Author Topic: Virtual Reality headsets experiences?  (Read 2480 times)

corbu1

  • RTMM Team Test Pilot
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,769
    • View Profile
Re: Virtual Reality headsets experiences?
« Reply #15 on: July 05, 2017, 05:33:19 PM »
Hello Jeff,
can you toggle switches and buttons in vr stereo mode in p3dv4. I tried but did didn't worked.
It only works for me when I toggle stereo mode to off (I mapped the button to my keyboard space bar). Then I can place the cross hair with the mouse on a button or switch and toggle it. But it's weird, the cross hair doesn't indicate if the button or switch you placed it is switchable......

I hope flyinside is soon updated for p3dv4 but I doesn't seem so. The crew announced, they will first update to x-plane11. After that they'll work on updating for p3dv4.. c
Regards from Munich, Germany



P3Dv4.2,FlyInsideP3d4,OpusFSI,REXSkyForce3D
i76700K 4Ghz;16GB RAM;Asus 2xGTX1080SLI;SSD:Evo850 256GB Win10Pro64;Evo850 512GB P3D;HDD:1TB;27" Monitor;HTC Vive HMD;HOTAS Warthog;X52;VBS ProAT Pedals;F1GTN750/650

jeff3163

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,269
  • Troubleshooting & Help
    • View Profile
Re: Virtual Reality headsets experiences?
« Reply #16 on: July 05, 2017, 06:48:46 PM »
Hi Klaus,
     No, I can't activate switches or press buttons in VR yet.  I have to switch to virtual cockpit to flip a switch.
 But I have voice commands for practically everything I need to do.
     I have the technology and the hardware/software for hands-on VR, but putting it all together in the sim is challenging for me.  I haven't been able to use the leap motion detector system in flight yet.  I can see my virtual hands in the "Leap motion" program.  But when I try to use it in the sim I can't see my hands in VR.  I'm doing something wrong.   :o ??? :P :-\ 

I'll get it all together eventually.  ;)

Win10Pro64, P3Dv4.2.21.24048, AMD Ryzen7 1800X@4.0 GHz , 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX 1080 Ti, 1T/1T SSD's for Sims/OS, 3x42" Vizio Monitors, HTC Vive VR HMD, Saitek Yoke/Pedals/trim wheel, XBox360 Controller, G27 steering wheel w/shifter+pedals. :P

corbu1

  • RTMM Team Test Pilot
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,769
    • View Profile
Re: Virtual Reality headsets experiences?
« Reply #17 on: July 06, 2017, 03:09:44 PM »
Jeff,
do you  use leap motion with flyinside in p3dv3?. I think flyinside is needed to get it working.
In p3dv4, as said, flyinside is not working yet.

I hope p3dv4 will be optimiesd for VR. The VR experience is so immersive......
But I also wish to toggle all switches and press buttons in the VR cockpit. And I need to interact with
the menu bar and external windows for using things like the GTN750 and things like that.

But again the flying experience is so amazing.......
Regards from Munich, Germany



P3Dv4.2,FlyInsideP3d4,OpusFSI,REXSkyForce3D
i76700K 4Ghz;16GB RAM;Asus 2xGTX1080SLI;SSD:Evo850 256GB Win10Pro64;Evo850 512GB P3D;HDD:1TB;27" Monitor;HTC Vive HMD;HOTAS Warthog;X52;VBS ProAT Pedals;F1GTN750/650

corbu1

  • RTMM Team Test Pilot
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,769
    • View Profile
Re: Virtual Reality headsets experiences?
« Reply #18 on: July 11, 2017, 04:47:32 PM »
Latest Flyinside patch 1.81 optimised for xplane 11 is released.

The FI team announced that they now focus on FI supporting p3d v4. But will take time.
Beta status is expected for later this summer....Well, it's hard to wait :'(
Regards from Munich, Germany



P3Dv4.2,FlyInsideP3d4,OpusFSI,REXSkyForce3D
i76700K 4Ghz;16GB RAM;Asus 2xGTX1080SLI;SSD:Evo850 256GB Win10Pro64;Evo850 512GB P3D;HDD:1TB;27" Monitor;HTC Vive HMD;HOTAS Warthog;X52;VBS ProAT Pedals;F1GTN750/650

corbu1

  • RTMM Team Test Pilot
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,769
    • View Profile
Re: Virtual Reality headsets experiences?
« Reply #19 on: August 17, 2017, 02:53:34 PM »
The FI team have announced they now make good progress with Flyinside for P3dv4.
Hopefully release will be in the forseable future.....with luck in september.
Regards from Munich, Germany



P3Dv4.2,FlyInsideP3d4,OpusFSI,REXSkyForce3D
i76700K 4Ghz;16GB RAM;Asus 2xGTX1080SLI;SSD:Evo850 256GB Win10Pro64;Evo850 512GB P3D;HDD:1TB;27" Monitor;HTC Vive HMD;HOTAS Warthog;X52;VBS ProAT Pedals;F1GTN750/650

jeff3163

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,269
  • Troubleshooting & Help
    • View Profile
Re: Virtual Reality headsets experiences?
« Reply #20 on: August 17, 2017, 08:07:53 PM »
Thanks for the updates, Klaus.   8)

Quote
Jeff,
do you  use leap motion with flyinside in p3dv3?. I think flyinside is needed to get it working.
In p3dv4, as said, flyinside is not working yet.

