Author Topic: Slight Problem At Skagway Docks  (Read 2112 times)

MackemSam

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 67
    • View Profile
Slight Problem At Skagway Docks
« on: July 26, 2015, 01:02:29 PM »
After "living" in a sterile Tongass Fjords X/Orbx SAK for a few months I installed RTMM Object Libraries Parts 1 and 2 and the RTMM AI Shipping v2.0 yesterday. Wow! What a difference! It's wonderful, thank you all so much. Of course I'm getting nothing done except for ship spotting.  ;)

And now, the slight problem...

Everything seemed to install as it should, but despite choosing option 1 during installation to turn off the cruise ship at Skagway it's still there, and so is the bulk carrier Banzai, docked it it! Do you think I could fix this by manually switching off the relevant BGL file? If so, could a kind soul let me know which BGL I need to check and how to turn it off, please?

Thanks in advance.
1200 feet, minimal visibility and absolutely lovin' it.


jeff3163

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,002
  • Troubleshooting & Help
    • View Profile
Re: Slight Problem At Skagway Docks
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2015, 01:53:48 PM »
Hi MackemSam,
     I just ran through the process myself, (in P3D) and I found that the file "PAGY_ObjectFlow_SAK.xml" had not been disabled as it should have.  Just put a ".off" after the .xml so it looks like this:

PAGY_ObjectFlow_SAK.xml.off

It should be in your ". . .\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v2\ORBX\FTX_NA\FTX_NA_SAK05_SCENERY\scenery\" directory.

The "Banzai" traffic file is called:

Traffic_SKAG.bgl

. . . and can be disabled with the same technique.  Place a ".off" to disable/turn off the Banzai ship.  It is in the ". . .\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v2\scenery\World\scenery" folder of your sim. 

I found that mine was also enabled, so both ships would have shown on my system also.   ;)

Edit:  When varifying my files, I discovered that I didn't have a file called "PAGY_ObjectFlow_SAK.xml" in my P3D Orbx SAK folder, only one called "PAGY_ObjectFlow.xml" with the same date.  If this situation applies to you also, then we may need to disable that file manually.   :o
« Last Edit: July 26, 2015, 02:12:20 PM by jeff3163 »

:P Win10Pro64, P3Dv4 ;) , AMD Ryzen7 1800X@4.0 GHz ;) , 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX 1080 Ti ;) , 1T/1T SSD's for Sims/OS, 3x42" Vizio Monitors, HTC Vive VR HMD, Saitek Yoke/Pedals/trim wheel, XBox360 Controller, G27 steering wheel w/shifter+pedals

MackemSam

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 67
    • View Profile
Re: Slight Problem At Skagway Docks
« Reply #2 on: July 26, 2015, 02:18:48 PM »
Hi Jeff,

It's fixed!  :D

Thanks for your advice, it is very much appreciated. I'm still relatively new to this flightsim lark (hence why I'm still on FSX, I guess)  and as I'm learning, it's not too difficult (occasionally! ;) ) to tinker with FSX...once you know where to look, and just which bit to tinker with; I'd never have found those particular files on my own in a month of Sundays. The Banzai now has her dock entirely to herself, presumably the cruise ship passengers have made other arrangements.

Co-incidentally, the contents of my scenery\World\scenery folder was a bit of a revelation, and may just help solve an unrelated problem I've been having, so thanks again...you might just have fixed a problem you didn't know I had!

Edit: Have read your edit and checked my files. My file is PAGY_Objectflow.xml also, and that's the one I turned off, which fixed the problem so all is good.

Kind Regards,
Sam
« Last Edit: July 26, 2015, 03:02:49 PM by MackemSam »
1200 feet, minimal visibility and absolutely lovin' it.


marc2140

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 135
    • View Profile
Re: Slight Problem At Skagway Docks
« Reply #3 on: August 07, 2015, 12:20:09 PM »
I have similar problems at Skagway.
I saw the cruise ship before I installed the RTMM AI shipping project V2.
I made it disappear to see the Banzai, but whatever I tried, no Banzai visible.
I reinstalled to make the cruise ship reappear, but nothing happened.
I uninstalled the AI shipping project, but still no cruise ship visible.
I'm getting a bit scared as I also see now that at the marina all sailing yachts are "drowned" and every where in the harbour, cars, trucks, pallets and containers are hanging in the air.
Any ideas what to do?
Regards
Marcel
Marcel

Intel i7-4790k @ 4.8 GHz-MBO Asus MaxVii Hero-Corsair 780T-Corsair PSU 1000w-Corsair H100i GTX cooling-G Skill 16gb 2400/CL 10 (2x8gb)-Geforce GTX980 4gb ddr5-SSD 850 pro 512gb-2Tb HDD WD black 7200rpm-LG Blu Ray-Wifi pci-exp N900 (dual freq 2.4+5ghz)-Win7 Ult OS 64bit-FSX+Accelerator

marc2140

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 135
    • View Profile
Re: Slight Problem At Skagway Docks
« Reply #4 on: August 16, 2015, 06:37:54 PM »
Just to say that my problem was solved when I followed the advice I got in the topic "no water at start of Dean river run".
Thanks to the RTMM team.
Marcel
Marcel

