Author Topic: AMD vs Intel CPU's with FSX + P3D  (Read 2756 times)

Rangerick

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 96
    • View Profile
AMD vs Intel CPU's with FSX + P3D
« on: March 04, 2017, 08:58:33 AM »
I know it was just released on Thursday, but I was wondering if anyone has heard any information or has any opinions on how the new AMD RYZEN CPU's might perform with FSX/P3D. 

In anticipation of P3D v4; I was thinking of upgrading my PC with a new Intel CPU + NVIDIA GPU, but apparently the 'word' is that Intel will probably be drastically dropping their prices in response to AMD's "RYZEN".

 

jsapair

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,100
  • Don't follow me, I'm lost.
    • View Profile
Re: AMD vs Intel CPU's with FSX + P3D
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2017, 10:22:24 PM »
Don't know enough about the new AMD CPU to speak intelligently about it, but I know where my money would go...Intel, Nvidia, and don't look back. 

jsapair
Jsapair

jeff3163

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,005
  • Troubleshooting & Help
    • View Profile
Re: AMD vs Intel CPU's with FSX + P3D
« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2017, 11:44:15 PM »
     I am an AMD guy, and the new chip looks very impressive (I watched "Linus Tech Tips" about it)--> https://youtu.be/9wJQEHNYE7M
     I look forward to upgrading to the new AM4 and DDR4 system.  I can't tell you why I prefer AMD, but I am strongly biased.   ;D    I have had Nvidia in the past, but never Intel.   :o  It's just a decision I made a long time ago, and have stuck with it.

:P Win10Pro64, P3Dv4 ;) , AMD Ryzen7 1800X@4.0 GHz ;) , 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX 1080 Ti ;) , 1T/1T SSD's for Sims/OS, 3x42" Vizio Monitors, HTC Vive VR HMD, Saitek Yoke/Pedals/trim wheel, XBox360 Controller, G27 steering wheel w/shifter+pedals

jeff3163

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,005
  • Troubleshooting & Help
    • View Profile
Re: AMD vs Intel CPU's with FSX + P3D
« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2017, 08:18:15 PM »
 8)     My new AM4/DDR4 motherboard and Ryzen chip are on the way.   8)  I've begun to upgrade my 5 year old computer to modern specs with the new AMD AM4 Ryzen 1800X CPU and 32 Gigs of Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR4 RAM chips.  That means a new motherboard and a Corsair H100i liquid cooler.  I have the H80i cooler now, and it's good.  But I want more!!!  Mwah-ha-ha!!   ;D

     I plan to use my current Radeon R9 390X graphics card for now, but someday would like to swap it for two GTX 1080's, or whatever the next new card to come out is.   ;)

:P Win10Pro64, P3Dv4 ;) , AMD Ryzen7 1800X@4.0 GHz ;) , 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX 1080 Ti ;) , 1T/1T SSD's for Sims/OS, 3x42" Vizio Monitors, HTC Vive VR HMD, Saitek Yoke/Pedals/trim wheel, XBox360 Controller, G27 steering wheel w/shifter+pedals

jsapair

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,100
  • Don't follow me, I'm lost.
    • View Profile
Re: AMD vs Intel CPU's with FSX + P3D
« Reply #4 on: March 14, 2017, 11:27:48 PM »
Some folks swear by Chevy's and some swear by Fords. Whatever works for you is what works for you. As long as it works, it's all good.

jsapair
Jsapair

spud

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2,995
    • View Profile
Re: AMD vs Intel CPU's with FSX + P3D
« Reply #5 on: March 15, 2017, 12:45:37 PM »
Then there 'was',
Kaiser, Frazer, Plymouth, Packard, Oldsmobile, De Soto, Willys etc. etc.
Somebody must have thought they were worth buying.
 ::)
Later,

Spud

Penzoil3

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 322
    • View Profile
Re: AMD vs Intel CPU's with FSX + P3D
« Reply #6 on: March 15, 2017, 05:49:54 PM »
 8) Studebaker !

NeptuneP2V7

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 699
    • View Profile
Re: AMD vs Intel CPU's with FSX + P3D
« Reply #7 on: March 15, 2017, 06:21:13 PM »
8)     My new AM4/DDR4 motherboard and Ryzen chip are on the way.   8)  I've begun to upgrade my 5 year old computer to modern specs with the new AMD AM4 Ryzen 1800X CPU and 32 Gigs of Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR4 RAM chips.  That means a new motherboard and a Corsair H100i liquid cooler.  I have the H80i cooler now, and it's good.  But I want more!!!  Mwah-ha-ha!!   ;D

     I plan to use my current Radeon R9 390X graphics card for now, but someday would like to swap it for two GTX 1080's, or whatever the next new card to come out is.   ;)

As Jeff me too i always in AMD CPU  .

