Author Topic: Newbie Trying to Install Scenery  (Read 19274 times)

bushman

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Newbie Trying to Install Scenery
« on: December 20, 2012, 06:46:59 PM »
Hi

After reading PC Pilot last month downloaded Carendo Skywagon, bought Orbx scenery, installed today.
Tried to install Misty's, just can't get there I've read and reread the instructions.  When I go to "Add "scenery" and find my way to Add On folder, click OK and nothing happens.  The curser is a box marked "Library" like it is waiting for me to type something in.  What am I doing wrong?

Orbx scenery is great, but need someplace to go.

Thanks for answering "dumb" question.

jeff3163

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,079
  • Troubleshooting & Help
    • View Profile
Re: Newbie Trying to Install Scenery
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2012, 08:10:17 PM »
Hi Bushman, Welcome to Misty Moorings. 

I assume you are in the FSX scenery library, trying to install a folder?  When you choose the folder containing the scenery you want to install and click on "OK", it will open up to show you the "scenery" sub-folder.  That is when you should right or left click anywhere in the box that the "scenery" folder is displayed in.  Then you will return to the scenery library list, with your new addition at the top of the list.  (I am also assuming you have Win7.)   ;)

ps-We always advise people to spend some time here on the forums.  It will tell you everything you need to know.
« Last Edit: December 20, 2012, 08:24:54 PM by jeff3163 »

Win10Pro64, P3Dv4.1.7.22841, AMD Ryzen7 1800X@4.0 GHz , 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX 1080 Ti, 1T/1T SSD's for Sims/OS, 3x42" Vizio Monitors, HTC Vive VR HMD, Saitek Yoke/Pedals/trim wheel, XBox360 Controller, G27 steering wheel w/shifter+pedals. :P

Bradallen43

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,595
    • View Profile
Re: Newbie Trying to Install Scenery
« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2012, 09:51:34 PM »
And there are no "Dumb" questions in here. We're happy to assist.

Welcome to RTMM!!

Brad

Dieter

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 691
    • View Profile
Re: Newbie Trying to Install Scenery
« Reply #3 on: December 21, 2012, 04:56:05 AM »
Sometimes it's the easiest way to see this procedure in a short video:

http://iblueyonder.com/video-tutorial-adding-scenery-to-fsx-in-windows-7/

Dieter

spud

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,029
    • View Profile
Re: Newbie Trying to Install Scenery
« Reply #4 on: December 21, 2012, 11:14:34 AM »
The video Dieter linked to MUST be made a sticky for new users to adding scenery.  It is quick, concise, and sensible.  Text explanations can lead to misunderstanding but if you can't follow the video then you have no business getting out of bed in the morning!  ;D
 8)
Later,

Spud

corbu1

  • RTMM Team Test Pilot
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,654
    • View Profile
Re: Newbie Trying to Install Scenery
« Reply #5 on: December 21, 2012, 11:51:30 AM »
Yes, it`s a great video!!!
Regards from Munich, Germany



P3Dv4.1,FlyInsideP3d4,OpusFSI,REX4
i76700K 4Ghz;16GB RAM;Asus 2xGTX1080 SLI;SSD:Evo850 256GB Win10Pro64;Evo850 512GB P3D;HDD:1TB;27" Monitor;HTC Vive HMD;HOTAS Warthog;X52;VBS ProAT Pedals;iGMapHD;F1GTN750/650

Bradallen43

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,595
    • View Profile
Re: Newbie Trying to Install Scenery
« Reply #6 on: December 21, 2012, 01:12:22 PM »
It should be a "Sticky" now!

bushman

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Newbie Trying to Install Scenery
« Reply #7 on: December 21, 2012, 05:39:46 PM »
Thanks Dieter, the short video did the trick.  Clicking in the body of the open window was the piece I was  missing.  Works perfect.  Just made my first landing at Misty's.

Bushman

Bradallen43

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1,595
    • View Profile
Re: Newbie Trying to Install Scenery
« Reply #8 on: December 21, 2012, 06:25:04 PM »
Excellent! And now you have some exploring to do! Remember that we recommend not trying to get all the stuff installed all at once. Take your time and visit one place new. You've got "Misty's Place" all set up now so use that as a home base and install another new scenery. Then go out and discover that new place and return to Misty's Place. Lather, rinse, repeat! :-)

I recommend getting our AI floatplane traffic files and AI Shipping packages installed. Then get into whatever scenery you like. Have fun and always feel free to ask for any help in our forums if you need it.