Intel i7-4790k @ 4.8 GHz-MBO Asus MaxVii Hero-Corsair 780T-Corsair PSU 1000w-Corsair H100i GTX cooling-G Skill 16gb 2400/CL 10 (2x8gb)-Geforce GTX980 4gb ddr5-SSD 850 pro 512gb-2Tb HDD WD black 7200rpm-LG Blu Ray-Wifi pci-exp N900 (dual freq 2.4+5ghz)-Win7 Ult OS 64bit-FSX+Accelerator

jeff3163

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,002
  • Troubleshooting & Help
    • View Profile
Re: Slight Problem At Skagway Docks
« Reply #5 on: August 16, 2015, 07:02:43 PM »
Quote
Just to say that my problem was solved when I followed the advice I got in the topic "no water at start of Dean river run".
Thanks to the RTMM team.
Marcel

For anyone else scratching their heads at not following this conversation closely enough.

     The advice Spud gave to Marcel was . . . set Mesh Resolution at 5m.  ;)

     Now I feel better, having looked up the thread mentioned . . .
(http://forum.mistymoorings.com/index.php?topic=2711.msg22441#msg22441)
 . . . and gleaning the solution from the somewhat cryptic text. 
     By posting my findings, I could save someone else from follicle loss.  (or worse!)

     Have a good day!   :)
« Last Edit: August 16, 2015, 08:05:47 PM by jeff3163 »

:P Win10Pro64, P3Dv4 ;) , AMD Ryzen7 1800X@4.0 GHz ;) , 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX 1080 Ti ;) , 1T/1T SSD's for Sims/OS, 3x42" Vizio Monitors, HTC Vive VR HMD, Saitek Yoke/Pedals/trim wheel, XBox360 Controller, G27 steering wheel w/shifter+pedals

stiletto2

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,453
    • View Profile
Re: Slight Problem At Skagway Docks
« Reply #6 on: August 16, 2015, 07:55:58 PM »
Doug,

Jeff's note on how to fix the problem needs to be captured and put it with the AI Shipping Library download entry as an important readme.  I have compared SAK v4 on my old system and new and clearly, ORBX renamed the file (probably for consistency across their product line) via an object library update so all future users will need to manually do what Jeff outlined in his post.  Need something like a "readme 2nd.txt" files added to the RTMM AI Shipping Project V2.0.zip file that says:

The file "PAGY_ObjectFlow_SAK.xml" is no longer disabled properly since ORBX changed the name from PAGY_ObjectFlow_SAK.xml to PAGY_ObjectFlow.xml.  So if a user Enters "1" during the RTMM AI Shipping Package installation to automatically turn off the ORBX Object Flow .xml file so the animated Banzai container ship can be seen instead of the static cruise ship, then, once the installer is finished,  the user needs to go to the ". . .FSX or P3D\FTX_NA\FTX_NA_SAK05_SCENERY\scenery\" directory   and manually put an ".off" after the .xml so it looks like this:

"PAGY_ObjectFlow.xml.off"

Just for reference the "Banzai" traffic file is called:

Traffic_SKAG.bgl

. . . and can be disabled with the same technique if the user wishes to manually re-enable the static cruise ship by removing the ".off" from the "PAGY_ObjectFlow.xml.off" file.

Rod


Doug

  • Misty Moorings Site Admin
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2,912
    • View Profile
    • Return to Misty Moorings
Re: Slight Problem At Skagway Docks
« Reply #7 on: August 16, 2015, 10:07:06 PM »
Is there something we should do dif with shipping programfor P3D, Rod?

stiletto2

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,453
    • View Profile
Re: Slight Problem At Skagway Docks
« Reply #8 on: August 17, 2015, 07:34:01 AM »
Hi Doug,

This problem would apply to P3D or FSX.   

Rod

Doug

  • Misty Moorings Site Admin
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2,912
    • View Profile
    • Return to Misty Moorings
Re: Slight Problem At Skagway Docks
« Reply #9 on: August 17, 2015, 07:35:04 AM »
Should it be added to the original readme?  Or should we change the program somehow?

D
« Last Edit: August 17, 2015, 08:03:46 AM by Doug »

stiletto2

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,453
    • View Profile
Re: Slight Problem At Skagway Docks
« Reply #10 on: August 17, 2015, 08:31:25 AM »
Will contact you via email.

Rod

Doug

  • Misty Moorings Site Admin
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2,912
    • View Profile
    • Return to Misty Moorings
Re: Slight Problem At Skagway Docks
« Reply #11 on: August 17, 2015, 08:32:29 AM »
Roger...over and out.