     I have not been using my VR lately, because of neck pain I've been experiencing.  But I feel that is on the mend now.  I still haven't done anything with my "Leap Motion" thing.  :P
« Last Edit: August 17, 2017, 08:19:18 PM by jeff3163 »

Win10Pro64, P3Dv4.2.21.24048, AMD Ryzen7 1800X@4.0 GHz , 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX 1080 Ti, 1T/1T SSD's for Sims/OS, 3x42" Vizio Monitors, HTC Vive VR HMD, Saitek Yoke/Pedals/trim wheel, XBox360 Controller, G27 steering wheel w/shifter+pedals. :P

corbu1

  • RTMM Team Test Pilot
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,769
    • View Profile
Re: Virtual Reality headsets experiences?
« Reply #21 on: October 15, 2017, 05:22:39 PM »
FlyInside for P3dv4 is now released. It also Works with latest v4.1.

I installed it today and did a first flight. It‘s very smooth flying in VR with 3D stereo effects!!!
Only downside is, it doesn‘t support HDR and the native lighting in VC seems a bit dark. I will have to play with the brightness settings I guess.
In FI clickable cockpit switches work very good.

It‘s much better than p3dv4 native VR support. There I was able only flying in VR mono-mode in a smooth way and using clickable cockpit swithches.
Regards from Munich, Germany



P3Dv4.2,FlyInsideP3d4,OpusFSI,REXSkyForce3D
i76700K 4Ghz;16GB RAM;Asus 2xGTX1080SLI;SSD:Evo850 256GB Win10Pro64;Evo850 512GB P3D;HDD:1TB;27" Monitor;HTC Vive HMD;HOTAS Warthog;X52;VBS ProAT Pedals;F1GTN750/650

corbu1

  • RTMM Team Test Pilot
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,769
    • View Profile
Re: Virtual Reality headsets experiences?
« Reply #22 on: October 15, 2017, 08:42:36 PM »
I have a strange issue in FlyInside for P3dv4.
When sitting on grounds or doing a hover near the ground with my helo, the ground seems to be some several feet more under the AC as it should. Objects like autogen buildings and trees are positioned correct, but with the incorrect height of the ground iit seems these objects are flying above the ground.

Runways, taxiways and parking areas are shown in the coerrect height ,too. But the grass areas aside of these areas appear some feet lower. Looking very strange and makes hovertaxii g with a helo no joy.. 

The issue is already postedby others  on the FI website. I hope this issue can be solved.
Regards from Munich, Germany



P3Dv4.2,FlyInsideP3d4,OpusFSI,REXSkyForce3D
i76700K 4Ghz;16GB RAM;Asus 2xGTX1080SLI;SSD:Evo850 256GB Win10Pro64;Evo850 512GB P3D;HDD:1TB;27" Monitor;HTC Vive HMD;HOTAS Warthog;X52;VBS ProAT Pedals;F1GTN750/650

jeff3163

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,269
  • Troubleshooting & Help
    • View Profile
Re: Virtual Reality headsets experiences?
« Reply #23 on: October 17, 2017, 09:01:31 PM »
Thanks for the updates, Klaus.   8)

Quote
Jeff,
do you  use leap motion with flyinside in p3dv3?. I think flyinside is needed to get it working.
In p3dv4, as said, flyinside is not working yet.

     I have not been using my VR lately, because of neck pain I've been experiencing.  But I feel that is on the mend now.  I still haven't done anything with my "Leap Motion" thing.  :P

     It's now the middle of October and my neck is no better.  It's worse, I think.  It feels like I've been karate' chopped on my neck, or I've been "Spock pinched" (if you're a trekkie). ;) 

     Sorry to hear there are issues with your FI setup.  I hope you get it resolved soon.  I know it's unsettling to see things out of place, like the ground elevation, etc.   :o   ;D

Win10Pro64, P3Dv4.2.21.24048, AMD Ryzen7 1800X@4.0 GHz , 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX 1080 Ti, 1T/1T SSD's for Sims/OS, 3x42" Vizio Monitors, HTC Vive VR HMD, Saitek Yoke/Pedals/trim wheel, XBox360 Controller, G27 steering wheel w/shifter+pedals. :P

corbu1

  • RTMM Team Test Pilot
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,769
    • View Profile
Re: Virtual Reality headsets experiences?
« Reply #24 on: February 18, 2018, 01:38:31 PM »
LM continues to improve native VR in P3dv4.