Brad
« Last Edit: December 21, 2012, 06:28:14 PM by Bradallen43 »

Dragnhorn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 742
  • "Ahhhhh..the smell of black powder in the morning"
    • View Profile
Re: Newbie Trying to Install Scenery
« Reply #9 on: December 22, 2012, 12:26:35 AM »
Welcome Bushman.  I see you have gotten off to a good start here at RTMM.   I'll assume you already have the required scenery libraries installed as well.

For a great and short first flight from Misty's try Aiken's Creek.  One of the first and still my favorite to fly into for a little fishing.  That last sharp turn to port and landing gets me every time.    :o
Rob Abernathy
aka Dragnhorn

PC specs: 
Intel Quad Core i7 4790k Devil's Canyon (Haswell), 4.0 GHZ, /Gigabyte 87 UD4H 32 GB mother board, 16 GB DDR3 1866MHZ, Nvidia GTX 760 2 GB x 2 SLI, 2 TB 7200RPM HDD, Cpu Liquid Cooling Unit LVL 4, 750W Thermaltake, Windows 7 64 bit

Doug

  • Misty Moorings Site Admin
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,019
    • View Profile
    • Return to Misty Moorings
Re: Newbie Trying to Install Scenery
« Reply #10 on: February 14, 2013, 12:23:34 PM »
Hi I added the video at the FAQ page under "SCENERY - ADDING" ("S"). 

Doug

jeff3163

  • Misty Moorings Team
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,079
  • Troubleshooting & Help
    • View Profile
Re: Newbie Trying to Install Scenery
« Reply #11 on: March 19, 2013, 07:17:15 AM »
我很喜欢你们的网站,谢谢

or

Quote
I really like your site, thank you

Thank you very much.  We kinda like it too.  Welcome to Misty Moorings.  ;)
« Last Edit: March 22, 2013, 01:27:24 AM by jeff3163 »

Win10Pro64, P3Dv4.1.7.22841, AMD Ryzen7 1800X@4.0 GHz , 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX 1080 Ti, 1T/1T SSD's for Sims/OS, 3x42" Vizio Monitors, HTC Vive VR HMD, Saitek Yoke/Pedals/trim wheel, XBox360 Controller, G27 steering wheel w/shifter+pedals. :P

Jim Moeller

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
Re: Newbie Trying to Install Scenery
« Reply #12 on: April 27, 2013, 07:51:12 AM »
Ok, here's where I'll stick my question.  I went to install the scenery, and click on the folder, click ok, and it opens up and I get scenery and textures folder.  I then click on the scenery folder, and then ok, and there's no files in it, but...when I cancel out and get back to the main 'Add Scenery' window, then it churns away and the 'configuration bar' like it's adding scenery to the library comes up.  So...even though there were no files added while I was checking the 'scenery' folders, it does add the scenery just the same?  In looking over the listings of scenery, none of the ones I attempted to add are in the list, and there's no Misty Moorings listed either.  Usually, I've seen a '.bgl' file or something in the scenery folder, but not with any of the ones for here. 

This is with FSX and Windows 7

Doug

  • Misty Moorings Site Admin
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3,019
    • View Profile
    • Return to Misty Moorings
Re: Newbie Trying to Install Scenery
« Reply #13 on: April 27, 2013, 08:07:59 AM »
Hi Jim

Is this happening when you are trying to add a scenery location to the scenery library? If so, look up this thread, go to the FAQ under "S" and you will see a vid and explanation there. Windows has a bug we've all encountered. If this is the problem, then this will fix it. If it is not the problem, the repost with more details and we will be right here to help you.

D

Jim Moeller

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
Re: Newbie Trying to Install Scenery
« Reply #14 on: April 27, 2013, 09:47:57 AM »
Ok, checked out the video, and did as suggested....that seemed to get it.  They're listed in the libraries now.  Thanks for the help.  ;D

Geez, you guys are fast!  Some boards I go to, I'll ask a question and it'll take 1-2 weeks to get an answer...if at all!  ::)