Author Topic: Display problems with CIRP  (Read 2947 times)

updraft

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Display problems with CIRP
« on: April 18, 2017, 01:17:42 AM »
Hi All

Aftrer a pause in using CIRP sceneries I've tried to explore these great sceneries again.

Problem was: all sceneries show a number of rotating, black squares, in day time.
What causes this effect?

I am on FSX Gold and have the DX10 Scenery Fixer running.

Thanks for any help.

Ernst

jeff3163

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,081
  • Troubleshooting & Help
    • View Profile
Re: Display problems with CIRP
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2017, 01:42:00 AM »
Hi Ernst,
     It would be nice to know what was producing the black rotating squares.  Can you post a screenshot of them?  There is a problem with textures not loading.  Is it an effect, or an object?  It is in ALL sceneries of CIRP?  I haven't been to the ice fields for a while myself.  I should go, but no time right now.  It's bedtime on Monday night.  Post a pic please, and we'll wrap our heads around it.   ;)

Win10Pro64, P3Dv4.1.7.22841, AMD Ryzen7 1800X@4.0 GHz , 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX 1080 Ti, 1T/1T SSD's for Sims/OS, 3x42" Vizio Monitors, HTC Vive VR HMD, Saitek Yoke/Pedals/trim wheel, XBox360 Controller, G27 steering wheel w/shifter+pedals. :P

NeptuneP2V7

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 729
    • View Profile
Re: Display problems with CIRP
« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2017, 07:03:42 AM »
Hi with J. Parson DX10 Scenery Fixer .you need to tick a case for the Fix "light black square" .
Only in the version payware

Patrick

Doug

  • Misty Moorings Site Admin
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,025
    • View Profile
    • Return to Misty Moorings
Re: Display problems with CIRP
« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2017, 07:45:11 AM »
Snow effect?

updraft

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Display problems with CIRP
« Reply #4 on: April 20, 2017, 04:53:43 PM »
Thank you for all your reactions!

The attached screenshot shows McLeod Ice Station with its black squares.
They are rotating clock- and anti-clockwise.

I run DX scenery fixer 3.2 PW and have not found any ticket box for square shadows, but that might be the critical point.

Hope the screenshot will help to identify the cause.

Thanks and best regards

Ernst

jeff3163

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,081
  • Troubleshooting & Help
    • View Profile
Re: Display problems with CIRP
« Reply #5 on: April 20, 2017, 08:01:21 PM »
Is that smoke? (happy "4:20" day  ;) )  Maybe Patrick can help you find that tick box?   :-\
« Last Edit: April 20, 2017, 08:03:12 PM by jeff3163 »

Win10Pro64, P3Dv4.1.7.22841, AMD Ryzen7 1800X@4.0 GHz , 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX 1080 Ti, 1T/1T SSD's for Sims/OS, 3x42" Vizio Monitors, HTC Vive VR HMD, Saitek Yoke/Pedals/trim wheel, XBox360 Controller, G27 steering wheel w/shifter+pedals. :P

ualani

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,329
    • View Profile
Re: Display problems with CIRP
« Reply #6 on: April 20, 2017, 09:00:45 PM »
Make sure you convert effects using the DX10 Fixer's. It's in the options. Usually after adding effects a window will pop up when you run the fixer the next time warning of a change in the effects folder and it prompts you to convert them.

ualani

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,329
    • View Profile
Re: Display problems with CIRP
« Reply #7 on: April 21, 2017, 07:00:08 AM »
You might also try switching back to DX9 in the Fixer options to see if the problem goes away. If so, it has nothing to do with DX10 and may be a corrupt effect instead.

updraft

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Display problems with CIRP
« Reply #8 on: April 23, 2017, 05:03:56 AM »
Hi,

Meanwhile I've tried numerous DX10 fixer settings, effect conversions, shadow versions (FSX ground shadows is not enabled), etc., etc., without any effect to this problem.

I'll try other solution approaches and will report in case I find a remedy.

Thanks to you for your tips!

Best regards

Ernst

jeff3163

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,081
  • Troubleshooting & Help
    • View Profile
Re: Display problems with CIRP
« Reply #9 on: April 23, 2017, 09:21:10 AM »
Hi Ernst,
     I went out for a look this morning.  I believe you are seeing the smoke from these barrels.   ???  ;) 




     ... or more specifically, the smoke from a little, tiny log cabin (buildings.bgl/gen_cabin_log_1) inside the barrels and generators, etc. 
     Do you have the most up-to-date libraries installed? ???  Check for duplicates also. ???
« Last Edit: April 23, 2017, 10:40:50 AM by jeff3163 »

Win10Pro64, P3Dv4.1.7.22841, AMD Ryzen7 1800X@4.0 GHz , 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX 1080 Ti, 1T/1T SSD's for Sims/OS, 3x42" Vizio Monitors, HTC Vive VR HMD, Saitek Yoke/Pedals/trim wheel, XBox360 Controller, G27 steering wheel w/shifter+pedals. :P

Doug

  • Misty Moorings Site Admin
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,025
    • View Profile
    • Return to Misty Moorings
Re: Display problems with CIRP
« Reply #10 on: April 23, 2017, 10:07:17 AM »
I'm still thinking he has a smoke effect texture missing.

Doug

NeptuneP2V7

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 729
    • View Profile
Re: Display problems with CIRP
« Reply #11 on: April 23, 2017, 10:54:57 AM »
Hi, may be, he can try the scenery TEST .

to solve .

Patrick

jeff3163

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,081
  • Troubleshooting & Help
    • View Profile
Re: Display problems with CIRP
« Reply #12 on: April 23, 2017, 11:14:32 AM »
Well, we know what the problem is ... it's just a matter of getting that smoke to work again.  ;)

Win10Pro64, P3Dv4.1.7.22841, AMD Ryzen7 1800X@4.0 GHz , 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX 1080 Ti, 1T/1T SSD's for Sims/OS, 3x42" Vizio Monitors, HTC Vive VR HMD, Saitek Yoke/Pedals/trim wheel, XBox360 Controller, G27 steering wheel w/shifter+pedals. :P

ualani

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,329
    • View Profile
Re: Display problems with CIRP
« Reply #13 on: April 23, 2017, 08:30:48 PM »
Off the top of my head it looks like a corrupt effect file. When I get a chance I'll try to track down which effect is attached to the embedded little log cabin.

updraft

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Display problems with CIRP
« Reply #14 on: April 24, 2017, 01:24:32 AM »
Hi All

Thank you for your great support!

I'v tried the following w/o any effect to my CIRP problem:
-DX9
-rplaced all effects/effect textures from ALL the latest RTMM object libraries and RTMM added libraries such as EZ, RWY12 etc
-tried various changes to the DX10 fixer and ran the effects conversion untility

the enclosed screenshots show, that there are perfectly smoking barrels and that in the center of these rotating black sqares is no visible object, at least not in PF40 and PF43.

I am now off-line for the coming 2 days in "my" Swiss mountains  :)

Best regards and my thanks in advance for any help

Ernst