My spec actually  : Asus Crosshair V Formula Z, CPU AMD FX 9590 4.7/5ghz, ventirad NHD14  Noctua, Gygabite GTX980 G1 TI, ALIM ATX1200, 8giga MEM2400Mhz, 6 SSD 850 pro, + dd externe 2 tera,3 screen 24"...P3D, Antec NineHundred II .

i look to this AMD RYZEN

Patrick

jsapair

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,100
  • Don't follow me, I'm lost.
    • View Profile
Re: AMD vs Intel CPU's with FSX + P3D
« Reply #8 on: March 15, 2017, 08:42:53 PM »
I read somewhere, sometime back, that you would only notice the difference between the two CPU's if you were crunching numbers on an astro-phyicist's scale of things. Don't think that's a qualifier for most of us. Watch...some rocket scientist will jump in now.

Time to fire up the Edsel and take Madge out to dinner at the A&W root beer drive-in joint. Fifty-cent burger night.

jsapair
Jsapair

jeff3163

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,005
  • Troubleshooting & Help
    • View Profile
Re: AMD vs Intel CPU's with FSX + P3D
« Reply #9 on: March 15, 2017, 09:23:47 PM »
     For me, running the flight sims is the hardest thing for my computer to do.  No other program works harder to just get objects onto the screen in time, and maintain a smooth rate.  There are so many programs out there that are so visually pleasing, they make your eyes water.  They run smooth.  The flight sim looks like crap, and struggles to do that.  I'm hoping this new CPU will help.  (I bet that was MS's plan all along.)  Make a program that screams ... "UPGRADE YOUR PATHETIC COMPUTER".  It's been working.  My entire reason for having a top notch system is so my flight sim works better.  How many thousands of dollars have gone into that hole?  ... and here I go again ...   ;)

:P Win10Pro64, P3Dv4 ;) , AMD Ryzen7 1800X@4.0 GHz ;) , 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX 1080 Ti ;) , 1T/1T SSD's for Sims/OS, 3x42" Vizio Monitors, HTC Vive VR HMD, Saitek Yoke/Pedals/trim wheel, XBox360 Controller, G27 steering wheel w/shifter+pedals

spud

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2,995
    • View Profile
Re: AMD vs Intel CPU's with FSX + P3D
« Reply #10 on: March 16, 2017, 11:16:41 AM »
Let's face it FSX was released as an unfinished product as M$ killed the Aces group and never offered the complete product.  The majority of improvements to FSX was done entirely by third party development both Free and Payware.
I agree that it is one of the harshest pgms. on any computer I have every owned and there are many times I remember FS9 almost fondly.  What caps it off is that rarely is FSX considered in any reports or computer statistics.  It seems to be studiously avoided by reviewers.
 8)
Later,

Spud

jsapair

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,100
  • Don't follow me, I'm lost.
    • View Profile
Re: AMD vs Intel CPU's with FSX + P3D
« Reply #11 on: March 17, 2017, 12:06:19 AM »
I watch my G'kids play these X-box and Wll games, huge memory hogs, but on a platform that supports those operations. I seem to remember FSX being able to play on X-Box, or Play Station, what ever they call it now. Looking at these kids games I'm thinking, wow, if this thing could play my sim I'd be in heaven. But, then, how would you get all your addon scenery and all into it? You couldn't, unless you could load it onto a memory stick or some other media? Hell, I was lucky to graduate high school. Beyond my pay grade.

jsapair
Jsapair

Penzoil3

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 322
    • View Profile
Re: AMD vs Intel CPU's with FSX + P3D
« Reply #12 on: March 26, 2017, 06:22:44 PM »
 I have been upgrading my system since FSX came out. I have probably build 5 or 6 new faster, better computers in the chase to run FSX right.  Friends have benefited from the hand me downs.
 LOL
 Sue

jeff3163

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,005
  • Troubleshooting & Help
    • View Profile
Re: AMD vs Intel CPU's with FSX + P3D
« Reply #13 on: March 26, 2017, 07:38:13 PM »
I have been upgrading my system since FSX came out. I have probably build 5 or 6 new faster, better computers in the chase to run FSX right.  Friends have benefited from the hand me downs.
 LOL
 Sue

Ditto!   ;)  ... and we benefit by having very nice systems.  8)

:P Win10Pro64, P3Dv4 ;) , AMD Ryzen7 1800X@4.0 GHz ;) , 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX 1080 Ti ;) , 1T/1T SSD's for Sims/OS, 3x42" Vizio Monitors, HTC Vive VR HMD, Saitek Yoke/Pedals/trim wheel, XBox360 Controller, G27 steering wheel w/shifter+pedals

spud

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2,995
    • View Profile
Re: AMD vs Intel CPU's with FSX + P3D
« Reply #14 on: March 27, 2017, 04:03:27 PM »
I update when my system begins to whine "help me! help me! helpme!. ??? ;)
 8)
Later,

Spud