Author Topic: Anchoring a boat in fsx  (Read 1438 times)

marc2140

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 135
    • View Profile
Anchoring a boat in fsx
« on: August 15, 2015, 11:16:06 AM »
Hi
Strange question maybe, but is there a way of mooring or anchoring a boat in fsx, to prevent it from drifting away with the current (i.e. at Xaviers Cabin, at the end of the fountain of Yute river run?).
Something comparable to a parking break with a plane.
Thinking about this, how does it work with floatplanes?
Thx for yr help.
Marcel
Marcel

Intel i7-4790k @ 4.8 GHz-MBO Asus MaxVii Hero-Corsair 780T-Corsair PSU 1000w-Corsair H100i GTX cooling-G Skill 16gb 2400/CL 10 (2x8gb)-Geforce GTX980 4gb ddr5-SSD 850 pro 512gb-2Tb HDD WD black 7200rpm-LG Blu Ray-Wifi pci-exp N900 (dual freq 2.4+5ghz)-Win7 Ult OS 64bit-FSX+Accelerator

Doug

  • Misty Moorings Site Admin
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,025
    • View Profile
    • Return to Misty Moorings
Re: Anchoring a boat in fsx
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2015, 11:20:59 AM »
I'm sure someone else will give you a better answer, but for me, I "Beach it"... Run it up on a nearby beach a little bit, like you would a canoe.

Doug

marc2140

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 135
    • View Profile
Re: Anchoring a boat in fsx
« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2015, 12:55:18 PM »
That's what I've done until now, but I thought with the nice mooring spots in the RTMM sceneries, I might have missed something...
Marcel
Marcel

Intel i7-4790k @ 4.8 GHz-MBO Asus MaxVii Hero-Corsair 780T-Corsair PSU 1000w-Corsair H100i GTX cooling-G Skill 16gb 2400/CL 10 (2x8gb)-Geforce GTX980 4gb ddr5-SSD 850 pro 512gb-2Tb HDD WD black 7200rpm-LG Blu Ray-Wifi pci-exp N900 (dual freq 2.4+5ghz)-Win7 Ult OS 64bit-FSX+Accelerator

ualani

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,329
    • View Profile
Re: Anchoring a boat in fsx
« Reply #3 on: August 15, 2015, 01:08:36 PM »
See what happens if you set your the wind speed to zero. Just a guess.

jeff3163

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,081
  • Troubleshooting & Help
    • View Profile
Re: Anchoring a boat in fsx
« Reply #4 on: August 15, 2015, 01:20:55 PM »
Hmm, I usually shut down the engine to stop completely.  When I taxi, and want to stop I set my mixture to lean, which reduces my rpm's enough to stop my forward motion.  Parking brakes don't really work on water.  There are boats that claim to "drop anchor", and I don't know exactly how they work.  But try to find that technology and apply it to your desired boat.   :-\

Win10Pro64, P3Dv4.1.7.22841, AMD Ryzen7 1800X@4.0 GHz , 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX 1080 Ti, 1T/1T SSD's for Sims/OS, 3x42" Vizio Monitors, HTC Vive VR HMD, Saitek Yoke/Pedals/trim wheel, XBox360 Controller, G27 steering wheel w/shifter+pedals. :P