
« Reply #18 on: July 11, 2017, 04:47:32 PM »
Latest Flyinside patch 1.81 optimised for xplane 11 is released.

The FI team announced that they now focus on FI supporting p3d v4. But will take time.
Beta status is expected for later this summer....Well, it's hard to wait :'(
Regards from Munich, Germany



P3Dv4-OpusFSI,REX4
i76700K 4Ghz;16GB RAM;Asus 2 GTX1080 SLI;SSD:Evo850 256GB Win10Pro64;Evo850 512GB P3D;HDD:1TB;3*27" Monitors;HTC Vive HMD;HOTAS Warthog;X52;VBS ProAT Pedals;TrackIR5;iGMapHD;F1GTN750/650

corbu1

  • RTMM Team Test Pilot
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,627
    • View Profile
Re: Virtual Reality headsets experiences?
« Reply #19 on: August 17, 2017, 02:53:34 PM »
The FI team have announced they now make good progress with Flyinside for P3dv4.
Hopefully release will be in the forseable future.....with luck in september.
Regards from Munich, Germany



P3Dv4-OpusFSI,REX4
i76700K 4Ghz;16GB RAM;Asus 2 GTX1080 SLI;SSD:Evo850 256GB Win10Pro64;Evo850 512GB P3D;HDD:1TB;3*27" Monitors;HTC Vive HMD;HOTAS Warthog;X52;VBS ProAT Pedals;TrackIR5;iGMapHD;F1GTN750/650

jeff3163

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,002
  • Troubleshooting & Help
    • View Profile
Re: Virtual Reality headsets experiences?
« Reply #20 on: August 17, 2017, 08:07:53 PM »
Thanks for the updates, Klaus.   8)

Quote
Jeff,
do you  use leap motion with flyinside in p3dv3?. I think flyinside is needed to get it working.
In p3dv4, as said, flyinside is not working yet.

     I have not been using my VR lately, because of neck pain I've been experiencing.  But I feel that is on the mend now.  I still haven't done anything with my "Leap Motion" thing.  :P
« Last Edit: August 17, 2017, 08:19:18 PM by jeff3163 »

:P Win10Pro64, P3Dv4 ;) , AMD Ryzen7 1800X@4.0 GHz ;) , 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX 1080 Ti ;) , 1T/1T SSD's for Sims/OS, 3x42" Vizio Monitors, HTC Vive VR HMD, Saitek Yoke/Pedals/trim wheel, XBox360 Controller, G27 steering wheel w/shifter+pedals