New version v4.2 offers a new VR rendering mode which is called single pass stereo mode. This new rendering mode should weeken workload on the cpu. So, it should be easier rendering enough fps for smooth rendering.
I first short flight in this mode looked good so far. I will test it the following days. If cpu workload is really weekend, maybe a few sliders in P3dv4  settings could be set higher for better visuals or lighting. That would be cool!

I found that this new mode solves the floating ground and buildings issue in VR p3d! This is really great news because the floating issue made landings and hovertaxis nearly impossible. Now with v4.2 the distance to the ground seems realistic in VR.

So, I really hope LM continues optimising yp3d for VR in future versions and releases.
Regards from Munich, Germany



P3Dv4.2,FlyInsideP3d4,OpusFSI,REXSkyForce3D
i76700K 4Ghz;16GB RAM;Asus 2xGTX1080SLI;SSD:Evo850 256GB Win10Pro64;Evo850 512GB P3D;HDD:1TB;27" Monitor;HTC Vive HMD;HOTAS Warthog;X52;VBS ProAT Pedals;F1GTN750/650

stiletto2

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,572
    • View Profile
Re: Virtual Reality headsets experiences?
« Reply #25 on: February 18, 2018, 02:35:57 PM »
That is really good news!   Maybe someday in the future I will get a VR Headset.   

Rod

LouP

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 68
    • View Profile
Re: Virtual Reality headsets experiences?
« Reply #26 on: March 01, 2018, 12:48:20 PM »
Purchased a Vive and have been using it for a week now.  No words can describe actually being in the cockpit.  Only problem so far has been my attempt to put stuff down in the empty seat next to me, and of course they just drop to the floor.  I ordered Leap motion today and can report on that after I get some time with it.  This is the future.  I will be setting up a kitty to provide for upgraded headsets as they improve the resolution but am happy with it so far.

LouP

corbu1

  • RTMM Team Test Pilot
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,769
    • View Profile
Re: Virtual Reality headsets experiences?
« Reply #27 on: March 01, 2018, 05:56:43 PM »
Yes, there are still some mayor issues to solve and tesolutions of the headsets should be optimiesd. But it‘s already a gamechanger for me. The experience in VRvis so immersive, you feel sitting in the cockpit not on an office chair in front of a monitor. And finally you feel a realistic scale of the 3D world surrounding you. Especially flying through misty fjords is a beautiful experience. You really have to raise your head to see the mountaintops surrounding you.....
Regards from Munich, Germany



P3Dv4.2,FlyInsideP3d4,OpusFSI,REXSkyForce3D
i76700K 4Ghz;16GB RAM;Asus 2xGTX1080SLI;SSD:Evo850 256GB Win10Pro64;Evo850 512GB P3D;HDD:1TB;27" Monitor;HTC Vive HMD;HOTAS Warthog;X52;VBS ProAT Pedals;F1GTN750/650

MFC0001

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
    • View Profile
Re: Virtual Reality headsets experiences?
« Reply #28 on: March 08, 2018, 11:34:53 PM »
Well I took a chance and bought a Oculus and the feeing is just like being in the cockpit except I can't see an airport at 3 miles in severe clear conditions.  The presentation is great and the resolution is unacceptable .....for me...but maybe not for you. 

I am back to a 4K monitor with TrackIR. 

I might add that my Grandchildren don't even like playing their games in VR, they said it's too "fuzzy".  That about sums it up....you milage may vary.
Henry

LouP

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 68
    • View Profile
Re: Virtual Reality headsets experiences?
« Reply #29 on: March 09, 2018, 07:07:07 PM »
Henry,

Mine was absolutely horrible when I first tried it but there are several tweaks you can do to clear up the image.  If it didn't get better for me I would be doing the same as you.  The settings you want are not the same as they would be for a monitor.  First, turn the antialiasing all the way up, turn off HDR and FXXA.  Run supersampling at about 2 (play with this setting).  And if you haven't gotten it, at least take a look at and try out flyinside.  You will need to get used to the new interface with the sim but it is all worth it once you get it right.  Flyinside is like magic.  Where my frames would be in the twenties in tough places, flyinside bumps it up to the 90s where you need it for VR.

I'm watching out for the Vive Pro due out any time now and will be scooping that up as soon as it becomes available.  It is supposed to clear up the resolution issue with vr.  Then I just may take a virtual flight for a vacation to the Bahamas :-)

LouP

PS.  I'm loving this so much, I ran out and bought Leap Motion and throwing switches in the cockpit with my hands now.  Only issue is that I hit the throttle by mistake once in a while, but I'm still becoming acquainted with it.
« Last Edit: March 09, 2018, 07:10:37 PM by LouP »