Author Topic: Missing Addon Aircraft  (Read 727 times)

Rangerick

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 99
    • View Profile
Missing Addon Aircraft
« on: December 17, 2016, 05:47:28 PM »
Finally got around to applying my P3D 3.4 update... and all my add-on aircraft are missing ?? 

Can't seem to find any answers out there.

Anyone run across this problem ?

Rick

jeff3163

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,071
  • Troubleshooting & Help
    • View Profile
Re: Missing Addon Aircraft
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2016, 07:58:43 PM »
Hi Rick,
     What is the location and the state of your simobjects folder?  Are you saying you had aircraft, then after the update you have no aircraft?  Did you do an update of the full package, or just the client module?  Need more info.

Win10Pro64, P3Dv4.1.7.22841, AMD Ryzen7 1800X@4.0 GHz , 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX 1080 Ti, 1T/1T SSD's for Sims/OS, 3x42" Vizio Monitors, HTC Vive VR HMD, Saitek Yoke/Pedals/trim wheel, XBox360 Controller, G27 steering wheel w/shifter+pedals. :P

Rangerick

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 99
    • View Profile
Re: Missing Addon Aircraft
« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2016, 08:22:54 PM »
Had all my 3rd party addon aircraft working fine in P3Dv3, including the beloved BeaverX
Sim Objects folder looks fine.

I updated successfully to P3D v3.49.184 using the 3 client modules, but none of my addon aircraft are showing up now, with a message "Failed to initialize, visualization only"

jeff3163

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,071
  • Troubleshooting & Help
    • View Profile
Re: Missing Addon Aircraft
« Reply #3 on: December 17, 2016, 09:20:04 PM »
Hello Rick,
     Open your Prepar3d.cfg file with notepad.  Go down to the section [USERINTERFACE] and edit the line "SITUATION=" to remove the text after the equal sign.  Save it.  Also make sure the line "SHOW_SCENARIO_WINDOW=1" has a "1" after it, so the pick scenario window comes up at boot time.

Win10Pro64, P3Dv4.1.7.22841, AMD Ryzen7 1800X@4.0 GHz , 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX 1080 Ti, 1T/1T SSD's for Sims/OS, 3x42" Vizio Monitors, HTC Vive VR HMD, Saitek Yoke/Pedals/trim wheel, XBox360 Controller, G27 steering wheel w/shifter+pedals. :P

Rangerick

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 99
    • View Profile
Re: Missing Addon Aircraft
« Reply #4 on: December 17, 2016, 09:47:20 PM »
No "SITUATION" line listed under [USERINTERFACE]

Rangerick

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 99
    • View Profile
Re: Missing Addon Aircraft
« Reply #5 on: December 17, 2016, 11:44:52 PM »
I think I figured this out....

My P3D v3.3 was installed in my D:\ drive.

When the P3D client did the upgrade, it apparently changed + updated the P3D file located in the C:\ drive and changed the path to open that file.  Since none of my addon aircraft were in that file, they weren't recognized.  Freakin' weird !!!

So, I moved my addon aircraft over to C:\Lockheed Martin\ P3D, then changed the sim objects .cfg file path and now it's working. 

Looks like I'll have to merge the rest of my D:\ P3D files with C:\P3D  (Orbx scenery etc.) and then delete the D:\P3D file.

Now I also understand why ORBX Direct was saying that none of my Orbx scenery was loaded.  That file was in D:\P3D, not in C:\P3D.

I think I'm going to have a look at X-Plane 11.  LOL

Penzoil3

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 356
    • View Profile
Re: Missing Addon Aircraft
« Reply #6 on: December 18, 2016, 05:05:24 AM »
 8)
 If you select a custom install, it will go where you tell it to. Most of us only update the client, the rest isn't really needed. This leaves everything nicely intact, and in place.
 Sue